We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveler rating
210
277
119
54
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
277
119
54
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petrol station beans budget hotel free breakfast sat nav sofa bed hi express dual carriageway service station yogurt road noise including breakfast stayed here for one night good size large shower would stay again visiting colchester
Filter
Updating list...
654 - 659 of 681 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I came here to visit some people in Colchester. Unfortunately, it is actually quite far outside Colchester on the A12. I didn't have a car, so I ended up with two rather expensive taxi rides! This hotel is best for people driving on the A12 who need a comfortable place to spend the night during their journey. If you have no car, then forget it! Even with a car, it is difficult to find. There is no signage to point the way. It is located behind the Shell Station on the eastern side of the A12 (and you are travelling away from Colchester, you need to turn left at Langham village and then find a way to cross over the A12). There is apparently a sporadic bus service nearby somewhere, but I couldn't find it. Apparently, there is some nice countryside nearby, if you want a nice country walk. There is also a farm shop within walking distance of the hotel.

The saving grace is the room itself. The hotel is newly opened, so the rooms are much higher quality than your average HI Express. The rooms are modern, clean, and surprisingly roomy. The bed was really nice! The air circulation was also very nice. The bathroom has a shower big enough for two. Unfortunately, internet is not free (£15 for 24 hours) and the mobile phone (cell phone) signal was extremely poor. If you want to use your mobile phone, then you need to stand outside in the parking lot. I found that the best reception occurred if you walked right up to the Shell Station. Service was extremely friendly and helpful, and the price was low. Breakfast was free but mediocre (scrambled eggs tasted a bit like sawdust!). Overall, I would praise the hotel for its comfort and friendliness, but I would warn about the location and lack of free internet and mobile phone signal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding the Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your recent experience during your recent stay.

I would Like to take this time to express my excitement in saying our phone signal issue will be fixed next week, we suffered from low levels of 2G signal due to the building structure and can only apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

I shall also look into re-pricing our internet connection due to your comments as they are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure we provide a Great Hotel Guests Love.

Thank you again for your review.

Regards

Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The hotel has only recently opened and as you would expect is modern and well appointed. We paid £46 a night for a double room with free complimentary buffet breakfast which we considered was excellent value. The breakfast was adequate and comprised a mixture of hot and a limited number of cold items. There were bar meals available but these were limited. We found the staff helpful and friendly. The hotel is a short distance from the A12 and although we had a room at the front there was little noise. The situation is ideal for access to Colchester but only by car as you can pull directly onto the dual carriageway from the hotel. The route in could prove difficult to follow but is ok if you consider this prior to your journey as we did. .
Having previously stayed at the Holiday Inn at Eight Ashes we must say this one doesn't offer such a comprehensive menu and may be considered a little clinical but there was a sizeable price gap. Overall we enjoyed our short stay and basically you pay your money and take your choice.

Room Tip: Cannot comment, ours was at the front and we had no issues. Possibly it may be noisier in summer if you had the windows open.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cazzy093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you so much for providing Holiday Inn Express Colchester with your feedback.

We appreciate all of the feedback our guests provide us with and are pleased that most elements of your stay were positive. All the staff at the hotel truly believe in a great hotel that guests love.

You are correct in thinking our brand sister hotel does offer a fuller menu, this is to comply with brand standard within IHG for each individual hotel, we hope that the offer we supply is still adequate and we do change this every 3 months for variety for our customers.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We look forward to accommodating your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

we were visiting my parents in colchester and needed somewhere to stay but this hotel should not be able to say its in colchester as its a good 7 miles outside. it's like ryan air flying to an airport which is actually a long way from the advertized destination. Also, i know its a budget hotel but i've stayed in holiday inns before and the bed was very small for a double room, so we both had a pretty crap nights sleep. only 1 towel in bathroom and and soap dispenser for shower is not in shower, making the showering process quite complicated. or maybe they'd forgot to put shampoo etc in the room. whatever the case, we were not impressed

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank davidrusselllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you for your comment on trip advisor regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.
Firstly I apologise our hotel wasn’t where you assume we were situated or if you were miss informed.

The beds we have in the hotel are all standard doubles and sorry this wasn’t to your comfort, we always have another set of towels on the shelves next to the bathroom and if these were missing a member of our team would have been happy to supply more, if informed.

I am baffled to the soap dispenser unit, in each of our bathroom they consist of two, one near the sink and another in the shower, our team have looked in all the rooms as we thought this could have been missed prior to opening the hotel but still we can’t seem to find it.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the candid feedback we received and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards

Ashley Walker

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Brand new hotel on the outskirts of Colchester. Well appointed rooms, gorgeous shower room. We managed to get a deal so only paid £58 for the room with breakfast. I'm not sure the full price of £134 would have represented good value. The breakfast was basic but adequate and for a hotel obviously set up for business travellers, the wifi service was slow, expensive and so unreliable we asked for a refund.

However-what did make it a really good stay was the staff. Everyone was helpful, friendly, efficient and couldn't do enough for us. They were a fabulous example of what hotel staff should be like

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandpLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

Apologies about the slow connection to the internet, we have had the engineer out due to your comments and I am pleased to say this has been resolved.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Colchester a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,

Ashley Walker

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Seemed to be brand new hotel . Arrived with my wife and daughter at 7pm to be told that our room still was not ready....they were preparing it and we were asked to wait. Staff friendly.
I asked about restaurant, and staff at reception told me that there were only 2 staff on duty and the menu was restricted and we would have to wait a considerable time. They suggested local public house , that we went to.
As I said virtually new hotel and room was excellent.
Breakfast same as all other HI Expresses and ok but hotel seemed quiet so buffet not being filled with new fresh food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thank you for your recent correspondence on trip advisor regarding the Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

You are correct in thinking were a new hotel as we only just opened up on the 28th September 2011.

I apologise for the slow turnaround of breakfast buffet, we aim to give great service and product whether quiet or fully booked, we constantly strive to deliver consistency within our brand and your comments shall be passed onto our restaurant team.

It’s extremely pleasing that the staff were friendly and knowledgeable about our local area with recommendations for restaurants in-town.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews