We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected - very enjoyable”
Review of The George Grill

The George Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The George Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 114 Restaurants in Rye
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The George Grill and our bar, The George Tap, are temples of all day dining, serving a modern European menu with a sunny, Mediterranean slant. At the heart of the kitchen is a Josper wood-charcoal grill, where our kitchen team, led by Robert Wright fast-cook seafood just caught from Rye Bay, local meats and vegetables. The George Tap offers a large range of wine by the glass, including those from vineyards in East Sussex and Kent.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

I wouldn't disagree with the previous comments re the quality of the food - it was excellent. A decent pint of Harveys and all was well with the world. Nothing wrong with the service and we didn't find the restaurant to be overly noisy - just pleasantly busy which presumably reflects it's deserved reputation.
Just one slight gripe - why do restaurants insist on adding a service charge to the bill? I would far rather give cash to the waiting staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaveGTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Dear 'DaveGTW'

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we're delighted to hear you had an enjoyable visit to us recently and that you had good service. Our service charge is entirely discretionary. We hope you'll come and visit us again soon!

With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2017

This is a very charming and welcoming restaurant. The interior and atmosphere is a perfect backdrop for a good time out. We had a wonderful and very tasty lunch. Our waiter was always at hand to check that everything was ok. The hotel was busy but not in a bad way. A very warm atmosphere and lovely food.

1  Thank ladysystad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Dear ladysystad
We were delighted to read your feedback, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and please come and see us again soon!
With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017

Excellent food but two things let it down slightly, one was the length of time you had to wait for the food - which by the way was cooked to perfection, the second was the level of noise from other diners, I appreciate that this is essentially a pub restaurant but having so much noise from people who were clearly over-inebriated (not to mention the guy at the next table was too mullered to even stand up let alone find his seat) took the edge off a little. If you are looking for great food perfectly cooked you would be hard put to find better but don't expect to have a quiet conversation with a loved one because it probably won't happen. Recommended for the food but not the ambience which was a real shame.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Dear 'Carol p'

Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind reviews both here and on our Hotel page. We enjoyed having you to stay and we're very pleased to hear you found the food to be cooked to perfection. We do get extremely busy in The Grill - especially at weekends - and we're very sorry to hear that the volume from other guests took the edge off your experience. We are always very happy to steer guests towards times which are quieter in the restaurant. We hope you'll come and stay with us again.

With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

The soup starter was unusual but enjoyable but frankly there are so many better places to eat in Rye we only went here the once. I had the fish and chips but for a seaside restaurant the portion was small and the peas you could count.Not good value for money particularly the wine which was expensive for the quality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Thisisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Dear 'Thisisus'

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here. We're pleased you enjoyed your soup but sorry that your overall experience fell short of expectations. We try to offer something to suit all tastes and budgets on our menu with our house red and white wine starting at £4.50 for 175ml glass or £18.50 per bottle. We hope we can persuade you to give us another try in the future.

With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

Thank you for ruining a special occasion for us. The afternoon tea was appalling. For starters, why a builders mug and a saucer? Why not a teacup? Why dry sandwiches - one salmon that must of been cut with a razor blade, one see through ham and one cheese and tomato? What happened to cucumber sandwiches? The cakes were definitely bought in and were dry and tasteless. As this was a special occasion for myself and my husband, we did not wish to make it any worse by complaining. I see there have been complaints since 2011 about afternoon tea. Your comments back always seem to say "we have taken your constructive comments on board". Plainly you have not and are still serving appalling afternoon tea. I wish we had gone somewhere else to eat and spent the £30 on a decent bottle of wine. We will not be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jenny6100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Dear ‘jenny6100’

We’re genuinely sorry to hear that your experience with us fell so short of expectations.

Our signature ‘g’ mugs are popular with our guests and are made from fine bone china. We’re sorry to hear that the sandwiches and cakes were disappointing. We wish you had let us know at the time so that we had the opportunity to put things right at the time. We value all guest feedback and do act upon it and we have taken this up with our Kitchen team following your review.

We’d also welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you personally if you’d like to get in touch with our Operations Manager.

With best wishes
The George in Rye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Grill also viewed

 

Been to The George Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing