We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great restaurant”
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A great restaurant”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A great lunch on day out in Rye.... there were so many great dishes on the modern menu it was hard to choose. The bar and restaurant have a great atmosphere, especially when the great fire in the bar is roaring. The dover sole and Half pint of Prawns were great, and my friend had fabulous squid and Salt Marsh Lamb

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonRandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    368
    149
    60
    35
See reviews for
141
969
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

For a change, we decided to stay closer to home rather than do a foreign city break. With fingers crossed on good weather, we set to Rye and stumbled on The George. This was truly a lovely hotel in an idyllic setting. Our room was modern, spacious and tastefully decorated with all the amenities for a comfortable stay. The restaurant at the George is a must. The food and wine were excellent with very good service from staff with a friendly and "can do" attitude.

Room Tip: Stayed in a luxury room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendricks62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a wonderful time during our stay at The George. The location was excellent for exploring the town of Rye and the local sights. The reception staff were warm and welcoming, as were the restaurant staff. The attention to detail was very good and I appreciated having a hot water bottle and ground coffee provided without having to ask. We loved the decor of our room (number 43) and the bathroom was relaxing. The decor of the whole hotel was eclectic and creative without being cluttered or brash.

Overall, we had a lovely time relaxing at this cosy and unique hotel. I'd definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wurzel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed here using a Travelzoo offer, and it was outstanding value for money. The room allocated was luxurious, and had everything we needed including robes, smellies, and a lovely wooden box containing coffee/cafetiere - and biscuits. Every member of staff we encountered were most helpful and very polite. The food in the restaurant was delicious, we both had the local lamb with chocolate tart to follow - and a glass of wine. Breakfast choices were wide, the buffet and fresh juices were a lovely start, and I can really recommend the Eggs Benedict, there were many other choices including everything from smoke salmon, the usual English breakfast - to boiled egg and soldiers! You could park outside temporarily to unload and parking was nearby for £1.50 for all night. Amazing place.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue request Room 30 - it opens out onto the courtyard and there is side access al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The George is situated in the main high street in Rye and like most of the other buildings it very much compliments the lovely style a bygone period. We had an excellent room, for our one night stay, with TV, coffee/tea making facilities, bath/shower and a comfortable bed with access gained via a very quaint & quiet courtyard lined with olive trees. We had an evening meal that was absolutely fantastic coupled by great service that was provided by numerous staff. Breakfast was of the same high quality and same great service. The reception staff were also brilliant and very courteous and helpful. There is no on site car parking so you need to leave your car in the main town car park that is a 4 minute walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagmanHaslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Rye is a beautiful place and the George a really comfortable place to stay. The breakfast in particular was lovely. Accommodation is full of character and each room feels like an independent structure. The George is extremely well placed in Rye central, near historic parts of this ancient place and close to the train station.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinSims-Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Friendly receptionist and easy check in.

Room pleasant ,smaller than expected wonder what non superior ones are like? Pleasant view as requested.

Room should be critically looked over for small things which could easily be put right.
Mark on bed cover ,greeting letter and hot water bottle covered it on arrival.
Very chipped soap dish,should have been thrown out!
Shower glass rubber edging coming away.
Dirty caffetiere and no coffee.
No TV instructions and hard to find switch.

Staff willing to help but should not have to ask.

Linen all clean and nicely set up room.

Terrible service at dinner.
We asked was there a problem and were told they employ students and one had to finish course work!
Our wine arrived after our starter as did the bread although the balsamic dip was on the table when we arrived.


Food was excellent,beautifully cooked fish.
Delicious scallops,particularly the ones in cider.

It was only when we queried the service charge on our bill (twice) that we were given a discount and apology.

Usually in restaurants of this standard we would have expected an apology and offer of a discount. We should not have had to ask!



Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrendaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
972 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Property: The George in Rye
Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing