We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst bed I have ever slept in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaford
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The pub is well situated and the food is not bad however, the matresses on the beds have totally collapsed and the pillows are not worth mentioning!! A B&B in my opinion should offer accomodation of at least a resonable quality, unfortunatly this is definatly not the case here. The showers are weak and tepid, not a great way to start your day. New matresses and decent pillows are what is needed. Decent, clean bedding would be appreciated by guests also.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ollybeak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 82 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

Go to this pub on a regular basis and up to now been pleased with food. We usually have the sizzling rump steak which is very tasty and good value for money. The steak they say is locally sourced. However today we thought we try the locally caught fish with chips and peas. Well what a disappointment. it was mainly a plate of chips with a tiny bit of fish, the end bit at that. The portion was not big enough for a childs portion £9.45. We will stick to the local fish and chip shop in future.
Only going to buy the steak from now on which is only £1.50 more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank eve204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Took advantage of their 2 meals for £7.95 including a reasonable all day breakfast. Had starters first and can recommend the whitbait.
Pleasant staff who apologised for the delay in serving the which was not really necessary as not an undue wait.
Well kept local brew of Harveys Old. Recommend you visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Area is beautiful to explore. The hotel was clean and staff friendly. Myself and my husband had quite a large double room which had a double bed and a single bed in it too. Quite spacious and clean. My mother had a small bedroom which was rather cramped. The bed in this room fitted lengthways wall to wall and she could make cup of tea from sitting on her bed it was so small. Her s suite shower/toilet had no door and from toilet you could see view of shops and sea. Due to this when she used the toilet she felt the need to shut the curtains. Coffe, tea, milk was replenished the following morning as were towels. If going to pick fault I would have to say in view of the environment towels need not have been changed each day as it was unnecessary. Other places I have stayed they ask guests to leave towels they want replaced in the shower cubicle floor otherwise they will not replace them which is a good idea. Breakfast was adequate with a fair choice and a light airy dining area. We stayed Saturday and Sunday night and from approximately 4.30pm onwards you can hear music from the pub downstairs pummelling through the floor. This was particularly annoying Saturday as went on till gone midnight and we were tired after busy day exploring area. Once pub shut it is lovely and peaceful and bed comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 3 with single bed very small. Room 4 is a family room that we were given which was spacious. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fordingbridgelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The food in the pub and the breakfast were excellent. However, the single room I stayed in had a bed that was so old the mattress was totally collapsed. There was nothing in the bathroom to put toiletries on and they had to be placed on the floor. There was nobody that would deal with my complaint in the morning, I was told the manager was upstairs and busy.
I filled out an online questionnaire which went direct to the owner. They have failed to contact me despite my request.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corisande_bude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was staying in Sussex for 9 days and the White Lion was the best accomodation we visited there. The location is 5 minutes walk to the sea shore and 5 minutes to the main bus station, where the Brighton -> Eastbourne bus goes. You can't make a better decision for Seaford, the surroundings are great, town is picturesque and the hotel makes you feel like home. Everything is clean, you get a great breakfast and the price is, in comparison to other facilities, very low for such an amazing service. I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdelaJelinkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at white lion for two nights while visiting freinds. stayed in a single en-suite room . the room was very clean & well equipped, staff wre excellent - very helpful, food was good - very nice full English. I felt that I was valued as a customer & wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends & next time I am visiting will stay here again. Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 - it has a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mumn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaford
0.5 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
100 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
234 reviews
3.3 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,405 reviews
6.9 mi away
White Horse Hotel
White Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rottingdean
567 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Address: 74 Claremont Road, Seaford BN25 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Seaford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seaford
Price Range: $88 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing