We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our new year break”
Review of Willow Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Willow Tree House
Ranked #2 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

myself and my partner spent new years eve and new years day at this superb bed&breakfast.
our hosts Adrian and liz could not have been more accommodating.upon our arrival we were immediately greeted with a smile and the offer of coffee which we gratefully accepted as our journey from London to rye had not been the best.we were shown to our room which was the winchelsea room and the décor was outstanding and the room very adequate in size.the breakfast menu was outstanding and of a varied choice with plenty on offer to suit all needs.the cooked breakfast cooked to order and to perfection.will definitely stay at this delightful guest house again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 453 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Enjoyed a one night stay at this cosy, immaculately presented B&B. The room we stayed in - Bodiam - was beautifully furnished and had a lovely large en suite Bathroom. Breakfast was superb, with so much choice, and I think the bacon was the best I've had! I'd stay again without hesitation. Close to the quaint town of Rye too, with its many antique, gift shops and brilliant pubs! Would recommend the Heritage Centre for the old fashioned arcade machines, and Bodiam Castle is worth a visit, being about a 20 min drive outside of Rye.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chappers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at this gorgeous, beautifully kept b&b about 400m away from the heritage centre in Rye. Room was excellently finished with a very comfortable bed and immaculately clean. Thoughtfully stocked with everything you might want in the bathroom right down to the sewing kit and toothpaste. The breakfast had one of the best selection of fresh fruit I have seen anywhere with a vast array of cereals followed by a delightful cooked breakfast that will keep you going through the day topped off with excellent coffee and freshly pressed orange juice. The couple running the b&b were very friendly making you feel more like a friend and relative than a paying guest. We will certainly be happy to return in the future.
As for negatives, if I really had to pick something it might be that the TV in the room is a little dated (whilst it is a lcd flats screen it lacks Hdmi input or any sort of data connection) but that is really nitpicking. Our room (playden) faced the road so there was some traffic noise but that isn't a real issue past 10pm once the traffic has died down to virtually nothing. Otherwise one should bear in mind that this is an old house so ceiling heights and beams etc on the upper floors are rather low for anyone around 6ft.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Preime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow-Tree-House, Owner at Willow Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Highly recommend, a very warm welcome by our hosts Adrian & Liz, our room was spotlessly clean and warm, beds so comfy. Great location for walking into town, first time we have been to Rye and would stay here again.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of fruit, fruit juice, cereal and full cooked English!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabeth janet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Rye is like stepping back in time, and willow tree house is a perfect place to stay in order to experience the "goodnight sweetheart " experience. Adrian and liz are most welcoming, and cook a mean sunday fry up, certainly cured the hangover after a briliant night supping at the ypres. The beds are like snuggling into a giant marshmellow, ...... goodnight sweetheart.........until we meet again

Room Tip: All rooms are of an exceptionally high standard,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnmccole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed for two days last week whilst visiting the beautiful Rye. We had a very warm and friendly welcome which included some recommendations of places to visit and some suggested restaurants.

We stayed in the Fairlight Room. Our room was immaculate and furnished to a high standard. We were very comfortable in the room and had a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was excellent and there was a wide selection of options. We both opted for the full English which was a good start to the day.

My last comment is about the hosts Liz and Adrian. They made us feel so welcome and we left with a warm feeling that they genuinely appreciated our business. Brilliant hosts!

We will definitely be returning.

Rob & Clare Smith

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at The Willow Tree House. Liz and Adrian are exceptional hosts and go the extra mile. Nothing is too much trouble, from the warm welcome to the helping hand to get back to our vehicle, service is exceptional. If you are visiting Rye I would recommend staying here. Top Tip - if you need a taxi, book in advance they are a rarity in Rye!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.3 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hayden's
Hayden's
#4 of 39 in Rye
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jeake's House
Jeake's House
#3 of 39 in Rye
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Tree House

Address: 113 Winchelsea Road, Rye TN31 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range: $123 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Willow Tree House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Tree House is a 6 bedroom Grade II listed house which has been sympathetically refurbished. All our luxury bedrooms have en-suite power shower cubicles and luxury toiletries. All rooms are equipped with Digital TVs, WiFi, fans, hairdryers and straighteners. Iron and ironing board are available on request. We have 5 double rooms and 1 twin/double kingsize room. Rates are inclusive of Full English breakfast and FREE SECURE ON-SITE PARKING. Unfortunately we cannot accept children under 14 years of age. We are a few minutes walk into Rye town centre which has a wide variety of restaurants/pubs, galleries, antique and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Willow Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow Tree House Hotel Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing