We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“OH what a lovely day”
other travelers have booked this property
Chesterfield Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chesterfield Cottage
View of cottage from the Landgate Arch Comfy chairs in lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Chesterfield Cottage
View of cottage from the Landgate Arch
Comfy chairs in lounge
Comfy chairs in lounge
Woodburner in lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen, looking out into garden
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom window looking into garden
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Loft Bedroom (2ft6 Twins)
Loft Bedroom (2ft6 Twins)
Courtyard Garden
Courtyard Garden
Landgate Arch
Rye Castle Museum
Rye Nature Reserve
View of tha Landgate arch from the bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
John B
1 review
“OH what a lovely day”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Dear all,

What a cosy, well located cottage in the centre of Rye. Wonderfull restraunts and architecture. A trip back to a by gone age, peace tranquility , lovely food, beer and warm freindly people. Fantastic four days. Fantastic Cottage Chesterford.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2015
John, Thank you so much for your review. I'm happy you had such a good time and got to experience what made us fall in love with Rye! I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, centrally located, all you need for a great holiday.”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Firstly Rye is a beautiful town, so staying anywhere in Rye would be a pleasure; however our cottage made our stay even better. The cottage itself is just what we expected; quaint, charming and with character. The living room was not large, but was ample for our family of three. The cottage was built many many years ago when people were obviously a bit shorter as the doorways, and ceiling, are lower than modern day builds, and the stairways are a little tight, but nothing that we did not expect. The kitchen was modern and had everything we needed and the main bedroom was perfect.
Parking in Rye was no problem, but we did travel around a fair bit, and the railway station is not far at all.
We would recommend this cottage strongly to anyone who is able to negotiate the stairs and we plan to revisit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: One morning we could have done with a boost from the central heating as it was slightly chilly, we had a quick read of the manual, but we couldn't fathom out how to get it on; there is a log fire but we did not wish to light as it would been a waste.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage, full of character, ideal location, a real find!”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a find! We had a wonderful few days exploring Rye and surrounding areas. This charming 16th Century cottage, a pocket home away from home, offered all we needed for our base. Looking forward to returning later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Charm / Location
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie...
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing