We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic overnighter” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic overnighter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in mid-April. I grew up in the village next to it, Langham (though the address is Dedham, its a short drive to the middle of Dedham, say 5mins and not right in the middle of anywhere except the petrol station area) and we found it servicable. Expecting about the level of a regular travelodge-type place, we found the room to be of reasonable size (tight fit if a friend pops in and you want to move around though), pleasant enough staff and everywhere generally clean.

If you're a fan of baths, there aren't any through entire hotel unfortunately. There is of course a shower inside the washroom/toilet room, quite acceptably designed and looks good though the pitiful airflow meant it took forever to clear out the steamy mirror after a longer shower, same for any smells you might produce and we ended up opening the room door and the washroom door (next to each other) and hoping the cooler air in the corridor/window (we were at one end of the corridor) would help.

Don't expect much from the included breakfast - Sat. morning was about the blandest breakfast I've ever had, edible but just no reason to want to eat it other than I needed some energy!
On our stay (weekend after Easter), they had no orange juice in the hotel on the Saturday morning and what remained in the machine (still working and looking full of something, not labelled but I thought it might be a different juice) and came out was more like washwater with a faint hint that orange might once have been near it. So I complained, and they went to look - no more orange juice refill. No attempts to fix it either, or label it/take it out of service; but by Sunday morning, much busier, they had got some in. The food was almost as bland though, I avoided most of it. Regular continental/English breakfast choices, on the light side of variety but it was enough.

The windows open, just; not far enough to let a lot of air in or hands out (for security/safety I guess).

Room Tip: The main (A12) dual carriageway road is right next to it (far side of the petrol station), but not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgBreezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    216
    90
    43
    18
See reviews for
135
153
27
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed here for a one night after attending a conference in Colchester. The hotel is lovely; modern, clean and the staff are friendly. Check in and out was quick and easy. The hotel's crowning feature was it's spacious rooms. Having experienced chain hotels in other cities, I wasn't expecting much, but the room size was great. This, coupled with the price of only £40 for a Friday night, equated to great value for money overall. The only disappointment was the how remote/isolated the hotel was from...well...anything! The only feasible travel access to the hotel is via car - with no notable public transport servicing the vicinity, nor a particularly safe walking route into town (the hotel is situated just off the A12 dual-carriageway, with cars travelling 50-60mph). Would definitely recommend to anyone that does have a car though (or is willing to pay the £12-14 cab fare into colchester!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashraf I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed here with family recently. A nice modern Holiday Inn Express. Reception on check in and check out was easy and simple. Holiday Inn Express is going for the Premier Inn/Travelodge kind of market and they pull it off really well and probably better.

The room was excellent, clean and spacious. The shower was simple to operate and big enough for about 6 people! If you are travelling with others you may think the glass in the door is a little too revealing but it isn't really, you can't see much clearly through it and it's nice to get some light in.

We did use the sofa bed and according to the person using it, it wasn't particularly comfortable and they could feel the springs...but I had a lovely nights sleep haha.

Continental breakfast a nice start to the day in a roomy breakfast and bar area.

I'd stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

A bit remote but made up by the comforatable rooms and friendly staff. We arrived late so didnt eat until breakfast but this was to a good standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drummondstornoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed over on business. Location is remote which means that you either need to bring your own food in, or eat from the hotel menu which as with all HIExp's is poor quality and over priced.

Rooms and hotel decor are excellent and finished to a very high standard.

Was dissappointed to see that WiFi costs, unlike most HIExp's where it is free in the bar and lobby area.

Staff we polite and efficent.

Decent value for money but location is the major set back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boughton Monchelsea
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have stayed 3 nights midweek over the past 2 weeks.
It is a very modern clean hotel. The TV is large flatscreen with choice of movies.
The big reason I stayed was because they offer breakfast at 0630.
The wi-fi is not free and costs £7.99 per nght.
Please note this hotel is not owned by Holiday Inn but operated on its behalf by another company.
The lighting is modern and energy saving and there is none of the "tired look" that many Holiday Inns have.

The first time I stayed there was a very strong smell in the car park from tanker operations at the sewage pumping station in the car park.
I work in the industry but I would expect this may have put off some residents
The smell did not appear to permeate the hotel.
I found my room clean but there were no coffee cups provided. Luckliy I met a hotel worker in the corridor who could rectify it.

The second time I stayed I noticed long hairs on the bathroom floor. I asked at reception that they could rectify this whilst I was out that evening and they did.
At breakfast the last morning of my stay there was no coffee in the machine.
The previous morning had no orange juice in the machine.

Overall I would have rated them higher had they not had these minor problems.

Room Tip: I would prefer rooms nearer 140 with an even number!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear BigHoward,

Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for being a frequent guest at our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service from our staff which fell below your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Colchester 14th 15th April, and we found it clean, comfortable, with very polite and attentive staff, breakfast was a very chaotic affair, but when we eventually got some it was quite nice, i will definatly be staying again, excellent value for money

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pipm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
4.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Address: Birchwood Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Colchester has 101 air-conditioned bedrooms all with wireless internet access, invigorating power shower and tea & coffee making facilities. Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast sets you up for a day exploring Colchester sights. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents’ family room. This newly opened Colchester hotel is located just off A12 north off the Colchester Town Centre, with excellent links to Ipswich and Chelmsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colchester Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing