We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect stay”
Review of Whitehouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whitehouse
Ranked #14 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived feeling somewhat bruised from our stay at a luxury five star hotel the previous night. The White Vine was everything our previous hotel was not. It has style, sophisitication, elegance and warmth. The owner Javed greeted us upon our arrival and made us feel very welcome. The building itself is a fascinating time capsule and Javed's evident passion and enthusiasm drew us along effortlessly. If all hotels were like this staying would be a joy rather than the physical and intellectual assault it has all too often become. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tniridduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 333 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wonderful welcome and great service.

White Vine House is quaint and in the centre of Rye so you can walk to all of the main places to see. Although it has no restaurant of its own, the Ambrette is part of the same building. There are many other restaurants, and pubs serving food, close by, within walking distance. I must not forget the fish and chip shop 200 yards down the road!

We stayed in Room 1 (double bed) which has a wonderful view from the window and a sofa. The building is very old, but well maintained, so don't expect a new modern Hilton / Travel Lodge type of place. That's part of the charm.

There are tea / coffee making facilities in the room together with water and chocolate bars at no extra cost. There is fresh milk available on request.

All rooms are on the first floor or above and there is no lift so you need to be able to climb stairs.

The breakfast was the best I have had in a Hotel / B&B for many years. There is a wide choice and it's freshly cooked.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpsomJaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This had been our second visit to Rye and having had a most magical time there a few months previous decided to return and stay again at the White Vine House Hotel. Rye has become our destination of choice for a weekend away from the big smoke; the pretty cobbled streets, tea shops aplenty, great restaurants and general calming effect after a long hard week. The White Vine House has consistently exceeded our expectations on each a visit.

The White Vine is an impressive building from the outside with its grand entrance and vine covered walls, leading you to have high hopes for what lies within. Once inside you get a sense that you have travelled 100's of years back in time with the glorious panelling and great open fireplaces. The bedrooms have been sympathetically restored with modern touches and each room has its own distinct character and quirkiness. You can sense that a great deal of thought has been put into making each guest's stay comfortable with each room kitted out with toiletries (including sanitary wear for the ladies) and with tea and coffee making facilities (no freeze dried coffee here thank you, it's fresh!).


All of the above made our stay great value for money and would ensure our return however it was the atmosphere of the White Vine which made our time here most memerable; the hotel is very warm, relaxed and friendly with its owner Javed always ready to help and offer a smile to all his guests. The breakfasts were also a close second to the lovely welcome and each morning we would enjoy the locally sourced and freshly cooked delicious breakfast; from a full English to all combinations of eggs benedict and home made pancakes.

My partner and I take great joy in escaping for weekends away and have stayed in many hotels and B&B's across the country, however the White Vine Hotel remains our firm favourite on all fronts. So if you are feeling like you need to escape the grind of the big smoke, jump on a train or in your car and drive for 90mins (from London) to Rye and check yourself into the White Vine. There's no need to worry about finding somewhere to eat on your first night, just head downstairs to Ambrette (the best restaurant in Rye) and enjoy a delicious meal over a lovely glass of wine. A perfect way to start the weekend and explore this hidden gem called Rye. We can't wait to return......

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

... and Javed is simply a great accommodating host.I'd booked a couple of nights stay in room 3 to celebrate our wedding anniversary as a surprise for my husband, staying just after the August bank holiday. This room is very spacious with a lovely chesterfield sofa to snuggle down in with a glass of fizz, plus a very comfy four post bed after enjoying a relaxing bath. Breakfast is plentiful, the pancakes are exceptional. The icing on the cake four us was the meal we enjoyed in the restaurant on our second night, kindly booked in for us by Javed that morning. So all in all I highly recommend this place having stayed in a few B&B's, reading many trip advisor reviews before booking but never submitting any of my own comments until now. Thanks Javed we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen-Andy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We arrived late afternoon to a very warm and friendly welcome by Javed and Judith. From the moment we entered the White Vine the House felt like home. It has a sophisticated charm and is decorated to a high standard but also compliments the historical aspects of the rooms. Rooms are very spacious which adds to the wonderful experience and we really liked the healthy snacks. The hosts could not do enough for us and even took the time to explain some of the history of the building. The breakfast was just fantastic especially the pancakes which were very popular with the kids.
Staying at the White Vine House made our trip to Rye just perfect and we absolutely recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My friends and i decided to go to Rye for a night to sample its many pubs. The White Vine House was the B and B we picked, as one of the reasonably priced places. £150 could seem costly to some for one night, however it for a family size room so it was just £50.00 each and the room could accommodate four people if need be.

The location is on one of the central roads within Rye so everything is within walking distance, there is no set parking by the B and B. However the train station is only a 3 minute walk from the B and B and it costs £5.00 for a 48 hour driving ticket, pretty reasonable.

The B and B itself is mega, absolutely gorgeous building and very tastfully decorated. We stayed in one of the loft famlily rooms which was lush. Beds amazingly comfy, TV, Docking station, complimentary coffee/tea/chocolate etc. The bathroom was brilliant with a large tub and shower and vanity area to do your makeup. The room lived up to our expectations 100 %.

The owner Javed was a brilliant host from the outset and was helpful in every way possible and friendly. The breakfast menu provided is excellant, a really good menu that would cater to everyones tastes, no matter how fussy they are!

This place is ideal for friends on a trip or as a romantic retreat for a getaway, the B and B is better than many hotels i have stayed at. Rye itself is a gorgeous little fishing town and filled with history if that is your kind of thing or plenty of country pubs with good menus if that is more your thing. A weekend in Rye is definately worth a trip and a stay at The White Vine House compliments the visit perfectly.

Many thanks to Javed and his staff

Room Tip: There are two loft family rooms. If you are parents with kids i would ask for the loft room with two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lasagnebance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The White Vine House is a beautiful building , full of history and charm .This place just has a lovely feel to it the minute you walk in and hosts Javed and Judith are extremely warm and welcoming.
Rooms are very spacious and suitably decorated to reflect the beauty of the building ,,,, and as for the huge bathroom..fantastic!
Dinner at the Ambrette was scrumptious,a really delicious meal.... we had a super time in Rye made all the more special for wonderful stay at the White Vine House , we highly recommend a stay here and will definitly be back ...soon!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank DaisyK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
814 reviews
0.0 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#8 of 39 in Rye
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jeake's House
Jeake's House
#3 of 39 in Rye
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehouse

Address: White Vine House 24 High Street, Rye TN31 7JF, England (Formerly White Vine House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range: $102 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Whitehouse 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the ancient Cinque Port town of Rye, the White Vine House's origins go back to the 13th century. We offer four double and two family rooms, each individually styled with meticulous attention to details. Flat panel TVs, Wi-Fi, fluffy towels and organic toiletries are only a few of the careful considerations. Come enjoy the friendly, relaxing atmosphere as can only be found at a family-run establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Vine House Hotel Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing