We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming and friendly”

Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for one night in November. The house is a few minutes' walk from Rye which means you don't get kept awake by the Rye revellers at night! We had initially stayed ten years ago and decided to return as it was so lovely. We stayed in the Tenterden room which has an amazing shower, really comfy bed and lovely views across to the river. As we came in from shopping we were offered fresh milk for the tea tray in our room - a very thoughtful touch. Breakfast was cooked to order with lots of choice.

Staying at Little Saltcote is like staying with friends; it's got a lovely family atmosphere where even the labradoodle is please to see you!

Room Tip: The Tenterden room has an amazing shower and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nolly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

It was lovely to see you both again, thank you for remembering us. Glad you enjoyed this break away and hope it's not 10 years before we see you again. Until the next time...all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in March. The house is on a busy road not too far from Rye Center (about 20 minutes walk). We stayed with our dog who was made quite welcome. Breakfast was traditional but quite all right. Our room was unfortunately quite small, we did enjoy the coffee and tea making facilities though. What really need to be fixed is the horrid shower that has been sub-constructed in a corner of the room and just had a trickle of water coming out, no chance of really getting wet.
The real improvement could be made by the helpfullness of the owners. Eventhough the Pub recommandation have been could when we asked about walks to do with our dog we just where pointed in a general direction and ended up in the most awulf area of Rye, littered with waste and smelling. Some maps, not for sale, but gratiously provided with some nice walks would have added a lot to our enjoyenment of our stay. Would we go back? Maybe not. Rye dissapointed us and we would choose to stay in Tenderten next time we need to take an early crossing back to the continent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustForty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Disappointed that it took 6 months to bring any grievances to light. We encourage guests via our information folder to speak to us as soon as possible if anything is wrong, in order that we may be given the opportunity to rectify the situation. Something we could easily have done for you regarding the room size and the shower. How busy a road is, the size of the room and how long it takes to walk into town, are all subjective.
We are concerned that you found an area of Rye awful and again would have appreciated your feedback at the time in order that we may have been able to influence local council to rectify that problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at little saltcote with my dog. Barbara was friendly, helpful & cooks a great breakfast. The room I stayed in was lovely and the bed SO comfortable.

Just a short walk into Rye so great location too. I would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for he feedback. Hope to see you again next time you need to come Camber.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Keith, my husband, and I plus our Boxer dog stayed with Barbara and Denys for almost a week at the end of August which was a business trip combined with a holiday. I am a bit bewildered by the poster who said that Little Saltcote isn't dog friendly as our dog was given the same warm welcome as we were and, of course, allowed to stay with us in our bedroom. (For those non-dog owners staying here, be assured there is not a whiff of dog, the house is clean and fresh). For dog owners, across the road is a footpath following the River and after about 5 minutes you come to a park which, if your dog is well behaved and doesn't run off (you are in central Rye) is a good place to exercise. Crossing the road you can continue the walk along by the River as far as you like. It is obvious that Barbara and Denys really relish making sure that their guests are happy, nothing is too much trouble and Barbara cooks a great full English. All in all a lovely comfortable stay much appreciated by us and Tim the Boxer. (Check out The Globe down the road - fantastic curry and the Langate Bistro - beautiful bistro food (but book).,

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Lovely to met you both and glad we were able to help make your time in Rye enjoyable. Tim has certainly educated me to how friendly and non - drooly boxers can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Decided to stay here whilst at a wedding in Rye. Warm welcome after a 6 hour drive from Denys. The room was perfect for myself, partner and our 5 month old.

The room had everything you would expect, but the hospitality shown was fantastic (even looked after our baby so we could enjoy our wonderful breakfast)

This should be your default choice if staying around Rye.

Thankyou very much

O Whiting

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

It was a pleasure to meet you all, and a delight to be able to help, it doesn't always work out that way, it depends if there are more breakfasts to cook! All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A delightful B & B, a 7 minute level walk to the town centre. Friendly, comfortable and clean, with a warm welcome from Barbara and Denys, not to mention Bracken, the dog. Oh, and the cooked breakfast really is very good. Have stayed there twice now and Little Saltcote is the default option for future visits to Rye.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkHunter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Good to see you again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This B&B is delightful. A lovely room, quiet, clean and relaxing. Th full Englich breakfast was beautifully cooked and delicious breakfast, set us up for the day ahead. Our dog was made very welcome and accomodated very well too. There was a walk very close by along the river. The only down side was that we couldn't stay longer but we will be staying there again. Many thanks Kay & Vicky

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback. So glad you all enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye
7.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.7 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The George in Rye
0.4 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#7 of 39 in Rye
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Military Road, Rye TN31 7NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range: $111 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwardian Family Home. Family friendly, convenient to town and countryside. Free off Road parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing