We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rose J
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed June 2, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a wonderful stay at Blackthorn for my partner’s birthday. Peter was SO helpful with recommendations for walks, visits and restaurants. Everything was perfect and we were given a free bottle of prosecco to celebrate with! Thank you so much Peter and Karen! We highly recommend staying at Blackthorn or Cedarwood (we had a little tour). :) Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2018
...you can ONLY have a little tour of Cedarwood as it's so compact! Thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review. I'm glad the birthday weekend was a success, and we hope you'll return some day. Blackthorn is an ideal place to celebrate a special occasion, and Karen and I always want our guests to get the most out of their stay here - and if it's a celebration then we'll endeavour to pull out all the stops! Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula S
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage very well maintained with beautiful views. Great value 👍🏻”
Reviewed May 31, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights at end of May. The cottage is located between Rye and Hastings and is perfect base for exploring local coastline and attractions. The cottage is in grounds of owners home and is just utterly lovely and kept spotlessly clean. Peter the owner is such a nice man and makes you feel very welcome and obviously cares that guests have a pleasant stay. Having exclusive use of the swimming pool & hot tub was the cherry on the cake!
We had a lot of rain on our second day but even so still plenty to do and see. There are some lovely pubs and restaurants in the area and some exceptionally pretty villages. We had a lovely time and will definitely return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2018
Wow Paula, what a lovely review! I'm not quite sure where to start...except, please return whenever you can, and I'll see what I can do about the weather! It was a pleasure to meet you both and to have you stay at Blackthorn. Since opening in 2007 we have had many guests, and only a few don't wish to have any contact with us and know exactly what their itinerary will be during their stay, but many, like yourselves, are happy to receive our recommendations, and occasionally tell us of places and experiences we don't have first-hand knowledge of but can then pass on to future guests. This part of East Sussex of full of great places to visit and things to do, and you're right - I want our guests to get the most out of their brief time here, and for them to have the best experience - one that they will treasure for years to come. So, thank you once again for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and please try and return - perhaps a little longer next time...?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 31, 2018
Yes, shame about the unpredictable weather! I'll see what I can arrange for next time... Perhaps I shouldn't say this, but often September can be lovely and sunny! I hope you'll have the opportunity then to explore the local area and enjoy some of the many historic sights it has to offer. This part of East Sussex is rich in NT, EH, and private country house and gardens.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pamela F
1 review
“Blackthorn Cottage, Icklesham”
Reviewed May 24, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Well appointed self catering cottage set in a tranquil, rural setting not far from historic and charming East Sussex villages, rustic pubs and country walks. Peter and Karen made us feel very welcome. Private pool and hot tub for our exclusive use was absolutely perfect after our daily rambles and exploration of the area. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2018
Thank you Pam for the review - compact but comprehensive and complimentary! It was lovely to have you both stay, and I'm glad your break was such a success. You made the most of your time here - one way or another - and I know that you now have a much better appreciation of what this special part of East Sussex has to offer. There is so much to do and so much to see, and after a long day taking it all in, we're fortunate to be able to offer the hot tub and the heated indoor pool to guests between 8 and 8 each day! We hope you'll return . Please keep in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie C
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, didn’t want to leave!”
Reviewed May 15, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Had an amazing stay at Blackthorn Cottage, had a huge garden overlooking the countryside, with the use of the hot tub and swimming pool- we couldn’t have asked for more. It was very relaxing, and only a short drive to Hastings/Rye so was in a great location... We only wished we could have stayed for longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2018
Hi Jodie. Thanks for the review, and thanks for calling it a 'garden' - less charitable guests called it a 'field'! Anyway, it is getting more garden-like week by week, and we are now focussed on re-working the raised beds in front of the cottage that soak up the sunshine. Very soon it will have an arrangement of succulents and Mediterranean plants to compliment the 2 x large Olive trees in the courtyard, and beach shingle between the oak sleeper walls.
It's going to give guests a more attractive environment, and will include an area for herbs conveniently placed for them to pop out and get something to add to their cooking if needed.
Fortunately, the Blackthorn balcony gets full sun most of the day, and if guests wish to catch the last rays from mid-afternoon onwards they are always welcome to stroll down to the swing seat at the bottom of the 'garden'. Thanks again for the lovely review - sorry you couldn't stay longer, but perhaps we'll see you and James another time...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Nigel...
1 review
“A place of dreams”
Reviewed May 13, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What a beautiful place and Location.
When we arrived we were met by the owner (peter) who showed us to our beautiful
cottage.Our accommodation was set into beautiful grounds with a hot tub and swimming pool.
Our cottage had everything that was needed.
We were located between Rye & Hasting.
We will be visiting Peter and his cottage again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2018
Thanks for the review. We're really glad that Blackthorn met with your approval, and it was good to meet you both. It's fortunate that we are midway between the beautiful old town of Hastings, and lovely Rye with it's cobbled streets and castle. This area is so rich in places to visit and easy countryside to explore, and we hope you'll be able to return sometime and experience more of what this special part of Sussex has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DentalHyg...
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful, perfectly located cottage.”
Reviewed May 9, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We arrived to a very warm welcome from Peter who explained all about the area, it's history and things to see and do in and around Rye and Hastings. The cottage is warm and cosy with a nice log burner, it was chilly during our stay and we felt very snug. The accommodation has everything you could possibly need, it's home from home.The terrace is lovely with a great view of the garden, lots of bunnies, we counted 12 at one time and beautiful birdsong, absolute heaven. We didn't use the hot tub or pool as it wasn't very warm, there are plenty of towels so no need to take extra towels as a bath towel, bath sheet and hand towel are provided for each guest. We would love to re visit when the weather warms up. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2018
Many thanks for the great review and sorry the weather couldn't be better! It seems like a lottery these days: one day sun, next day rain, and regardless of the month too...but you had a good break which is most important. The wood burner is always a good thing to have, and regardless of the season we always have a good supply of wood for guests. The hot tub and indoor heated pool is usually a popular distraction if the weather is misbehaving, and the numerous coffee shops etc in both the old town of Hastings and in Rye offer some welcome shelter. If the rain is persistent then Hastings has its Museum and Art Gallery, The Jerwood Gallery, The Fishermen's Museum, and the Shipwreck Museum, to name but a few. Rye has an equal number of cultural distractions to the bad weather, plus its own cinema: The Kino with 2 x screens, a bar and coffee shop - 2 for 1 on Tuesdays!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing