We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stylish and cosy house quietly situated in centre...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ockman Cottage

Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living
Fully equipped kitchen
Comfy king size bed
Time to get ready for a night out....
Comfy double size bed
Beautiful large mirrors
Sweets from 'Sweet Shop Tony' on the High Street
Modern fitted bathroom
Enjoy a glass of wine in the courtyard
Ockman Cottage awaits your arrival
Come and Enjoy Rye....
Ypres Tower and Gun Gardens
Ypres Tower
Landgate Arch the entrance to the citadel of Rye
Beautiful sky at Pett Level
Sea shells by the sea shore.....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
863fs
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stylish and cosy house quietly situated in centre of Rye.”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Ockman's Cottage provided a wonderful base from which to explore Rye and the surrounding area. The house is very tastefully furnished, immaculately clean and well appointed. We were able to explore Rye on foot from the house and we loved the unspoilt historical town and the very interesting selection of shops. I came home with lovely silver jewellery made in Rye, a woodcut from the excellent art gallery just behind the house and a Tilley hat from the hatters Herald and Heart. We enjoyed walks on Romney Marsh, Camber Beach and Rye Harbour. Altogether it was the perfect winter break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are so pleased you were comfortable in our cottage and appreciated the furnishings and good housekeeping it is so important that our cottage is presented immaculately to our guests.
Lovely that you enjoyed the wonderful independent and varied shops that are in Rye along with the many walks all very close by.
We hope to welcome you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie T
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fabulous short break in Rye staying in Ockman Cottage, perfectly placed in the centre of Rye with everything you could need on the doorstep. Well equipped and comfortable cottage, making it a home from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2017
Thank you for your positive review.....Ockman Cottage is perfectly located to enjoy everything Rye has to offer. Hopefully we will welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjbelling...
Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal place to stay”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed at Ockman Cottage last week during a golf event. A very comfortable, well furnished cottage that is conveniently located in the town centre.

Will certainly return in the future and recommend Ockman Cottage to anyone visiting Rye.

Thanks Jilly for a wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Thank you for your positive review. Ockman Cottage is centrally located in the heart of Rye but is also well located for the many attractions in the surrounding area which includes a great Golf Course. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

After finding this cottage by accident on a walk around Rye and then on facebook,
this had to be a must for a vacation over the,new Year period of 2016.
This is a property that full fills all, of the feelings and character of your own home away, from home and, right in the glory of Rye citadel the sort after part to stay.
Within walking distance of the great restaurants (The George Hotel the HOOF
Steak House) and more.
Everything you want in this cottage is there to make your stay what it should be.
comfortable pleasant and never wanting to leave.
Well decorated, and very warm and cozy with, beds that you sink into for the lay-in.
Jilly B the owner is a very attentive host (from a distance of her own home),who cares for your stay and calls to make sure you are OK, that's a reassuring aspect that adds to the charm of the place.

After a 6 day stay my family where sad to leave, but no fear we are going back this year for another stay, that's how much we loved it.

Ockman cottage you can't beat the quality and price, trust us we've stayed in a few in RYE.

Happy Vacation and it will be.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
Thank you so much for your very positive review. It is important to us that our guests have the most enjoyable and comfortable stay we have tried to ensure Ockman Cottage had everything our guests require and hopefully more.....also Rye is such a wonderful town and all on the doorsetep!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Again thank you for taking time to review......Jilly B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon E
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little cottage ”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a great stay at ockman last week spending most of the time indoors cooking and watching films .

Great location with a fully fitted kitchen helping us create our culinary delights . We felt really cosy in the cottage which is ideal for a couple staying .

Parking is a little annoying but expected with such a great location.

Recommend walking to WinChelsea beach one day .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2016
We were so pleased you enjoyed our cottage so much. We have tried to furnish the cottage to ensure our guests are comfortable and have the choice to stay in for cosy nights or visit the ️️wonderful choice of restaurants literally on the doorstep. Unfortunately the parking is a few minutes walk but at £1.50 per 24 hours is a great asset to a medieval town ️️although we can allow our guests to unload/load in the quiet twitten where ️️Ockman Cottage is located. Thank you for taking the time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Peasmarsh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Ideal”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Ockman Cottage is delightful and ideally located for a stay in the heart of Rye. Although situated right in the centre of the town, it is really quiet at night and feels very private. It is furnished and decorated to a very high standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2016
Thank you for such a positive review. As you state ️️Ockman Cottage is situated in the heart of Rye with everything be it restaurants, tearooms, galleries, museums, independent shops, antiques all only a few steps away......Thank you again for taking time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Centrally located in Rye, Ockman cottage is a real gem. The owner Jilly supplied a wonderful welcome basket for our arrival. The cottage is beautifully presented and well appointed - we had a wonderful, relaxing stay. Lots of lovely local restaurants especially Union Steak House which is just across the road from the cottage. I would highly recommend this holiday cottage to everyone and if we return to Rye I will definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Thank you for such a glowing review....it is so important to us that our guests have an enjoyable stay and experience the ️wonderful restaurants Rye has to offer. The Union Steak House seems to be a favourite.....We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing