We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage in the heart of Rye”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ockman Cottage

Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living
Fully equipped kitchen
Comfy king size bed
Time to get ready for a night out....
Comfy double size bed
Beautiful large mirrors
Sweets from 'Sweet Shop Tony' on the High Street
Modern fitted bathroom
Enjoy a glass of wine in the courtyard
Ockman Cottage awaits your arrival
Come and Enjoy Rye....
Ypres Tower and Gun Gardens
Ypres Tower
Landgate Arch the entrance to the citadel of Rye
Beautiful sky at Pett Level
Sea shells by the sea shore.....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
L N
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great cottage in the heart of Rye”
Reviewed March 25, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at Ockman cottage. Very comfortable, clean and well thought through, furnished and equipped to a high standard. Also a great location, right in the centre of town, yet tucked away in a quiet spot..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2018
Thank you for your positive review....we put a lot of time and thought into the refurbishment of our cottage ensuring the comfort for our guests it seems our efforts are being enjoyed. We hope we may welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah E
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed March 8, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Ockman cottage is wonderful! My husband and I enjoyed every minute of our stay here. It is beautifully decorated, clean, and comfortable with everything you could need. The location is amazing, right in the heart of Rye, a few minutes walk to all that Rye has to offer, including unique bars and restaurants. Although right in the center it is peacefully quiet at night. We hope to return to Ockman cottage very soon. Thank you Jilly for being an excellent host.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2018
Thank you for your positive review.....our cottage is tucked away in the heart of the wonderful town of Rye we were so pleased you enjoyed everything Rye and we have to offer guests.....it is always lovely to read that a return visit is planned.
Thank you for taking the time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen6616
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed February 18, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Ockman Cottage is beautifully furnished, very well equipped and spotlessly clean. It is in a perfect location in the heart of Rye and yet it is very quiet. All we could hear in the mornings was the welcome sound of seagulls! There are plenty of lovely walks from the cottage and an abundance of good coffee shops, restaurants and pubs nearby so you won't even need to use your car.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review our special corner in Rye.....What more can we say "Perfect in every way!".....such a wonderful positive review. Thank you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare59Ot...
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cosy, centrally situated cottage ideal for a lovely stay in Rye.”
Reviewed February 2, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Lovely cottage right in the centre of Rye. Warm and cosy, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Only steps away from all the shops, restaurants, pubs and cafes you could want. The cottage is very well equipped and the furniture is of a very good standard. No parking but you can unload outside and then park in a nearby car park for £1.50 a day. Jilly, the owner is very good at keeping in touch and helping with any issues. She also provided good information prior to arrival. We would definitely recommend and would stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2018
Thank you for such a positive review. We and our housekeepers take pride in ensuring our cottage is maintained to a very high standard ensuring our guests have an enjoyable stay.
So pleased you enjoyed the central location of our property.....Rye is such an interesting town hopefully we may welcome you back in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TC S
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Ockman Cottage was a wonderful retreat for a weekend away; comfortable, cosy and well-equipped. Everything was very clean and beautifully presented. Being right in the centre of Rye, everything we needed was on our doorstop, with other attractions easily accessible by car or by rail. There is no parking by the cottage, only the facility for unloading and loading, but we had no problem with the parking suggested by the owner, Jill. We highly recommend Ockman Cottage as a holiday destination.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2018
We and our housekeepers pride ourselves in ensuring our cottage is presented to a very high standard and that all our guests are comfortable. We were so pleased you enjoyed the central location and the ease to travel in the area.....there is so much to see in this corner of East Sussex.
Thank you for taking the time to review and your recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage in perfect location.”
Reviewed January 18, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

A lovely two bedroomed cottage in the centre of Rye which is well appointed with excellent furnishings, very comfortable beds and a fully-equipped kitchen. You are right by the town's medieval buildings and streets; good food shops, pubs and restaurants are within a five-minute walk of the cottage (make sure you book a restaurant on Saturdays even out of season!). Communicating with Jilly was incredibly easy and efficient. Definitely somewhere to return to!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2018
Thank you for such a positive review it is so important to us that our guests enjoy the wonderful town of Rye together with being comfortable in our cottage at the end of a day exploring.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry A
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in the heart of Rye”
Reviewed December 14, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

My wife and I and two friends stayed for two nights at this extremely well appointed cottage. Walk out of the front door and you are in the middle of Rye so everything is on your doorstep. We had a lovely time and would very much recommend Ockman Cottage as a great place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2017
Thank you for such a positive review......our cottage is tucked away in the heart of Rye perfect for a getaway break. We were so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hopefully may welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing