We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Malvern House

Malvern House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seaford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malvern House
Ranked #2 of 9 Seaford B&B and Inns
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you want spacious spotlessly clean rooms, A lovely breakfast and hosts that make you feel that make you feel really welcome. Then obviously you are wanting to stay at Malvern House.Stayed a few times and never been disappointed. Always had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor for us - we appreciate your time and kindness. We hope you will come again ! with best wishes from Jean and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
18
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed here one night in early December and was pleasantly surprised; I was running slightly later than planned and Jean 'phoned me and offered to meet me if I had difficulty in finding Malvern House as for some reason it was not picked up on the sat nav - I would say that was over and beyond the call of duty!

I slept in the Silver Room which, as a single traveller, I found incredibly spacious as it had a separate bathroom and separate loo - it was more like a suite. Having read some of the reports on here was not sure what to expect but, it has to be said that everything was well balanced; Jean and Eric were welcoming without being over effusive and gave me some good local information on dining etc. The room was clean, there was a large wall mounted tv and good facilities with a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. I mainly rate hotels on the sleep quality and I had an excellent night's sleep here in a very comfortable bed.

There were windows on two sides and in the morning, as I drew the curtains on the east facing windows, the sun streamed into the bedroom which was lovely, the south facing windows gave a beautiful view of the garden which was a good start to the day. I am not a morning person and so chose not to take breakfast.

My feeling on staying here is that Jean and Eric have it "just right" in that Malvern House offers the personal touch that so many faceless chain hotels do not whilst offering comfortable accommodation with good facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turrolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to send in a review via TripAdvisor - made our day ! Thank you also for saying you did wonder what to expect having seen some reviews - we are just so pleased you were comfortable and relaxed. We wish you a very Happy New year and send our very best wishes - if you are this way again, hope to see you. Jean and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

jean and eric made our stay a most enjoyable week. the day started with a wonderful breakfast of our choice and a chat with them and other guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks to our guest for a lovely review - we are delighted they enjoyed their stay and hope to see them again. Jean and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Have stayed at Malvern House a number of times and have enjoyed every minute
The hosts Jean and Eric provide a warm friendly welcome each time I visit.
I have stayed in all 3 rooms now and they are all very comfortable.
Ignore any negative reviews on here as im sure you will enjoy your stay as much as me.
The breakfast is superb with plenty of choice inc full english
Have no doubt will continue to visit here and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samleeds33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to register a lovely review for us - we do appreciate your time and effort - and we are glad you will be returning ! with our thanks and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a very comfortable stay at Malvern House. We had a large family room with a bath/shower room and a separate WC. There was a kettle, tea, coffe and fresh biscuits each day. We stayed for 4 nights. The windows opened wide ensuring a comfortable sleep at night. The beds were also comfortable and It was very quiet. Jean and Eric are lovely people, and Crackle the dog only came to say "good morning" in the mornings as he was keen to go for his walk. We had everything we needed, even an electric radiator in case it turned chilly. We will definitely stay again. Thank you Jean for your understanding when we had to stay in our room all day due to 'over-travelling'

Room Tip: Corner suite at the back is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CavanFrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review for us. We are so pleased you were able to rest and relax and 'recharge your batteries'. Again, our thanks for your time in posting the review. Jean and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Having flown straight in from New Zealand and journeyed down from Heathrow, we were a little tired and arrived late evening at Malvern House. Although a little out of the town centre, we were given a very warm welcome and excellent hospitality. Jean and Eric were very accommodating and gave us a very comfortable stay. The breakfast is en famille and a very full english breakfast is offered. Tea (several varieties) and coffee-making in the room is a plus, as are the other thoughtful extras provided. There is plenty of off-road parking. We certainly enjoyed our six nights at this special hostelry.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger room with ensuite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Pointers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review - and for your positive comments. We thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We shall certainly stay at Malvern House again on our next visit to Seaford. Jean and Eric are kind and caring and we felt at home from the moment of our arrival. Accomodation is comfortable, bedrooms are large, breakfast excellent and all close to buses and trains for travel along the coastline.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyce t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review - we do appreciate your time and effort and look forward to your next visit. With thanks and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaford
0.7 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
93 reviews
5.9 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
71 reviews
2.4 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
199 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,548 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malvern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern House

Property: Malvern House
Address: Malvern House Alfriston Road, Seaford BN25 3QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Seaford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Seaford
Hotel Class:3 star — Malvern House 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing