We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique style hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique style hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at The George over the Bank Holiday weekend and had a great time. Our room was decorated in a boutique stylish manner and felt like home away from home. The service by the staff in both the hotel and restaurant was excellent. I'd highly recommend staying here if you're ever visiting Rye! Parking can be a bit difficult but this isn't due to the hotel but probably a general issue in the town when it's busy. We parked our car at the train station which is only a 5/10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoobyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear 'DoobyUK'

We were so pleased to read your review - thank you. We're so glad that you had a great time and experienced great service. Please come and stay with us again!

With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    354
    143
    58
    34
See reviews for
132
929
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

I stayed at the George on a weekend break with my husband in the summer in a luxury room, which was very smart and modern - all mod cons and wireless plus a beautiful bathroom. Several of the rooms are accessed by going out of the hotel and through a courtyard which might not be so good in cold weather but did mean we had a quiet stay out of the main hub of things.

The hotel is in the centre of Rye and so easy to wander around the town, although there isn't much parking - limited on street parking outside or a pay and display a short walk away.

The restaurant food was very good and catered for children too, where necessary.

All in all a lovely break, if a little pricey.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip2013884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear 'trip2013884'

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review. We are so pleased your enjoyed your stay.

With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Rye has to be one of the most picturesque and quaint places I've visited. And yes, I'd like to retire here - not just because of the E F Benson connection. The hotel is in a prime spot on the high street and out suite (large room) was in the eves with views across the rooftops to the fields and hills beyond. A couple of quaint little dorm windows let light and air into the room and I can imagine it would be very cosy in the winter (and we intend to find out). 314 is off one the main staircase and has its own little staircase once inside. I loved it. The bathroom is HUGE with a big shower cabinet and big roll-top bath. Nice REN toiletries and a very comfy bed. There's a turn-down service too so all in all, a nice set up. I loved the room, it's comfortable and quiet (kicking depending on how early you go to bed). Breakfasts were very good - real porridge, well made served with yummy local honey. Perfectly done scrambled eggs and, from I could see, a well presented cooked breakfast. We've had lunch in the courtyard of dover sole and it was good - not brilliant, but good. Supper was, in general, a let down. The scallops, when they arrived, were perfect - caramelised on the outside but under done inside. However, they were served sizzling in oil in the cooking pot and when that cooled down, the cooling oil in the pot was unpleasant. The lobster for the main was simply too fussy and over cooked, sadly. The rice pudding was like soup and when I brought this to their attention, I was told "that's how it's done here". It may be done like that there but that is NOT how baked rice pudding should be! However, there is a raft of interesting place in which to eat in Rye and in general, we loved the hotel and we will definitely be back. Note though that some of the satirises can be narrow and steep - as they would be in a very old building - so check when booking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear 'Jimmy H'
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your room and breakfast. We have passed on your comments regarding supper and we're sorry that this didn't meet your expectations. We hope that you will return to Rye soon and please do come and stay with us again.
With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Charming hotel, came here for my birthday, the staff were excellent. We did have a power cut for an hour but the staff made up for this with complementary belinis, that was ok by me. The room was beautiful and had everything, we had chocolates and champagne on arrival and ate in the restaurant which was lovely. Breakfast was equally excellent and rye is a quiet but enjoyable place for a romantic weekend. Would definitely recommend the George.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peru_Sebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear 'Peru_Sebastian'
We were thrilled to read your lovely review. Thank you for your kind understanding with regard to the power cut. (We would like to assure our guests that this is not a regular occurrence). Please come back and see us again!
With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

After a shambolic stay over Christmas we were invited back to the George for one night stay with our two teenage girls. A very big difference I must say. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. No slippers in the room which was a disapointment but apart from that everything was very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear 'TravellerKent_UK'

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your return visit!

With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

One night stay on business. Very friendly and helpful staff (free 1/2 pint to try a beer didn't go amiss!) Excellent slightly quirky room (loved it) with radiator and windows that open of course, way better than aircon. An absolutely superb dinner in a delightful classic old Kent room. Good breakfast, with more clean crisp fresh air! What more do you need? Rye is great and a lot to do around the area with the unique ecology and landscape of the Dungeness peninsula.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear 'CharlieS'

Thank you for your lovely review - we're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay (and that you appreciated the beer!)

Please come and stay with us again next time you're down this way.

With best wishes
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We always try and choose somewhere with lots of style and character for our anniversary weekends away and The George at Rye certainly lived up to expectations. The old coaching inn oozed personality and charm and the quirky, individual way in which it had been decorated complemented the historic backcloth perfectly. I loved all the thoughtful and often fun design features which made the hotel one of a kind.
Our room was a superior, booked online for a special rate back in January. At first, I was disappointed by its size. It was up in the roof so felt like an attic room but when I found that there were no alternatives available, I acclimatised to the size. I really liked the privacy the location afforded and loved looking out over the roof tops and watching the antics of the seagulls. The room itself was very comfortable, if a little bit warm at times. The roll top bath was an indulgent extra, great with lots of bubbles and a glass of wine! (The bathroom was almost bigger than the bedroom!)
We ate in the restaurant the first night and were delighted with our starter of scallops. Beautifully fresh and a wonderful combination of flavours. The mains were fine but less remarkable. There was an excellent choice of foods for breakfast and we ate very well!
Service throughout our stay was really friendly, especially the ladies on reception who couldn't do enough for us. A big thank you to them.
I agree with previous comments about how busy the hotel can get. There were a few events the weekend we stayed which helped to fill up the hotel. But there are quite a few different rooms in which to relax, including an attractive outside courtyard, so finding a seat isn't a big problem.
Also, as others have stated, it's not a modern hotel with air-conditioning throughout and lifts so don't come expecting these features. Do get help with your luggage; the stairs are steeper than you might think!
And allow plenty of time for unloading and reloading the car. The car parks are plentiful and not expensive but finding a spot outside the hotel at peak times can be tricky.
All in all, a hotel full of charm that we'd be happy to return to.

Room Tip: Take time choosing a room that will suit you. I should imagine some rooms are a lot noisier than oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear 'DeeA'

We're delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to leave your long, lovely review. We've passed your comments on to the team. Please do come back soon!

With kind regards
The George in Rye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Property: The George in Rye
Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing