We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of River Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Haven Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A good hotel which was great value for money. The hotel is only a short walk from the town centre and located on the side of the river. It has a massive car park which is a major advantage as parking is in short supply in the rest of Rye.

Our room was a good size with a decent sized on-suite with bath and over shower. Our window looked over the river and it was lovely to see the boats bobbing about. The room and bathroom were very clean, although the mattress was a little too soft for our liking.

The cooked breakfasts were tasty although a bit on the greasy side. They were cooked to order though which can be a rarity these days. The service was quick and attentive. The cold selection was basic, cereal, fruit and yogurt (only appeared on our last day) but it was enough for us. We didn't eat in the hotel during the evening as there was an excellent choice of restaurants only a short walk away.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They rang a local pub for me where I thought I had left a coat behind. We were greeted by all members of staff. We asked for extra milk for our room and this request was met straight away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuratorWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    131
    47
    8
    2
See reviews for
45
144
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Extremely good hotel in all respects. It is across the river from the old town, but only a 10 minute walk to both the old city and the railway station. It is actually on the river and we were in room 13 which had a lovely bay window overlooking the tidal river, it was also nicely decorated with quality furnishings. The breakfast room was a delight with raked ceilings, light and airy with river views. Breakfast buffet was very good, lots of nice fresh fruit as well as hot English breakfast options. Bed was extremely comfortable. Free Wifi is available but only in the common areas downstairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williams17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Let us start with the positives. The hotel has free parking. It is a short walk from the town and a good location from which to explore the area. The food was excellent and there was a good selection. The staff were extremely friendly (we felt at home) and went the extra mile to help us to enjoy our stay, which involved a birthday celebration. We could not fault the staff. Our rooms were clean and comfortable.
On the downside, the lounge area is small and the dining area can look uninviting at times; but both aspects were far outweighed by the good points.
We could not fault the cost of our stay - it represented good value.
This is a three star hotel and that is what you experience. It is not the Ritz, so folk should not expect Ritz-type service and accommodation.
I agree that some redecoration is needed, but the hotel is clean.
I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and would gladly revisit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 - ground floor on the river side and it was as quiet a room as we have ever expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is located very close to Rye Harbour and the town and shops are within easy walking distance. Parking was not an issue. My evening meal in the restaurant was good. Service at breakfast, however, was very slow and disorganised despite there being few people early in the morning. Not being able to sit by the window with a view of the river at breakfast, despite the restaurant being nearly empty was disappointing and unnecessary - single guests were seated behind a screen away from the windows. Not very welcoming!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMac186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My 25 yr old daughter and two female friends - saw that River Haven Hotel advertises evening meals for non-residents. As staying in Rye thought they would like to try it as pretty location. Upon entering the lady on desk asked "Are you staying in the hotel?" to which they replied "No"
her response was
"Well you can just go back out again"
I dont need to say anymore - they found a lovely Italian around the corner!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 17 and the room itself was what we expected, basic, clean, a good size with the usual hotel furnishings. We had a mixed stay and I will start with the positives:
Breakfast is really good, they offer alternatives to the traditional English such as eggs on toast, eggs benedict etc. well cooked and good buffet.
Location is just 5 mins from Mermaid street, where you will pay between £30 and £60 more per night.
Rooms are a decent size, it was a roomy, not a box double

The not so good:
We found the service so so and we had an issue with our shower which was met (on the three times we raised it) with indifference at first, to telling us it was because we couldn't work it properly (after we had paid our bill). Basically we had a cold shower, slightly off cold at best if we fiddled with the fitting for about 10 mins. It was frustrating being told it would be looked at each time we mentioned it and by our last eve (we only stayed two nights) we decided just to leave it. I had planned on asking for money off, but decided as we wanted to leave our bags for the day that it was best just to forget it. Then after we had paid we were asked if 'anyone had spoke to us about our shower' and then a man, who may or may not be the manager / owner told us in quite an unfriendly way that we should have pushed the handle to cold 'because it had been plumbed in incorrectly'. I have two issues with this, first, if true , there should have been a notice up as the way he explained it suggested they knew about it, and second I believe it wasn't true. My dad used to be a plumber and I know to try all alternatives on these kinds of things... There was no hot water whichever way we tried pushing the handle to hot, cold and middle. Anyway, we just took it on the chin, and didn't argue as we wanted to walk to Camber castle and had no car to store our bags.
I have seen the good reviews of the service here, and we really did not experience that. We are a female couple in our early 30's and when we checked in we were told about the doors being locked out after 11 and that 'the night porter waits until everyone is back before going to bed' - it felt a little like it was being suggested that we should not stay out all night, which was a little odd.
It was a shame about these issues, as we are really easy going guests and often travel, so have stayed at lots of b&b's and are pretty happy wherever we are. If I can sum up how we felt when dealing with staff (except one younger guy, who was lovely) it is slightly uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndieL0wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The River Haven Hotel is a straightforward hotel with the usual rooms, breakfast, etc. There were a lot of older people staying when we were there. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi in public areas, but not in rooms. The river is tidal and has a lot of moorings, and OK to sit by with a drink in the evenings. Interesting rather than picturesque. Unlike hotels in the old town, there is ample parking. It's just a short walk into town if you want to eat somewhere more interesting / up market. As a family of four, it was good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HackneyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
894 reviews
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Haven Hotel

Property: River Haven Hotel
Address: Winchelsea Road, Rye TN31 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your River Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing