We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Ten guests can happily sit down for dinner together, in the social kitchen/dining area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ten guests can happily sit down for dinner together, in the social kitchen/dining area.
Deking outside the living room, in the fresh air and private behind the hedge. Pett Level beach at low tide.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Ten guests can happily sit down for dinner together, in the social kitchen/dining area.
Deking outside the living room, in the fresh air and private behind the hedge.
Pett Level beach at low tide.
Log burner on the go while preparing dinner
Outside seating for all ten guests, perfect for summer nights together.
The living room has cosy sofas around a traditional wood burner and another dining table.
Large, modern functional kitchen at Bridge House
Modern appliances in Bridge House make it an ideal location to cook for friends and family.
Double en-suite bedroom off dining area. Separate from the other four beds, ideal for grandparents.
Four main bedrooms are down this light corridor off the living room, separated from bedroom five.
One twin room, the other four are doubles
All of the bedrooms have been recently refusbished, including this double.
One of the en-suite double bedrooms. French windows lead out to the decking
A cosy double bedroom with clean wooden floor and good storage
Arty shot!
The twin single bed room
Log burner in the kitchen/dining room. Perfect reason to stay chatting at the table after dinner...
Living room. There is a smart TV with Freeview here, the traditional stove is the heart of the room.
Refusbished for 2014, the house is modern and friendly, designed to bring all guests together
Bridge House nestles behind cosy hedges, and has a simple garden spaces.
Says it all...
The remote-controlled roof windows open up in the summer to bring the outside into the dining room.
Second dining table in the living room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
englishro...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed May 9, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had glorious weather over the May bank holiday weekend and had a second wonderful stay in Bridge House. We were 3 generations and two dogs and we were all very comfortable. The house is well furnished and the kitchen well equipped. We enjoyed a lot of our meals outside on the sun deck. The walk to the beach is only 10 minutes and there is a co-op close by for provisions.
We had days out in Hastings and Drusillas Zoo and the children spent time on Pett Level beach playing in rock pools where the dogs could go too. I would definitely recommend this holiday home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We were robbed”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

On the second night we stayed at Bridge House a shower pipe broke and sprayed water everywhere. This was the first time we have ever had a major problem with a holiday cottage in fifty five years. We eventually had it repaired five days later so we were restricted with showering. Despite our explaining what happened the owner and agent effectively accused us of lying and said that we had pulled the pipe off the wall. Why we would do so they did not explain. We were charged nearly £200. All other problems reported were ignored - problem in freezer, broken macerator, wasps nest by bedroom window, four cars scraped their sumps etc. The building is a wooden shack so do not be taken in

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Our understanding is that the shower that you damaged had the valve wrenched from the wall rendering it completely unusable, although the other two showers in the property still worked.
And that astonishingly, you decided to ask the agent that you had booked through to give you a refund of some sort to compensate for the damage that you yourself had caused to the property.
We support the agent fully in their decision to withhold some (we believe not all) of your security deposit towards the damage that you caused.
We continue to use Mulberry Cottages, and we are grateful to them that we were able to ensure that guests the following week were not inconvenienced by your damage, and enjoyed their holiday as did the guests the week before you.
We would respectfully suggest that if anyone was "robbed" it was us, since you damaged our shower (one of the plumbers pointed out the valve had been wrenched from the wall) and we ended up having to replace it with a cheaper unit at short notice, and you were only charged for the cheap replacement rather than the true cost of like for like unit.
Tellingly, when you were asked how the damage happened, you told the agent that "erosion" was the cause of the wrenching from the wall.
We think this speaks for itself.
We are very happy with the way our cottage works for our guests, we price our holidays at a level that does not include a margin to cover malicious damage of the type that you caused.
We have not seen an agent withhold a deposit in any of our years of running holiday cottages apart from your party's trip.
We are going to continue to adopt this policy, only factoring in fair wear and tear and minor accidental damage to give normal guests a fair valued holiday, as other holiday cottages do, and we continue with our policy of recommending that your party are not welcome at any of the agent's properties ongoing - for obvious reasons.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliet S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to stay in lovely Pett Level: private, well equipped, chalet style accommodation”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This house is in a charming location, located on a small lane and about 5mins walk from the beach. It's very well equipped for 10 people - the communal areas are especially nice and the terrace is delightful for outdoor dining. The owner, Paul, couldn't have been more helpful with my various questions and provided an excellent house information sheet in advance of our stay. It was my birthday celebration weekend and the house was perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Bridge House, and we are glad you enjoyed your birthday in Pett Level!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLovingTi...
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We were charged £200 for a burst water pipe! Money grabbing owners.”
Reviewed December 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Initially this property appears clean and modern. However, problems included : Having to sleep on the sofa cushions as our mattress which was thoroughly worn out with sharp springs sticking out of it; the second TV only had hard wooden dining chairs around it, not very relaxing after a long day, and the dining room was was also open plan to the living room with the other television; The kitchen sink had a broken macerator in it we were told not to use (in our view faulty electrical equipment in a sink should be removed before guests move in); one bedroom had a live wasp nest right outside the top opener of the window, which meant it could not be opened which in summer was not very good. This also affected our bedroom next door. However, the main problem during our holiday was the shower water pipe breaking WHEN NOBODY WAS USING IT - we went in there and water was pouring out of the wall. We called the owner who then charged us for a new shower. This meant that £204 of our £300 deposit was taken. We were offered no compensation for only having two showers for nine people, in addition to giving 13 hours with no water supply whilst waiting for the leak to be repaired.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2016
We are sorry that you managed to break the family bathroom shower, after your party had used it quite happily when you started your stay. We are sorry that you told Mulberry Cottages, who you booked with, that the reason for the physical damage to it was "erosion"... we're not clear how "erosion" could cause bends and leaks in two pipes simultaneously... and neither was the plumber who pointed out that the shower valve appeared to have been pulled from the wall; both the hot and cold water input pipes were bent, having been physically wrenched from the valve, consistent with someone using it as some sort of handle to pull themselves roughly out of the bath.

