We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never eat at a place that has a thin chef !!”
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Reserve with OpenTable
The Plough is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 108 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $65
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Plough is a quintessential English country pub with stunning views from our pond side garden over the Brede Valley with the sea as a backdrop. Situated on the Kent and East Sussex border and less than two miles from the medieval town of Rye, we enjoy a fantastic larder of local produce, from the freshest of fish landed in Rye and Hastings every day, to the wonderful delights from the Romney Marsh such as lamb and beef as well as the best of seasonal vegetables. With all this on our doorstep, we offer a good choice of local beers, ciders, wines and freshly prepared food, from our tapas, to our original choice of freshly prepared dishes and our homemade ice creams.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never eat at a place that has a thin chef !!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The reviews are correct (except for the few miserable moaners!), this is a great place for a visit.

We were greated with a warm friendly welcome, which is always a good start, especially on a first visit.

The food was more up market than the usual pub grub and wouldn't of been out of place in an expensive restaurant, but at pub prices. An excellent menu that suited all our group (even though it meant that they took longer to choose as everything sounded delicious!)

Excellent food, good ale and enjoyable night ............we will return.

One tip, the Plough is going to get busy as more people hear about it, so get it booked up on the 'to do' list asap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank farmer-simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    84
    26
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a local pub with a difference. None of your normal "pub grub" but an innovative slant on local seasonal produce cooked with flair and imagination.
The welcome from all the staff is second to none and whether you want just a pint on its own or something light to go with it, its all here.
Snacks, nibbles and tapas (£3.50) at the bar, or sit down at one of the scrub-topped tables and choose from the extensive, ever changing menu, its up to you as you will be treated just the same, no matter what is your preference.
The menu is based on entirely locally sourced products. Game in season ranging from "Bunny Burgers" to "Pheasant en-croute" with wild board sausages and all manner of other unusual items, all dependant of what is available and when.
Rye is only just down the road, famous for it's Rye Bay scallops which you can have in several forms, including Scallops Florentine with wilted spinach. All the fish is fresh from Rye and delivered daily. However one drawback is that if you fall in love with a particular meal, this may not be available on your next visit, but I'm sure the if you ring before you go Simon will do his best to try and find it for you.
This little gem of a pub has been so successful that they will be opening another restaurant, this time a steak house in Rye, shortly, to accommodate both locals and holiday makers alike.
If you want to try something different together with a great fun experience, you should not miss this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This Plough was always on our menu..Firstly we started with the Tapas,Fantastic selection and nice portions to share,We decided with the Rabbit Salami ,Squid and chilli spices,Whitebait and dipping sauce,and Pigeon and Chrizio, and must have Soda Bread..ummm.
The mains were ( for us) Pheasant Escalope, Salad, and chips,i must say that these portions are not for the faint hearted( Lovely BIG Portions) and my pud was my classic Banoffee Pie, which was Gorgeous and tasty and a Lemon and Lime cheese cake.
After we "Ploughed" through that we sat at the bar and had a few drinks with Simon( the owner and chef ) and Toby( head of front-Girls check him out!!haha) Had fantastic banter and left feeling Full and Happy..What a night, make sure you book for weekends as they soon fill up as we were lucky to get a table in this old place that looks and feels like home.Finally many thanks to all there,Simon,Toby and Celia..Cheers guys for a great night and see you soon!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tapas and more!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had lunch here a week ago, It was a really lovely meal. Two of us had Tapas and the third member of our party had the mussels, the tapas was better, fresher, tastier, than any we have had before even in Spain. We also had a very warm welcome from the owner/chef and staff. We also took our friend's dog who was made most welcome. If you get a chance to eat here, do so, it is well worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillylottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“If I could eat here every night I would - just brilliant.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

After braving the hail over at Winchelsea beach today, I headed off in search of food, ale and great company, which is why I went to The Plough, where they delivered all three!

After enjoying a delightful ale and getting to know the very friendly staff there I finally chose, after being spoilt for choice, some Spanish Tapas. My reccomendations are pigeon and chorizo, squid with chilli and garlic, patatas bravas and finally some of their home made soda bread to mop it all up, PERFECT.

Looking forward to going there again, this time with others to share the brilliant experience I had there my self.

Thank you

James Addis

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing