We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect cottage which made for a perfect stay.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Seakale

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jayne W
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect cottage which made for a perfect stay.”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Seakale Cottage is perfectly equipped for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Rye Harbour. Jane was helpful from beginning to end - the perfect owner! All the little extras from dog biscuits to toiletries makes for an easy stay. The cottage is beautifully furnished and is just a short walk away from the Nature Reserve. Will definitely recommend to all friends and family.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfy beds and pillows
Liked least: nothingt
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2016
Thank you so much! I'm so happy that you all had a good stay, which is of upmost importance to me. I hope that your boys are now refreshed and recharged for their forthcoming exams. I hope to welcome you back one day. With best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenorris
wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A lovely spot with plenty of good walks on the doorstep. The cottage is thoughtfully equipped with lots of little additions. The owner was very helpful from beginning to end, highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2016
Thank you for your review! It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay both at the cottage and exploring the local area with your dogs. I'm sure they loved racing across the beach! I hope to welcome you back one day. With best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarek J
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage!”
Reviewed December 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This modern,cosy,comfortable and very clean cottage will please everyone.
Well equipped and perfectly located.
The owners very helpful and easy to contact.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnitures
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Thank you very much for your review. I'm so pleased that you all enjoyed your weekend and I'm sure that the children were excited to see the Christmas tree. I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year! Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthea A
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Seakale was an excellent holiday cottage, attractively and thoughtfully decorated and equipped”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Seakale is a delightful holiday cottage, situated very close to a stunning nature reserve teeming with wildlife, with every need catered for: comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, cosy, warm sitting room, luxurious bathroom and light and spacious throughout and beautifully decorated. We particularly appreciated the welcome for our dog (treats and biscuits provided) and the welcome cake and milk waiting for us on arrival.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The level of comfort and attractive decor
Liked least: The key safe was very difficult to open
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so pleased that you found the cottage such a comfortable and welcoming place to stay. I am also pleased that you (and your dog) enjoyed the welcome treats, which are freshly baked by a talented local baker. The dog treats are always very popular! I hope to welcome you back one day. With best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunst
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcoming and homely with a fresh feel”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We've just returned after a four night stay and we've had a fantastic time! The cottage was beyond our expectations; lovely shabby chic decoration, plenty of room - especially the bathroom, the cottage was relaxing and homely. Jane (the owner) thought of everything, even down to recommendations of various restaurants in which we tried. She provided us with all the home comforts such as cake, biscuits and all the necessities (milk, coffee, sugar etc.), it is also very dog friendly with lovely walks through the nature reserve which is just around the corner with the beach also, Jane even provides the guests with doggie treats! Every thing was provided to us with prompt and efficient help with anything we could possibly need. We would definitely stay again and would certainly recommend Seakale cottage to anyone - you won't be disappointed!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2015
Wow....thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to me as I constantly strive to ensure that the cottage is presented to the best possible standard and that everyone has a good time. I hope the 'birthday boy' had a fabulous 50th! With best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review. I'm so pleased to hear that you found Rye Harbour such a peaceful place to enjoy a relaxing break with your dogs. It's a dog walker's paradise and the perfect place to escape the stresses and strains of everyday life. Rye certainly is a gem and we are very lucky with the huge choice of quality eateries it has to offer. With best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the rear bedroom
Liked least: Liked it all !
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you back and I'm so glad that your second visit was just as enjoyable. Thank you also for the photos. I can see that your dogs had a fab time! Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.