Because this happened over a bank holiday weekend, the property manager that was called out at short notice asked that if you wanted to stop the water flow from the broken shower into the bath, that you turn off the water mains supply when you were out of the house, or unable to have a look in on the leak, until a plumber arrived the next day.
He explained to you that if you wanted to use water in the house that would be okay, but you would need to keep an eye on the leak (fortunately it leaked into the bath) until a plumber arrived, it being a bank holiday weekend. He pointed out that at the time you were quite happy with his practical suggestion, and quite happy that you could see how to turn the master water supply on and off when you needed to. If it had been urgent, we are told a plumber could have been called straight away at an emergency rate. We are sorry that you have neglected to mention this in your review, and that there was indeed no need for any 13 hours with no water supply that you suggest happened...

No-one has ever told us they've had to sleep on the sofa before; again it's odd that our guests before never found these problems. One of the mattresses is a memory foam and the rest aren't, perhaps this has some bearing upon your perception of the mattresses ?

The second TV is in the kitchen. It only has "hard wooden dining chairs around it", because it is, in fact, on the wall above the dining table, and the chairs are dining chairs. Placed around the dining table. This is a reasonably standard dining chair/table arrangement... and this and the TV are clearly displayed prominently on the Mulberry Cottages web site.

You said there was a problem with wasps four days into your visit, yet you didn't tell us about this problem that supposedly ruined four days of your holiday, until you decided to ask for "compensation" for this wasp problem that you hadn't told us about - when you did, a pest control firm was requested straight away and removed a small nest. But curiously you only asked for this "compensation" when it became clear that the damage you had caused to the shower necessitated a replacement shower valve, rather than simple repair...

The macerator was not broken, and was working at the start and the end of your holiday. You did, however, tell Mulberry Cottages that it had flooded the kitchen. When asked for details of this flood, you were unable to give any. We provide instructions for how to use it in the welcome documents at the house. We never were able to work out what problem you had with it, although it's interesting that you only reported this problem at the same time you were asking for "compensation" for the wasps that had apparently spoiled your holiday for four days... when you realised that the shower valve you had broken needed replacement not repair.

In truth, it is unexpected that the guests the week immediately before you never had this sort of problem with wasps etc. that was so bafflingly troubling for you. The house can take quite a battering when it's used back-to-back over the summer, and we have never been in a situation where we've had anything other than breakages of glasses/crockery, wear and tear etc. (we are dog friendly and the entire house is painted white and is designed to be relatively low maintenance for holiday home usage) which we don't believe would be reasonable to hold back a deposit for.

We have never had to personally withhold a deposit from direct bookings ever, and as far as we are aware this is the first time Mulberry Cottages have withheld a deposit from a guest at Bridge House. However, we do understand why Mulberry Cottages, who you booked your holiday through, did not return all of your deposit to you, and we fully support them in this.

You say "We called the owner who then charged us for a new shower", yet we have never discussed the damage you caused with you. Our understanding is that the decision to withhold your deposit was made after you had vacated Bridge House.

We are very happy with the service we provide on balance, and we feel Bridge House has given many families and groups very happy holidays for a very reasonable price. We don't factor in the amount of damage your party caused as fair wear and tear, and we are not planning to increase our prices to factor in an allowance for guests such as yourselves to cause that amount of damage, and not have it reflected in the deposit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortyfami...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful week with plenty to do and accommodation which suited us down to the ground”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The area was a complete revelation ... really pretty and plenty to do and see. The accommodation really worked well for us, providing for all our wants . It was comfortable and welcoming. We particularly liked the kitchen and dining area, which was a real social focal point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2016
Many thanks for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed Pett!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill N
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a large group holiday”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were a family group of ten celebrating a 90th birthday. We had a brilliant week in this lovely, unusual and very comfortable property. The beds were extremely comfortable and everything we could have wished for was provided - it was exceptionally well equipped. We enjoyed the deck outside and the large amount of space inside. The location suited us well - a short walk to a lovely quiet beach and a short drive to both Rye and Hastings.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your week!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissJo14
Basel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house for adult group”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great house for Christmas entertaining, very well appointed, clean, uncluttered and in an area where there is a lot to do, beach walks and pub near by make even winter weather cheerful. Appreciated four double bedrooms for adult group but some mattresses need toppers or replacing as springs can be felt. Living room could do with another sofa or chairs, instead of small table and chairs perhaps (?) as there is currently seating only for seven.
Decorated Christmas tree was a very thoughtful touch.
Thank you we had a lovely time.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2016
Many thanks for your kind words. The original mattresses were replaced. We agree about the living room, but we wanted the option to have a second dining table in there, for jigsaws etc. and to keep it separate from the kitchen/main dining table. We think the only solution is a custom made L-shaped sofa which would let us have the best of both worlds, watch this space...!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing