We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Edith's House - CLOSED

Edith's House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Hello and welcome to Edith's House! Sit back, relax and enjoy your food and drink in the familiar and nostalgic setting of your Nanna's house.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a fabulous little tea room and a definite find. Superb food & atmosphere and very welcoming...a perfect place to take a bit of time out. Will be sure to go back. Roux, the pup, is an absolute cutie.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    83
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a snack in the afternoon and loved this place! Guys that run it were so friendly and salad/soup was delish. Had a great personality and vintage feel with real style

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lottemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab place for lunch”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a find - so good we had lunch there two days running and their home made soups are brilliant. Wonderful atmosphere, great owner and a lovely dog!
Their grandmother - after whom the place is named - must be really proud.....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a change!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Edith's House is the small tea room near the Rye Art Gallery that used to be Cranberries. The previous tea room was somewhat cramped and uncomforable but this reincarnation is superb. Beautifully decorated and comfortably furnished - somehow it looks a lot larger than its predecessor. We went in on a cold day for coffee and it was lovely and warm (unlike a lot of places in Rye). The ambience was relaxed and friendly and the cake excellent. It looked like they do very interesting soups and we will definitely try these on our next visit. They are dog friendly as well and we met two delightful pooches when we were there including Roux..

I hope it does well, it certainly deserves to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect spot for lunch”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had a lovely lunch here on the weekend (early Jan 2013), great selection of tea and cakes too. What was so nice was the friendly service and atmosphere and being served with a smile. Food was great and Roux (resident pooch) is a little charmer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edith's House also viewed

Rye, East Sussex
 
Rye, East Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing