We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent self catering in beautiful Rye”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Borough Arms Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Turnhout, Belgium
1 review
“Excellent self catering in beautiful Rye”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Ideally located in the beautiful historic town of Rye, the Old Borough Arms B&B has got opposite the B&B a self catering property - 21 Mermaid Street - where we had a wonderful 4 day stay begin November.

The self catering masionette was just perfect for our family of 5 - on the first floor a modern kitchen; a well decorated and cozy living room (plust tv) and dining room and at the top floor two very comfortable bedrooms (the very friendly owner did put up folded bed in the kids' bedroom so all 3 could sleep) and bathroom (plus toilet).

The very clean maisonnette immediately felt like home, inviting....our kids played every evening with the puzzles and games available in the living room! Next it's perfectly located to tourist around East-Sussex (tip: certainly visit the white cliffs of the Seven Sisters near Eastborne!).

We would certainly recommend the self catering to families! Pretty certain we will return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    86
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
49
150
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
gloucester
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is more of a B&B than a hotel. The manager isn't always on hand to help. I stayed in Room 7 which could do with a lick of paint, looking tired. It was spacious enough but pillow cases had creases in them that shouldn't be there on freshly laundered linen but by the time I went to bed, the manager was not there to complain to. The shower room was nice & big. An annoying kitten kept clawing me at breakfast & I worried about what might happen to the muesli if no one else was around? Breakfast was nice enough. Good location.

Room Tip: Room 7 - quiet but check to see if the sheets are fresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasminium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a find! Right in the heart of Rye at the bottom of the infamous Mermaid Street. We were incredibly impressed by the warm welcome we were given, everyone went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We had a fantastic breakfast which seemed to go on and on. Full English, croissants, cereal, fruit, plenty of coffee...everything in fact required to fortify us after a very boozy wedding. Fantastic value for money - great family run Guest house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast is well located in the historic town of Rye. It was easy to walk to all local attractions and restaurants and only a short drive to tourist centres such as Battle. Rooms were comfortable and average size, though the ground floor would benefit from added ventilation. The owners were very friendly and their breakfasts were excellent - cooked to order with good local produce. Would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on 2nd level rather than street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed in many many hotels, some good and some bad. This is a good one. The rooms are decorated to a very high standard ..the beds are comfortable and we stayed for additional nights we loved it so much. The one problem is the steep stairs but other than that id give six stars if i could

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesociologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We received a friendly welcome on our arrival. The staff were very helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. The highlight was the breakfast which was cooked to order using fresh locally sourced ingredients. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliecooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend and I think it deserved a 4/5 star rating. By far the best feature is the location, right at the start of the old town surrounded by cobbled streets. Price is pretty good too! Some of the bars nearby were noisy in the day, but not intrusive- no drunken football louts and personally, I find it pleasant to hear others having fun. For me it was a toss up between Old Borough, Mermaid and George. Mermaid is far older and more quaint, but I'd rather visit places that I’m not staying in to add to the experience. And the George isn't on a beautiful cobbled street- really happy I picked the Old Borough- plus the exterior of the Old Borough defiantly has the wow approach factor that'll impress anyone! The staff were really friendly, but not so in-your-face that you felt uncomfortable. The room was very clean, comfortable, but there was no "wow this is super posh" factor if that is what you wanted (it was just a standard double- so I wasn't expecting/wanting that, i think other rooms on offer may have the "wow"). And as I expected and hoped, the breakfast was lovely, really good sausages and i was allowed two as I prefer not to eat mushrooms- nice friendly touch.

Only bad points worth expatiating upon are (and this is only to give a fully balanced review): the shower wasn't a double and the room location and ambience didn't match the exterior.

Positive:
Location
Exterior “wow” factor
Breakfast
Staff
Clean

Negative:
Single shower
Rooms felt "detached" from the quaint exterior, like a "school corridor"

Would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ask about parking round the corner. £2.50 a day or £1.50 after 2pm, looks a little dodgy but we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The George in Rye
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
0.1 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 39 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Borough Arms Hotel

Property: Old Borough Arms Hotel
Address: The Strand, Rye TN31 7DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Borough Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Borough Arms is a charming and welcoming bed and breakfast, situated at the foot of the famous Mermaid Street in the centre of ancient medieval Rye. We have nine comfortable and individullay decorated bedrooms, including four poster and family/ twin rooms, all ensuite. The Old Borough Arms offers a friendly atmosphere, delicious breakfasts to suit all tastes and is the perfect location for a relaxing break.We can also offer parking on a first come first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing