We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food good beers lovely pub go and enjoy”
Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
Ranked #4 of 108 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food good beers lovely pub go and enjoy”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Ate here for two nights during our recent stay in rye and enjoyed it enormously, food was excellent, unpretentious but really well cooked and presented, portions were huge, good range of good beers and really nice wines, the atmosphere is laid back and relaxed in an obviously recently refurbished building done to a high standard, prices good too, not surprisingly its busy, we were there on a Wednesday and Thursday night and they were turning people away so book ahead

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    67
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent!!!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Booked for dinner on the 6th night of our holiday in Rye - Wished we had come earlier in the week as we would have booked for every night!!! Everything was prepared, cooked and served to perfection. The Pork belly was amazing. The staff were all friendly and attentive. Special thanks to Lisa and Steve for making us feel so welcome. Needless to say we booked in for the next day, our last day and had yet another gorgeous meal. We are now looking at booking a three night stay over Christmas, rooms and Christmas menu all look beautiful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Very clean & well decorated rooms, friendly & helpful staff, great food, overall good value. Would definitely stay again.
Thank you Steve

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank regcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch destination”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Went with friends for lunch and was struck by nice interior decor and imaginitive menu.
Reasonable prices too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babyboomer1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a great find - recommended.”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Having arranged to meet up with other members of the family in Rye on an August weekend (Saturday the 16th) we were surprised to find all the car parks full. We had to change our plans and drove a short way out of Rye in the hope of finding a suitable place to eat. After checking out a couple of pubs and rejecting them for various reasons; bar snacks only or too expensive, we were driving back into Rye when we saw the King's Head Inn.

What a find, we were warmly greeted and a table for six by the window was quickly rearranged for the four of us. We ordered drinks while we perused the menu and specials board. Not an extensive choice but it all looked very enticing. We all skipped the starters and chose a different main course each. We ordered the Steak and Ale Pie, the Belly Pork, the Neptune Platter and the Special Burger. All the food arrived pipping hot with side dishes of vegetables and chips as appropriate. All had very generous helpings and we all enjoyed the food very much. The service, the friendly staff and the ambiance all added up to a very enjoyable experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Rye, East Sussex
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing