We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Essex
Tiptree Jam Museum & Tea Room
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely scones and jam

Had a lovely visit to the small museum and really lovely still warm fruit scones and jam. Extensive... read more

Reviewed January 4, 2020
Irene C
,
Manchester, UK
via mobile
Nice to finally get here

Very good value tea room with superb food - loved the cream tea and the ham sandwich in granary... read more

Reviewed December 16, 2019
ade s
,
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Read all 718 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Essex
from $20.18
More Info
from $16.83
More Info
from $20.98
More Info
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
304
245
83
47
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
304
245
83
47
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones cream tea afternoon tea preserves quiche lovely lunch gift shop lovely shop jacket potato lovely tea well stocked shop crisps cake strawberries lovely food lovely place to visit my mum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 718 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2020

We had a family outing to Wilkin & Sons Jam factory at Tiptree, Essex, which is famous for its flavorful jams for export. We enjoyed fresh warm scones and clotted cream with the preserves at the Tea Room. We looked through the little Museum at the factory which gave a history of the family, farm and factory. I had visited it before and was disappointed that they didn't have all the old-fashioned implements that they had had in the previous exhibition although I still learned more things about the Wilkin family and factory.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank eliza272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

Had a lovely visit to the small museum and really lovely still warm fruit scones and jam. Extensive selection of produce and gifts in the shop.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2019

Very good value tea room with superb food - loved the cream tea and the ham sandwich in granary bread. Good service too. Thanks!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank ade s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2019 via mobile

Met up with brother in law & sister in law at Wilkins jam factory tea room in tiptree for lunch.
Had to queue for a short while untill a table was available, as it was very busy but worth the wait. Staff were very polite and helpful. The order was taken quickly and food served which was excellent.after the meal we had a look around the museum and shop.
A good experience,will go again.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 195,204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2019

Visited the tea room for lunch and was disappointed with my lunch of quiche which was lukewarm and as I didn’t want new potatoes asked for extra salad which comprised of a pile of chopped lettuce, slices of cucumber and tomato and some coleslaw. A little lacking in variety on the plate.
Previous visits for lunch have always been most enjoyable but feel the extras within the salad made it more appealing.
Will seriously consider if I eat lunch here again, such a shame.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank BooVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews