We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good beer - what's not to like?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Reserve with OpenTable
The Plough is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 105 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $62
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Plough is a quintessential English country pub with stunning views from our pond side garden over the Brede Valley with the sea as a backdrop. Situated on the Kent and East Sussex border and less than two miles from the medieval town of Rye, we enjoy a fantastic larder of local produce, from the freshest of fish landed in Rye and Hastings every day, to the wonderful delights from the Romney Marsh such as lamb and beef as well as the best of seasonal vegetables. With all this on our doorstep, we offer a good choice of local beers, ciders, wines and freshly prepared food, from our tapas, to our original choice of freshly prepared dishes and our homemade ice creams.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good beer - what's not to like?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have visited the Plough on a couple of occasions and have nothing but praise for its menu which majors on local produce from both land and sea. The dishes on offer are not the usual fare one might expect in a country pub and the absence of a "chips with everything" culture much to its credit. One can follow a traditional path or try something unusual - from e.g. the tapas selection or even experience a tagine of goat meat. There is ususally an excellent soup - (French onion when we last called) and the beer is kept in top condition. Last but not least, the service is friendly and the decor tastefully "interesting".

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    73
    24
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Super Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Delicious roast beef at the Plough. It is a favourite place, just up the road, where there is always a welcome atmosphere and great food. Top rate country pub.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam-Rye-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“compliments to the chef !!! :>)))”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

hadnt eaten in th plough for a long time..but will definatly do it again very soon...stronly recommmend the duck and the steak .....wat a fantastic meal served by such freindly staff x x thankyou guys..see you soon :>))))

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mingecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The way that Pub Grub should be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Rye is one of our favourite places to visit but like so many popular places it’s hard to find somewhere really good to eat especially if you are keen on having a pint of real ale as well. The plough is located on the main road going into Rye and from the moment you walk through the door the staff are welcoming. It’s rare these days to find a pub that offers well cooked food and a menu with something different on it. This pub scores positively on both counts and its good value for money too. We both had game dinners on our visit, I had Rabbit and my partner had Pheasant, both dishes were well cooked and were hot when they arrived at the table! Just across the road from the pub is a public footpath offering a wonderful walk in some of the best countryside in East Sussex. A good walk followed by a pint and a nice well cooked lunch – what could be better!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Roast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A warm and very friendly pub with a great buzz that just gets everything "spot on". Well kept real ales including Harveys and some superb wines. The roast beef was perfectly cooked and served with all the usual suspects, however, of particular note was the side dish of cheesy leeks and gravy served by the jug and horse radish sauce in a wee bowl.......no fiddly little sachets here!! A pukka Sunday lunch served as if at home. To finish, a whole round of Stilton arrived with a selection of biscuits, heaven! All in all, an outstanding experience to be highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing