We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wellington Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Seaford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant stay!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Second time staying here as my husband and I were competing in the South Coast Triathlon. Last year I gave 4 stars in my review because we were above the bar and couldn't sleep until after 12 with the noise. This time I requested a different room. We were in Room 101 and it was perfect! Large and quiet with all the advertised amenities! Breakfast was amazing and they even catered porridge for hubby on the morning of the triathlon as this was his preference. Nothing was too much of an ask. Staff are all super friendly and smiley. What a great hotel! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perpglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    37
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
16
59
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A group of friends and I took 3 rooms as we were going to a wedding, with the reception being held in Seaford. My friends cut it very close on arrival but the staff checked us in very quickly and helped us to get taxis so we could get away swiftly. They were very friendly and helpful at all times. The breakfast was great and the rooms were clean and comfortable. You also get a newspaper in the morning. The area is quiet and it is a short walk to the beach. Overall a really pleasant stay and I would recommend them!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alseliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Clean rooms, comfortable bed and it was very quiet considering that there is a pub downstairs.
Strange to have a flannelette sheet on a bed, it took me back to my childhood! Plenty of
complimentary toiletories, drinks etc. No decaf. coffee though.
Good freshly cooked breakfast.
Difficult to find parking on a Saturday evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy10red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayd at the Wellington Hotel for one night.
We had a nice, big and very light room. The room had free coffee/tea and bottled water and a television with a lot of channels.
The ensuite bathroom was new and fresh, with a nice shower.
The room was above the pub, but there was no noise.
The pub and restaurants serve good (a bit simple) food for a good price. There is a great selection of beers.
The hotel is near some beautifull spots, like the Seven Sisters and Beachy Head (some 15 minutes by car).
Unfortunately there is no off street parking. There are only a few places next to the busy road. You can park your car in the neighborhood (for free).
Staff is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissesPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed overnight exactly a year before, loved it then and loved it again! The staff are particularly friendly and helpful. Our rume was huge and comfortable, although the bed could be bigger and the bathroom floor freezing cold - keep your socks on!
This time we had dinner and the steaks were tasty and cooked to perfection, and the chips and mushrooms also excellent.
Breakfast was copious, delicious, and cooked to order.

Room Tip: We've had room 101 (!) both times - very sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk vulcan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

stayed for one night while going to a friends party. Room was comfortable and very clean. Looks like it had been recently redecorated. thought it might be noisy over a pub but we were not disturbed at all. Staff were very efficient in spite of it being a busy Easter weekend.
Breakfast was fresh cooked and excellent. would stay again.

Room Tip: en suite rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcauUkVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here for one night with a friend after a day's shopping in Brighton. The room was nice and the beds very comfortable. The only downside was no plug near a mirror, which would have been annoying if we had stayed longer than one night. It was also extremely warm, we had to turn the radiator down but that's better than being cold. We ate at the pub in the evening and the food was extremely good value. Staff were all very pleasant and breakfast also good. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillynet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaford
0.4 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
3.4 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Wellington Bed & Breakfast
Address: 33 Steyne Road, Seaford BN25 1HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Seaford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Seaford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellington is a traditional pub with 4 rooms offering comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation combined with an atmospheric bar and an excellent dining experience. The Wellington is centrally located in Seaford, close to the sea and makes an excellent base for exploring East Sussex. ** Please note: The Wellington does not have its own car park, but there are however 2 car parks located close by and street parking right outside ** The town of Seaford is a quiet seaside resort in East Sussex, U. K. It is located on the foot of the South Downs, a range of hills stretching from Winchester to Eastbourne. It is a great place to have a break. These days the town is sometimes overshadowed by nearby Newhaven, as one of the main ports on the South Coast. During the middle ages, however, the main port was Seaford. The town gained its importance as the mouth of the river Ouse, but this importance was not to last. The river suffered from silting, which made traffic difficult, and the town also suffered from repeated attacks by French pirates. The town was repeatedly burned down and rebuilt in the 14th, 15th and 16th centuries. In those days the locals had a reputation for looting and causing shipwrecks. For many, the main attraction in Seaford is the beach. This has an obvious attraction in the summer, when the sea reaches temperatures up to 20 degrees Celsius. But the sea is equally attractive in the winter. The town has a shopping centre, with enough shops to spend a good afternoon looking around. If shopping is a must, both Eastbourne and Brighton are about half hour away on either side of the town. For the out-and-abouts there is plenty of hills to get on with, as we are situated at the foot of a hill range called the South Downs. The Seven Sisters Country Park is just around the corner, and so is the famous Long Man of Wilmington, a massive feature carved out in the rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Wellington Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing