We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“microwaved meat pie with soggy pastry for £9.95”

Tiptree Jam Museum & Tea Room
Ranked #36 of 466 things to do in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“microwaved meat pie with soggy pastry for £9.95”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were on our way to Colchester Zoo so we decided to stop for a quick lunch at the tearoom.
What a disappointment this time. The microwaved meat pie with soggy pastry for £9.95 was not good value for money. The Earl Grey tea could have been better which was lacking in flavour.

I suggest that one avoid the hot meals because they are all microwaved. Do try the cakes from the tea room. They taste homemade and are very nice. You can take away the cakes and it is cheaper by up to £1.50.

The little museum is quite informative and interesting but could be rather cold so wrap up warm when in there. It is free to enter.

The shop sells Tiptree products and other local produce.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank buzishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    185
    45
    24
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A place for tea”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

On my way to West Mersea, visiting Tiptree. we did a little bit of shopping in their store. lots of choice of jams and preserves. We then had a tea/coffee break in their restaurant. the atmosphere was good, service was great!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank samwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a very interesting museum and tea room. Having read a mixed bag of reviews we were not sure of what we were going to experience. The free museum is small but charming and has some lovely photos of the Familly and staff producing jams over many years. The shop is fully stocked and we sat outside and had a very pleasant simple lunch in the busy cafe. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely food, staff looked stressed!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Took my hubby here for a surprise and waited about 15mins to be sat, for a Saturday lunch time I thought that was ok. All the waiting staff looked so so stressed, busy and so I think it lead to tempraments being not as friendly as you'd expect-not that any one was unfriendly, they just didn't seem to have the time to stop and make much conversation! Don't let it put you off though, lovely place and worth going for the cream teas, they were delicious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeside82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good afternoon visit”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited on a Saturday afternoon expecting it to be packed. But it was nicely busy and we only waited 5 mins for a table. We opted for the Tiptree cream tea which was yummy. Service was really friendly and the manager made our 7 year old feel very welcome.
The museum is small but interesting......and we loved the shop buying lots of bits for ourselves and people. We will definitely return here......we were here around 2 and a quarter hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lady35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiptree Jam Museum & Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Tiptree Jam Museum & Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing