We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT STAY ONCE AGAIN!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kentravel...
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY ONCE AGAIN!”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Second visit to Blackthorn - last time was a couple of winters ago and it was nice to see the area in a different season. Warm welcome from Karen and Peter, bubbly in fridge, eggs for breakfast if you want them. We were lucky with the weather so spent two lazy days in the hot tub (plastic glass of Pimms in hand!) and swimming in the indoor heated pool. Just a great place for relaxing in peaceful countryside. Had a meal at the Robin Hood pub which was very nice - surroundings are not so nice as the Queens Head but as it was only 10 mins walk up the lane, thought we would give it a try. All in all a great weekend. Thanks again Karen and Peter for making us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot tub and pool
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAndr...
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“PERFECT COUPLES RETREAT”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I stayed for a 3 night break to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. What a bargain, and a hidden gem. Bottle of bubbly for us when we arrived from the owners Peter and Karen, fresh chicken and duck eggs, what a lovely touch ! Lovely accommodation, well equipped kitchen including dishwasher with everything you need to prepare a nice meal or breakfast. A lovely comfortable bed and bedding, great shower and bath with nice big quality towels. A beautiful setting for a romantic break, to just chill and enjoy the views, have a swim in your own private use of pool or a glass of bubbly in the hot tub. You can use as a base to enjoy the local area, or just stay on site and chillax ! We will definitely be back, we loved everything about it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private use of Pool and hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henk_vV
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
“Very comfortable, clean and quiet retreat”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We came to relax, read, sit in the sun, and enjoy the tranquillity of the southern English countryside, and that's what we did. Blackthorn Cottage is the perfect place for it. Very comfortable in any which way, but the amount of beer glasses. Instantaneously solved by the owner, when I asked for it.
The owners are very helpful in making your stay a pleasant one. They even helped carrying the luggage from, and to the car.
I write this comment because I think the owners deserve it, but I had rather not tell you and increase the chance of availability in the future because we are certainly coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful view.
Liked least: plastic beer glass
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacha1994
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family weekend!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My fiancé and I travelled down to Blackthorn on the 30th May with our 1year old daughter from Crewe to stay for 2 nights. The journey was long but it was completely worth it and we'll definitely be going back! Peter and Karen were lovely and the area was beautiful. Whilst there we visited Bodiam castle and eat out at the Queens head both of which were amazing and we'd definitely visit them both again. The pool and hot tub at Blackthorn made our trip and our daughter absolutely loved them! Overall a perfect get away that we'll be recommending to friends and visiting again. x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and surrounding area.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
disgracef...
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven not to be missed.”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Booked to stay just three nights, which is most certainly not enough. What a little gem.
Is it the lovely house, in an amazing setting? Is it the fabulous rooms, comfy beds, fantastic bathrooms? Is it being able to sit out on the decking overlooking beautiful garden and woods? Is it the attention to detail that gives you that little extra bit to make your stay fab, like the duck eggs in your room? Or is it the amazing hosts, Peter & Karen that want to make your stay so special and personal? Nothing is too much trouble at all. Well it’s all of the above and a lot more.

See below:-

The heated hot tub and swimming pool are amazing and available all day.

The area is a great little suntrap and gets the sun all day with little to no wind, weather permitting.

The views of the garden and surrounding hills are exceptional

There is nothing bad at all about it! I would recommend this place to anyone and cannot thank Peter & Karen enough for such a wonderful and welcoming stay.

This is the best place we have ever stayed and will be back soon. It's so reasonably priced too which makes it an affordable luxury.

Well done Peter & Karen for providing a little piece of heaven. Thank you so much for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the above.
Liked least: Going Home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueM108
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our 3rd Visit with many more to come”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This cottage is a slice of heaven, peacefull & private with views to die for. Everything you need is provided just bring yourself and some food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caraw333
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect New Years Getaway”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 nights at Blackthorn for a New Year break and had a fantastic time. The cottage has everything you would need for a relaxing stay. The hot tub and swimming pool were excellent and the duck eggs waiting on our doorstep for breakfast were phenomenal. The cottage has everything you need including plenty of games, a well kitted out kitchen and a fantastic log burner. Karen and Peter were very welcoming and we felt very comfortable as if we were at home - can't wait to come back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing