We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Reserve with OpenTable
The Plough is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 108 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $63
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Plough is a quintessential English country pub with stunning views from our pond side garden over the Brede Valley with the sea as a backdrop. Situated on the Kent and East Sussex border and less than two miles from the medieval town of Rye, we enjoy a fantastic larder of local produce, from the freshest of fish landed in Rye and Hastings every day, to the wonderful delights from the Romney Marsh such as lamb and beef as well as the best of seasonal vegetables. With all this on our doorstep, we offer a good choice of local beers, ciders, wines and freshly prepared food, from our tapas, to our original choice of freshly prepared dishes and our homemade ice creams.
northiam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Proper Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have often had lunch at the Plough during the week from their inventive and fun lunch and tapas menu - never dissapointing and always delicious, exciting freshly prepared dishes. Recently we went over for Sunday lunch,on booking we were told that the Sunday menu is limited to roasts but that the ingredients were all locally sourced and freshly prepared, so we were persuaded to try it.
We had a lamb/beef/vegatarian and mixed meat roast at our table. The quality of the meat and choice of vegetables were superb, generous portions and great tastes.
I am a great one for doing Sunday lunch at home, but will be giving myself a regular break from cooking in future to go and be spoilt at The Plough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingnorthiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    78
    26
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A favourite of ours”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We are always guaranteed a warm welcome and great food. It's a 10 mile round trip walk across beautiful countryside to reach the Plough but worth the effort. Freshly cooked soda bread and always something different on the menu put this a class above the usual pub grub. Whether it's a snack from the interesting tapas (not Spanish!) menu or a full meal we have yet to be dissapointed. Beer is good as well and on a rainy day it's hard to brave the outside!.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Saturday Night Out”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked this based on recommendations provided by TA. The atmosphere is great and the landlord seemed to know everyone in the pub.There was lots of friendly banter. The food is all local from the farming community.
We had played golf all afternoon and were hungry. We had the tapas which were very good and the local rump steak. For desert, the apple and blackberry crumble was homemade and fresh and served piping hot. The local beers were good and we also found the wine range to be respectable.
The four of us paid £130 including beers, wine and a tip which we thought was first class value.
John H

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Booked the table earlier in the week. Wasn't made aware the kitchen was not at full function.

On the day was only offered lamb or beef (£12.95) no children's menu and veggie option was just roast minus the meat and leek in white sauce put in a Yorkshire, £9.50 for a plate of veg not good. Desserts, home made Icecream really nice, but at £5.45 for two scoops and two wafers! A bit steep. Sticky toffee pudding was cold with a gloopy toffee sauce on the side, don't think it had long enough in the microwave.

Service was distant, unorganised think you could find a better eaterie for the price.

Real shame as good writes and recommendations from friends. Maybe give it another shot. I'm not sure!

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I am sorry to read that you rated your recent experience at the Plough as poor.
We are usually extremely careful to explain to anyone booking lunch on a Sunday that, due to the tiny kitchen at The Plough, that we only offer roasts and puds on a Sunday.
We offer roast leg of lamb, from a neighbouring farm in the village, and roast Sirloin of beef, again from neighbouring farms when we can get it (otherwise it is prime Scottish sirloin)
As you pointed out we don't offer chicken nuggets or spaghetti letters or whatever else you may think should comprise a children's menu. But we do offer both a child portion or an infant portion of the lamb beef and vegetarian roasts.
Our potatoes are sourced from the nearby Romney marsh and are roasted in goose fat with rosemary and garlic and a liberal splurge of olive oil, as are the carrots and parsnips.
The cabbage is usually supplied from neighbouring Peasmarsh, blanched then reheated with a touch of unsalted butter.
The cheesy leaks are also prepared freshly every Sunday morning.
The gravy is made fresh each Sunday from our own stocks and has never seen a "granule"!
Our vegetarian offering of the cheesy leeks in a Yorkshire pudding surrounded by roast garlic and the above vegetables is extremely popular with a large number of returning clients.
As such we feel that £12.95 is a fair price to charge for such excellence.
Our ice creams are made on the premises, and have proved to be enormously popular, selling tens of litres every week, you are the first to bemoan the price of them, but your comments are duly noted.
Finally you found the service you received to be poor as well, naturally this is of concern to us and very much flies in the face of the service witnessed by almost all the other 70 plus diners that have report in this forum.
Many Thanks for your feedback
The Plough Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford-in-the-Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“faultless”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The landlord is firendly, efficient and perfect.
The food is better still and the prices are very reasonable.
I don't really want to go anywhere else.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jms020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing