We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very handy for the Newhaven Ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaford
Bedfordshire U.K.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very handy for the Newhaven Ferry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had a morning crossing to Dieppe and our little grandson was travelling with us, so we didnt want the hassle of a 4.30am start. The White Lion is only minutes away from the ferry port. We arrived in the evening and were made very welcome. The pub part was heaving and, therefore, must be good. Although we arrived too late for food to be served in the restaurant we were offered sandwiches, which was kind. Although the pub was packed and fairly noisy, there was no disturbance due to the degree of separation between the pub and hotel. We had booked the family suite which had two good bedrooms, a sitting room and bathroom. This really suited our family arrangement and, I thought, represented good value. Everywhere was satisfactorily clean with comfortable beds and the usual tea/coffee etc. Of course, one would love to see up-to-date bathroom fittings but the White Lion isn't the Dorchester and doesn't charge Dorchester prices! Suffice it to say, the bathroom was clean and functional (despite the slightly feeble shower spray) and perfectly adequate for our needs.

Breakfast was served in the light and airy breakfast room and consisted of all the usual fare, well cooked and presented with friendly informal service.

On the whole, we felt we were well looked after at the White Lion and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again when making the Newhaven crossing.

Room Tip: Would recommend the suite for a family group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thechoirmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
25
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Often go to this pub/hotel for sizzling steak which is delicious and well priced but tried something different last weekend. Fresh cod covered in a cheese sauce. Only £8.95 and delicious. Lucky for me I had the last one available. Hope it's on the board as a special again soon.

Room Tip: Only went here for a meal as live down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eve204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Yrieix la Perche
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed here twice now. Very convenient for the Newhaven ferry. (early departure/late arrival)Breakfast excellent - full English. Pub downstairs but no late-night noise to disturb sleep. On-site parking. Room very clean.(Ensuite single). Tea/coffee/bottle of water(tap water non-potable unless boiled, for some reason). I found the bed very hard, but others might like that. The TV could be wall-mounted for easier viewing. Very helpful staff. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I didn't have a choice, but singles don't always. I'm not sure it would have made a diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misswoodentop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have stayed here in the past and my current stay was much more present than previous. This is a pub with rooms type hotel and none the worse for it. Room was well equipped, large and comfortable. En suite was heated separately, excellent! great sea view. the restaurant serves good tasty food, with good service at a reasonable price. it is dog friendly which is great for some but personally I'd rather not share my mealtimes with someone else's mutt! the only real downside is traffic noise, the hotel is double glazed but it is still intrusive. To sum it up if you are a dog lover who sleeps like a log and wants a pleasant, friendly and very reasonably priced hotel I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robd186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Visited this pub last Friday to Sunday, Friday we just had some drinks but it was noticable how friendly the customers were, we chatted to several of them, they were very welcoming. We chose this pub because we had been told it was dog friendly and we could take our dog in. On Sunday we had Sunday dinner, three of us had prawn cocktail starters which were lovely, then for mains two of us had sizzling steaks, one had gammon egg and chips and one of us had the roast lamb. Two of us had desserts, one chocolate mousse cake and one apple and berry crumble with ice cream. All food was served hot and was delicious. The staff were proficient and friendly. We will definitely be returning there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phatfishfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spent last week-end at this Hotel and despite the weather we had a nice stay. The Hotel is very well located, near to the seafront and a short walk into town. Its location also makes Brighton and Eastbourne easily accessible.

The cooked breakfasts of good proportions were well presented on big plates which set us up for the day.

Dinner on both nights in the welcoming conservatory was excellent, so much so that each time we ordered Whitebait for Starters followed by the mouth watering Sizzling Rump Steak served on a skillet thereby ensuring that the meal was hot from start to finish. This is the first time in living memory that we have had the same dinner on consecutive nights. This says it all.

Thank you John, Eileen and staff for looking after us. If in the area we would have no hesitation staying at your Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronchels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a fabulous evening for a friends retirement, the staff were great, service was attentive but not intrusive. the food was delicious and served piping hot and plenty of it! I would certainly go back.............. hopefully soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brunton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaford
0.5 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
3.3 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
6.9 mi away
White Horse Hotel
White Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rottingdean
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: 74 Claremont Road, Seaford BN25 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Seaford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing