We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Grill

The George Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The George Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 106 Restaurants in Rye
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The George Grill and our bar, The George Tap, are temples of all day dining, serving a modern European menu with a sunny, Mediterranean slant. At the heart of the kitchen is a Josper wood-charcoal grill, where our kitchen team, led by Robert Wright fast-cook seafood just caught from Rye Bay, local meats and vegetables. The George Tap offers a large range of wine by the glass, including those from vineyards in East Sussex and Kent.
Brighton
Level Contributor
259 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited The George on a Saturday night and sat at a table tucked away to the left of the bar, which was perfect for our group.

The place was absolutely buzzing when we arrived and the atmosphere was great. Unfortunately, it was also extremely busy with a wedding going on. We were able to place our order very soon after we arrived (at 8.30pm) and the starter arrived quickly. However, we had to wait until 10pm before our main meal arrived. By this time I had really lost my appetite and by the time we had finished it was too late to order desserts.

We chose from the set menu (although I think I would have preferred to order A La Carte). I had the scallops to start, which were delicious, followed by the Aberdeen Angus steak with béarnaise sauce. The steak was tender and tasty although they were all cooked the same (despite asking for some medium and some medium rare).

The staff were very polite, helpful and attentive despite being extremely busy.

I enjoyed the experience and the meal although I think I need to go back and experience the A La Carte to really comment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_LouBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    244
    140
    96
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a lovely meal during a holiday in the area: the food was very good, although quite a few options were missing from the set menu. This was a shame, as we were keen to sample the local seafood - it would seem others earlier in the evening had the same idea! Some of the plates were a bit dry - a little more generosity with the typically delicious sauces would be appreciated. The cheeseboard was a particular treat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye
1 review
“Avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have lived in Rye for 2 years and tried many local restaurants of all types. We booked for dinner on a Saturday evening, and I persevered despite my niggle that 6.30 and 9.00 sittings are for the restaurant, not the customer, by booking for 2 at 6.30. We were greeted and ushered straight to our table, and service, to be fair was good. Having had lunch that day a main course was sufficient and lobster and gambas were ordered. Bread and butter/oil was delivered. Finger bowls in place, the mains arrived - in red hot metal dishes and swimming in chilli oil and garlic, within 5 minutes of ordering which meant they were not freshly cooked. Any attempt to go near the food with fingers was impossible due heat and burns to hands. The gambas had to be eaten with knife and fork and shells separated in the mouth (nice in Mongolia, but not so nice in Rye). The oil/sauce was searing hot and generally drowned the food. The same treatment was given to the lobster. When we complained the maitre d appeared and proffered "many of our customers like to just look at their food whilst it cools for 5 or 10 minutes". I wondered for a moment whether the food was some sort of practical joke, but he further said "you can stand in the kitchen and watch the chef prepare it" after we asked if it was microwaved, I realised that this idiot was serious. At £70 for 2 mains and an average red wine, I rate this as possibly the worst meal I have ever had. Try The Ship, The Ypres, in fact ANYWHERE BUT THE GEORGE. JP

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Lunch Set Menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Note to the Chef... Garden Peas slammed through a blender do not make "Mushy Peas".. Signed 'A Northerner'

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Perencequip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HOTEL GOOD, RESTAURANT NEEDS ATTENTION”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 days and ate at the grill on the first night. We didn't bother again. Considering the build up, we were disappointed. The waiter steered us towards a much more expensive wine, which didn't help. The meal was average. We sampled breakfast twice, the first was awful, the cereal station was untidy, which was a put off and service very bad. The second morning it was a different hotel, everything ran smoothly and everything was tidy. Different staff can make a lot of difference.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lscBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Grill also viewed

 

Been to The George Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing