We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mermaid Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Hope Anchor Hotel(Rye)(Great Value!)
$121
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$231
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Winchelsea(Winchelsea)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Motel & Bar(Rye)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveler rating
641
286
102
41
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
286
102
41
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteeped in historyelizabethan chamberfour poster bedcreaky floorscar parkstep back in timenight portervenisonthis wonderful hotelfire escapeinglenook fireplacehistoric hotelopen firenooks and cranniespublic roomsolde worldelow beams
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
822 - 827 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having spent a lot of my childhood at Rye & Camber, i was excited to come back to the area as an adult with my husband and the first place on the list was lunch at the Mermaid Inn. I love Tudor buildings and this one doesn't disappoint, it still has all the old character and charm and coziness you'd expect and the staff behind the bar were very friendly and helpful. We had a fantastic lunch here and sat outside in the garden area. The inn/pub is situated up a fabulous little cobbled street with equally charming houses and other pubs dotted about, A visit to this pub is a must when in Rye!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PinkEgg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I just loved staying here.
I was at the hotel for a work week so it was paid for by the company.
However, if I am ever in Rye again....this is where I would like to stay.
I loved my very comfy room.
Service at the front desk...very professional and extremely inviting and friendly.
Breakfast.......my eggs Benedict were heaven on a plate.
This little hotel is a gem.Please let it stay that way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Booked a two night stay at this old hotel. We had visited Rye before and noticed how attractive it was. As we had a person with a knee injury, we rang to ask if a parking spot could be saved for us in the car park as we understood places were limited. Arrived to find no one knew anything about it, although a large area of the car park had been sectioned off for a motor bike group!
As this group were booked in for dinner, we were only offered 6.30 or 9 pm so ate elsewhere so cannot comment on the dinner.

We also requested a room with wifi, which we didn't get, apparently the lead in the windows affects the signal. We had to use the public lounge which was annoying last thing at night.

The receptionist was charming, apologetic and very helpful. She called for a porter as there are lots of very narrow and steep steps. We waited in vain, finally carrying our bags up ourselves. The room was very small although there was a large spectacular bed. There was only one small dining type chair and nowhere else to sit down. We had to sit on the bed. Bathroom was ok but could have done with refurbishing, large water stains to wall and ceiling and the window would not open, there was no fan extractor fan either. Shower was plastic and a joke! No water power.


Beautiful beamed dining room and two attractive lounges, plus outside areas to sit in the sunshine over looking the car park.

We had breakfast which was included. It was only 9am but the buffet bat was fairly depleted. We had the full English breakfast which had obviously been kept warm. Twice we requested milk and
Eventually took some off the next table. We asked for toast, none arrived. Asked again and were told it had been ordered but not made. No apologies. Time was passing by now, so we left.

The wait staff were all very young and we all felt no one had bothered to train them. As others have mentioned on this trip advisor site some of the staff were surly and didn't bother with a greeting or an acknowledgement.

Paid £300 and consider poor value for money.

Room Tip: Hotel was busy, so didn't see any other rooms, all seemed small from the plan on the fire doors.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixmum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in mid July. Staying here was one of our favourite experiences in our trip. Live previous reviewers mentioned, the building is full of history and you can feel it in the air! The cracks and noises from old floorboards, the unexpected stairways, the hidden halls and rooms, the uneven floors, and every tiny detail make this place special and worth visitng and staying in. Our room was lovely, and I would suggest buying the b&b and dinner package; both dinner and breakfast were great. The staff was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdperezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went here on Saturday for an impromptu birthday lunch - having always heard about it and its reputation.
The place is stunning inside, with old charm and much history. The service was good and friendly - they warned us there was a big party so our food might be delayed, but this was not the case as the party was quiet, and the food was all good and prompt!
The lamb cutlets were some of the tenderest I have ever had.
We had a seat by the window which was really pleasant on a summer's day.
A real treat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananaramaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews