We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay - great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Short stay - great value”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here on a weekday night and booked a double room which was very nice and clean. It was also right next to the reception and usually I would request a move due to the noise but as it was a weekday night for just one night I thought to risk it, but it was actually very quiet and no noise what so ever from reception so well done there.
The room was spacious, modern and fantastically clean. If I had to grumble it would be that the towels were tiny and I had to use both for dry myself after a shower but that really is the only thing I could moan about, the rooms were of a very good standard indeed.
Included in the price was breakfast which was a selection of continental plus Baked Beans, packet eggs and sausages. The continental selection was lovely with croissants, pastries with jams and yoghurts. It was very nice and well worth the price.
The ovly issue I can possibly have with this hotel is the location is over 6 miles from the Town Centre and not easy to drive to at all.
I go to Colchester annually and used to use a different hotel but after this I will def rebook here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Tripadvisor. Your positive comments are really appreciated.

I’m glad the room you where allocated was quite and as you expect. We really do want our guests stay to be relaxed and comfortable. One of our other top priorities is cleanliness of the hotel and again I’m really happy to hear you found this to be the case.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and am looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    220
    92
    43
    18
See reviews for
138
157
28
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clacton on sea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here the one night during tests over two days at the local hospital and will have to invent an excuse to stay here again. A very friendly welcome, even though we were early, and a smart clean room thanks to Regina. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff and they are very helpful. The housekeeping manager, Sue, gave us more milk and checked that there was nothing else we required such as toothpaste and brush etc . The little things that are easy to forget.
Breakfast was plentiful and there was a lot to choose from. Fresh rolls, bread, fruit, cereals sausages, scrambled eggs, beans, muffins and various spreads were all on offer.
Overall we found the place to be comfortable, friendly and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Sue and Regina. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Colchester a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good sized room, excellently equipped and maintained. Good breakfast, friendly, helpful staff. Free wi-fi in the Great Room appreciated. Minor quibbles: seems to be designed for commercial travellers and the like. There are no drawers, although there is plenty of room for them, so one has to live out of a suitcase. No bacon at breakfast. Ethernet wi-fi connection in the room is ridiculously expensive. If the hotel has broadand for the w-fi wired provision costs nothing once the wires have been built in, so the connection should be free (I didn't use it for this reason). Overall, though, I would recommend the hotel as good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petroshagios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

It is warmly received when guests recognise our staff as helpful. We have only recently implemented our free WI-FI in our great room as we had a high level of guest’s comments requesting it.

The hotel is a newly designed Holiday Inn Express and within this new design it is brand standard to not include any drawers/storage.

We do appreciate your feedback good and bad as we do listen to our guest's feedback here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,


Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel about a dozen times in the last year - mainly on business, and think it's a cracking little place. I'ave always received a warm welcome, great room and excellent service. OK, it may not be in the most glamourous location in the world (but there are some lovely places nearby), but it's convenient and lot better than higher priced rivals in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear ianbp,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us. We really do appreciate your positive comments.

The staff do pride themselves on making guests feel welcome and comfortable when they come to stay with us and your note proves they are doing a great job. I will be showing staff this comment.

We look forward to welcoming you a dozen times more over the coming year.

Yours sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Should have written this review along time ago - An excellent Hotel staffed by warm and friendly people - excellent facilities - you won't find a better Hotel anywhere. Big Thank you to Hayley Heather & Agne ..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear DaveD

Thank you so much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We strive really hard to create a welcoming atmosphere for our guests and your review confirms to us we are doing a great job at this.

I will be rewarding Hayley and Agne (not sure who Heather is as we don’t have a Heather here) for their exceptional customer service this month, so thank you for that.

We really do appreciate your positive feedback. We look forwarding to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 13/10/12, excellent from check-in to check-out!! the staff were more than helpful with all dealings.The bedroom was bright and very clean and all requirementswere in place.The large shower was great. The next morning the breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of everything on offer. A wonderful stay for a modest price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kram4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time our of your busy schedule to rate us. We aim to create 'create great hotels guests love' and your review really says we are doing just that.

We hope that next time your are visiting the area we can welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here on a business trip and really enjoyed it. The hotel has probably been newly refurbished as the interior design looked quite new and stylish. Rooms are spacious with nice lighting (those are advantages of a chain hotel - bigger rooms) and a perfectly clean bathroom.

There is free wifi in the lounge area.

The breakfast was filling and rich, although we missed a little bit cold cuts.

All in all pleasant and we recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyKa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
4.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Address: Birchwood Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Colchester has 101 air-conditioned bedrooms all with wireless internet access, invigorating power shower and tea & coffee making facilities. Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast sets you up for a day exploring Colchester sights. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents’ family room. This newly opened Colchester hotel is located just off A12 north off the Colchester Town Centre, with excellent links to Ipswich and Chelmsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colchester Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing