We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Christmas break”
Review of The Mermaid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mermaid Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I spent a week in the Mermaid over Christmas as a solo traveller. The staff were wonderfully kind and helpful, the wood-beamed room was lovely, as was the hotel, and I had a great time – including the five-course Christmas Day lunch. Wow. The setting is superb, a rambling fifteenth-century building with nooks and crannies throughout, a fabulous bar (with a huge inglenook fireplace) and two very pleasant lounges.

Also thoroughly enjoyed exploring Rye. I’ll be back…

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went to the hotel for a break in a busy Christmas week. Arrived on a stormy night and instantly felt transported back in time. Friendly reception and service throughout our stay. Really lovely food. Every room oozed history and character and there was something to catch the eye in every corner. Loved the associations with smuggling and whispered tales of ghostly going-ons. No spectral visitors for us however. Rye itself was a really pretty spot. Allow a few hours to look around and save a few pennies for the galleries and cafes. If a quick trip back in time and a magical place to stay is what you're after look no further.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Mermaid on 9th December with a couple of friends for a birthday treat. We stayed in Four Poster rooms but were very disappointed with the size of these rooms & although the beds were four poster they were the size of small doubles. Also the televisions in the rooms were the smallest flat screens I have ever seen!. However, the food is absolutely brilliant we couldn't fault dinner & breakfast was equally delicious - the Chef is obviously very talented. We would stay again if only for a great dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We totally enjoyed our second stay after 23 years. This hotel is such a good experience, with so much history and character. The staff were friendly, attentive, when needed, and the food was excellent. If you are looking for a relaxing break with a bit of history and what to avoid a corporate hotel type hotel visit the Mermaid Inn and Rye.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Not bad for a hotel that is hundreds of years old! Creaky uneven floorboards , ghosts but all modern amenities! Very good value and that staff were pleasant. Been promised a trip to the 11th century wine cellar next time

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzywac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We made our third stay at The Mermaid on Thursday 6th December. It didn't disappoint, just as magical and special as ever. We really can't get enough of this place, as soon as we leave we want to go straight back again. When you are inside The Mermaid, the outside world just doesn't exist. We had the cutest quirkiest room, so cosy with a crooked bathroom floor, and plenty of lovely old creeks and groans, looking out straight over Mermaid Street and the gorgeous slated roofs. We spent the afternoon sitting in the bar with the large open fire and the biggest log I have ever seen, so toasty and warm and carols playing in the bar - it really got me in the festive mood whilst sipping their gorgeous champagne, and their excellent sandwiches with yummy parsnip and beetroot crisps. Then in the evening we ate in the excellent restaurant and the food was first class as always, the only disappointment was that we just couldn't manage dessert - so had coffe instead with which you get a treat of some delicious and luxurious sweets and chocs. all served in the snug lounge again by another roaring open fire. We will be back, we can't stay away!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A wonderful old rambling building with charm, history and not bad facilities. The kitchen is clearly able to produce some good quality and quite adventurous food and the staff are generally very friendly and try to help. BUT, service in the restaurant is variable to say the least, waiting long periods for wine refills, items missing, some dishes poorly presented and poorly cooked, at breakfast a new computer order system failed and we were left nearly a hour without our food!
My room in the attic was pleasant though the bed was hard and uncomfortable - a cheap mattress. Worst of all an appalling smell of blocked drains from the bathroom, hopefully a one off problem.
All in all rather disappointing and while a lovely place, there is much better for the price, I will not return.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,381 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid Inn

Address: Mermaid Street, Rye TN31 7EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: $66 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mermaid Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally, dating from 1156, the Mermaid was rebuilt in 1420, much as it still stands today, as the principal Inn of Rye. The Mermaid now caters for those who appreciate tradition and charm, coupled with the modern facilities required by today's guest. So, from a picturesque cobbled street; step back in time to experience the unique atmosphere of one of England's oldest and loveliest Inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Mermaid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mermaid Hotel Rye
Mermaid Hotel Rye
Mermaid Inn Rye
Mermaid Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing