We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location for a relaxing break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George B
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location for a relaxing break”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a great find Blackthorn cottage was and we can really add very little to the many glowing reviews already posted.
We booked a week here so that we could use it as a base for exploring the local area whilst also chilling out. On our arrival we were greeted by Peter who showed us around and happily advised us of places to visit and provided details of the local pubs/eating places. The bottle of prosecco and hen & duck eggs provided was a really nice touch. The king sized bed is so comfortable as is the cosy lounge. This is a real home from home with the bonus of a pool and hot tub. All the utensils are provided if you want to eat in but a meal at the Queens Head pub is a must. Beware the portions are massive. We certainly recommend Blackthorn to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing and friendly place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. You had my idea of a perfect holiday: days out to see some of the many local sights, occasional trips further afield, local walks, eating in and eating out when you felt like a treat, but enough time to relax in the tub or the pool after a day out of sight-seeing - and the sun shone MOST of the time, raining at night for my garden! A win win situation.... Best to you both, and thanks again for taking the time to leave a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2017
Many thanks for reviewing your stay at Blackthorn. It's great that you were able to enjoy the facilities and the weather was particularly ideal for it. Yes, we are very fortunate to have two pubs locally that both do good home-cooked food. The Robin Hood is the closest and as you appreciate is only a walk down the lane so guests can leave their car at the Blackthorn car park, as you did. We hope you'll return again soon. Thanks again for taking time to review our holiday cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jay S
1 review
“Lovely Getaway”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fantastic getaway. Relaxing, quiet, and very clean. Amazing scenes and views with modern utilities. Will definitely book again.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Thanks for the review. Blackthorn is certainly a popular place to unwind and destress away from the busy world, and certainly the pool and hot tub helps to ensure that. We hope you'll come back sometime. It was also very nice to welcome your parents too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen b
1 review
“Our stay at Blackthorn beach house”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a 3 night stay here,was very nice and cozy,lovely comfortable king size bed.Beautiful view over country side,would come again.p.s Didn't get to use the lovely swimming pool & hot tub.Maybe next time.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2017
Yes, I'm sorry you didn't get the chance to use the facilities, but we trust you managed to recharge your batteries and enjoy some of the local places anyway,. We hope you do have the opportunity to come again because one current Blackthorn upgrade that you'll be pleased to hear about is that we have now ordered a new Smart TV (with DVD), and will be trialling Netflix with their free 30 day offer too. So, next time you come there may be other reasons why the pool and hot tub don't get look in...! Many thanks for leaving the review, and hope to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
924thurst...
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Valentine's break”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Blackthorn cottage was a amazing valentine's break.
Before we went to the cottage had lunch in the Robin Hood pub was very nice.
Got to the cottage was greeted by Peter he showed us inside and we had Prosecco a card and eggs on the table.
The eggs were from the chickens and ducks they have was a lovely touch.
Wasn't cold enough for the wood burner but we had to light it but had to open the doors it got so hot.
Bed was huge very comfortable a great nights sleep, had sole use of the pool and hot tub.
Best thing of the stay was star gazing while sat on the hot tub.
Honestly this place is amazing couldn't ask for anything more on valentine's.
Will definitely stay here again in the future.

Thank you
Peter and Karen

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to leave this lovely review but also for 'liking' our Blackthorn Holiday Cottage Facebook page. It's much appreciated. Star gazing from the hot tub sounds amazing, but is only something I manage to do occasionally as Blackthorn is so popular, and subsequently rarely empty - silly me! But the combination of being out in the countryside and close to the coast does mean big open skies and very little light pollution. At this time of year with fewer people visiting the area it does also mean that you can have the beaches to yourselves for romantic walks, and afterwards often find a cosy corner in a nice pub with a roaring fire. Thanks again for the review, and Karen and I hope to welcome you again to Blackthorn sometime...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
457Travel...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Blackthorn Cottage is in a super location, as there are so many places to visit nearby, not least Rye, which is a favourite of our, especially during the quieter seasons. The cottage is well equipped, with everything to hand if you wish to self-cater (as we did on this occasion.) The living room has brilliant views of the countryside from the window, and also boasts a wood burning stove. The contribution of free range eggs from Peter and Karen's own chickens, made a nice addition to breakfast.
An added bonus is the swimming pool, and also the hot tub, which, although we stayed in January and the weather was cold, we did use on both nights of our brief stay. We had lovely clear skies, and so were able to lay back and luxuriate in the warm water, while gazing at the moon and stars. What a treat!
After our warming dip each night, we got dressed, and visited one of the two pubs that are in the village, The Robin Hood, for a pint. It only takes about ten minutes to get there on foot, and we found it very welcoming. Although we didn't eat there, the food that was coming from the kitchen looked delicious, and people seemed to be enjoying it. Next time, we'll probably eat there as well.
For anyone who enjoys walking, the area is perfect, and you will find books on local walks in the cottage. If shopping is your thing, then Rye has many little independent shops, and additionally, plenty of welcoming tea rooms for you to pick from. If you crave a larger town for shopping and a more familiar high street, Hastings is not far away, and also has a very interesting Old Town, where the series Foyle's War was filmed.
If you are in need of some downtime, Blackthorn Cottage is an excellent choice of accommodation, and somewhere we will return to.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Wow, what a great review! I almost can't add anything to your lovely comments except that perhaps you should work for the local tourist board! Both pubs - The Robin Hood just up the lane, and The Queen's Head at the other end of the village - are both good for home-cooked food, and are full of genuine character and interest, and with friendly staff. Great for just a drink, a nibble or whole lot more, but bear in mind both pubs serve LARGE portions of food so a 'whole to more' is A WHOLE LOT MORE! The old town of Hastings also has some good places to eat, and some charming little pubs such as 'The Dolphin' in Rock-O-Nore crammed full of fishing memorabilia, old photos and model boats etc. If guests are only able to stay for 2 x nights then one day could be spent wandering around Rye - up and around it's beautiful citadel, and in and out of the 'antique' shops; while day 2 could be enjoyed discovering the tall, black net huts on the beach near the fishing fleet, and the network of old, narrow streets that criss-cross the old town of Hastings. Both are very easy and straight forward to visit from here...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Footsie67
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant 5th stay ”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We booked for the fireworks display at the local pub, the Robin Hood. We have stayed at different times of the year and always enjoy our stay, hence returning, and have recommended to family and friends.

The cottage is comfortable and has everything in you need. The log burner in the colder months is great. You can use the hot tub even if there's snow on the ground. The pool is a good size. We have booked again for the summer.

Looking forward to see how the cabin is coming along.

It's a central location for Rye and the beach at camber and other costal towns.

Peter and Karen are so friendly and always there to help. There is lots of information in the cottage.

Well worth the visit

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Yes, your 5th stay! Your weekend in July will be great as there's so much to see and do in this fantastic area through the summer months - or you can just chill-out in the garden with the loungers, BBQ and the badminton set...? The only downside is you've only got 3 x nights and NOT 7... Oh well, you'll just have to come back again! We wish the 3 of you a lovely Easter break and look forward to seeing you again in late July. Best wishes, Peter, Karen, Ollie (and Ringo, the elderly German Short-haired Pointer).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing