We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Wonderful Holiday in Rye”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ockman Cottage

Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living
Fully equipped kitchen
Comfy king size bed
Time to get ready for a night out....
Comfy double size bed
Beautiful large mirrors
Sweets from 'Sweet Shop Tony' on the High Street
Modern fitted bathroom
Enjoy a glass of wine in the courtyard
Ockman Cottage awaits your arrival
Come and Enjoy Rye....
Ypres Tower and Gun Gardens
Ypres Tower
Landgate Arch the entrance to the citadel of Rye
Beautiful sky at Pett Level
Sea shells by the sea shore.....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Climber12...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Holiday in Rye”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

In the heart of the citadel of Rye, Ockman Cottage is a rare jewel. Sitting in a quiet lane, the cottage offers guests a comfortable, relaxing, and tastefully furnished environment away from the stresses of daily life. With an open-plan living/dining area downstairs, and two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs, the cottage was a perfect choice for our honeymoon; there was even a bijoux outdoor space with a table and two chairs to add to the magic. I would recommend Ockman Cottage especially to couples who want to spoil themselves without breaking the bank. Also, the owner, Jilly, is very welcoming and super efficient in terms of the booking, often answering emails within minutes. Will go back for sure !!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thank you for such a positive and glowing review.....what more could be said.....
We were so pleased to be part of your very special occasion. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back on an anniversary in the future. Congratulations once again.....wishing you many happy times together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosejohn2...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location.”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ockman cottage is of a very high standard. Everything we needed was provided and the beds were extremely comfortable. Loved how we could just walk out and be in the centre of beautiful Rye. Other places worth a visit are Batemans, Great Dixter, Bodiam Castle and Sissinghurst. Would certainly recommend staying here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2017
Thank you for your very positive review. We pride ourselves on the quality of our beds and linen it is so important to us that our guests have an excellent night's sleep. There is so much to see and experience in Rye and the surrounding area we were so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Again thank you for taking the time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thisisus
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Cosy in a great location”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a cosy cottage in a good location in Rye. It’s located in a narrow closed off lane which is nice and private. We felt safe here and it was quiet (except for the seagulls!). We had a nice welcome pack with all we need to get started including a bottle of wine, thank you. Jilly also phoned on our arrival day to ensure we had settled in Okay. There are plenty of good restaurants all within walking distance. The main local supermarket is closed on Sunday and is in our opinion on the expensive side so we shopped on our return from days out. You can’t park on site but this was not really an issue for us as there is a public parking facility about 5 to 10 minute walk, at £1-50 per day except Wednesday evening and Thursday which is market day. We actually parked on street which you can do from 5-0 pm to 10-00 am legally. The locals say there are no traffic wardens and we had no problems but that is something you need to decide. The main bedroom of the cottage is fine; the second bedroom is snug with little room along the side of the bed. To be fair this is shown on the video of the cottage. The small outside sitting area was not appealing as it is small even for two and can because of its location get dirty. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need but you do have to bring your own washing machine powder which we found inconvenient. There is a £200 refundable deposit which was returned 10 days after our return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Thank you for your review we were pleased you enjoyed the central location of our cottage which is in the heart of Rye just a few steps from all that Rye has to offer visitors.
We have furnished and equipped our cottage to try to ensure we meet with our guests comfort in mind..... it is so important to us that all who stay at Ockman Cottage have an enjoyable and comfortable stay. It was unfortunate you found the situation concerning washing powder inconvenient but as explained this can be such a personal choice and due to allergies we decided not to supply this item. We were pleased to hear your security deposit was returned as per Tripadvisors Terms and Conditions.
We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Again thank you for taking the time to review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura_hil...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Ockman Cottage is delightful. Centrally located in Rye, nicely finished, well-equipped and Jilly was extremely helpful. We had a wonderful weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
We were so pleased to hear you had a wonderful weekend at our cottage celebrating a special birthday. Hopefully we may welcome you back in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatH1665
1 review
“Sunny week in Rye”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A delightful little cottage in the heart of Rye. Welcoming, clean and well furnished. Wine and biscuits were a nice touch. Plenty of nice places to eat within walking distance. A very enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thank you for your positive review. We were so pleased you enjoyed the central location of our cottage together with the wonderful restaurants....everything is just a few steps from the doorstep....perfect for our guests to enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrette
Richfield, Minnesota
1 review
“Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Ockman Cottage! The location is perfect - it is an easy to walk to restaurants and shops in Rye and to the train station for day trips. The cottage was so clean and comfortable! It was the perfect place to relax!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2017
Thank you for your positive review....we are always so pleased our guests enjoy the central location of Ockman Cottage the train station is a great asset to the town allowing visitors to travel further afield the south coast has so much to offer. Hopefully we may welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sashford7...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Weekend break for my birthday”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

WOW !!!! Completely blown away. We felt completely comfortable and at home straight on arrival. This cottage is a little pearly jewel. Such amazing location at the heart of such a very lovely Rye town. I loved the feel, decor and complete package you get at Ockman Cottage. I will defiantly be returning to Rye and will be booking the Ockman. I loved the fact we needed to take nothing extra, all towels included, hairdryer, WiFi, washing machine, dish washer, lovely spacious rooms and excellent taste in decor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
Thank you for your 'WOW' factor review. We were so pleased you enjoyed the experience Ockman Cottage offers our guests especially as this was part of your birthday celebrations.
We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Again thank you for such a positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing