We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of The George in Rye

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George in Rye
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night staying in a first floor room over the courtyard. Positives: The room was nice, the restaurant and bar great, they made great mohitos! It's right in the centre of Rye which is lovely. Negatives: bathroom fine, although there was a hole in the flooring. The bed was a bit soft for us and the pillows uncomfortable so not a great nights sleep but may be fine for others, and we had very noisy people above us all night, not the hotels fault just think we were unlucky. Apart from a bad nights sleep we had a lovely time. Would we stay here again? Yes we would

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Huckers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have always loved Rye having pretty much grown up going to Camber stands so both Rye and the surrounding areas hold some great memory's! Shame i really can not say the same thing about this hotel ! we where so pleased when we arrived but shortly after with no warning from the hotel it was taken over by a very large and loud wedding party! that completely ruined my night! :-(

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
I thank you very much indeed for your constructive comments. The George in Rye is a quintessential English Hotel and I am sure will remain so for many years to come. Your comment has been most helpful and I am grateful for you pointing them to me and I hope you will be kind enough to let me know when you are next visiting the hotel so that I will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in person and see that you do have a pleasant stay. Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on 02.03.2014 for our anniversary. We got the deal through Groupon and had a wonderful time. The receptionists were really helpful and friendly, our room was number 40 which was a luxury suite and wow was it lovely! The bed was huge and soooo comfortable, and the bath was amazing! We had dinner in the restaurant there, and it was delicious. A little pricey, I thought at first (however the boyfriend said it was his treat) and after tasting how amazing the food was, it was so worth it! We also had a cocktail afterwards which was lovely. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the staff were all very friendly. As much as we would love to come back again, I dont think we would be able to afford it (as I would need to have another luxury room for that bath ;-), however if the deal ever came up again we would buy it straight away. I could not recommend enough and hope to go back some day.

Room Tip: Room 40 is very quiet :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmas0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for three nights to celebrate a birthday and booked a luxury room. When we arrived, we were shown to room 40, which is outside in the courtyard. Initially I was not keen on the location, but the room grew on me and the bathroom to die for. Huge shower and a funky metal bath.

The hotel bar is buzzy in the evenings and one of the best places we found to drink in Rye. We ate in The Grill, which was very good. There was an excellent choice for breakfast and without exception, the staff were friendly and efficient and made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: The outside rooms are quiet and cosy, they provide a brolly for when it rains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennypieceReadingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback!! We are so pleased to hear that you did enjoy attending a wedding at The George in Rye. Our original Georgian Ballroom is unrivalled for its elegance and is truly one of the most romantic wedding venues in Sussex and Kent. Stylishly restored 450-year-old inn with an excellent restaurant in one of England's most picturesque near-the-seaside towns so it’s no wonder that the weddings and private parties are so popular! Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here with friends as a break before the hard work of Christmas! When we arrived there was a bit of a mix up over the booking , not sure what exactly, but I think they needed a travelzoo ref no which took a while to find. One of the reception team then showed us to our room which was
warm clean and very comfortable and nicely furnished. We had a very good meal in the restaurant following drinks in the bar. After a good nights sleep we were all looking forward to our full English breakfast which unfortunately was disappointing. There wasn't a great choice as there has been in many other places we have stayed in. However, having said that we hope to stay again. There was a young girl on reception the morning that we left, I think she was German and hadn't been there long. Unfortunately I can't remember her name, could have been Anna, but she was charming and deserves a mention.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Rye is one of those gems in the English countryside and there is no better place to stay than the George Inn. I purchased a Travel Zoo voucher as a Christmas present for my wife which was for an overnight stay in a superior room, three course meal and full English breakfast for two people. We chose room 16 mainly because it looked so romantic with the four poster bed and double ended bath. From the time we made the booking to checking in, the staff at the George were among the most helpful and accommodating we have ever dealt with. Jenny on reception was helpful,efficient and the most amiable person who is an asset and credit as are the other staff to the business. The food is exceptionally, the rooms unbelievably charming, each having unique character and the hospitality and warmth of everyone there made for the perfect stay. Rye is steeped in history and the 13th. Century Mermaid pub is well worth a visit. For anyone, especially overseas visitors looking to find a historic gem, need look no further than Rye and the George Inn.

Room Tip: Try room 16 for something a little bit special and a four poster bed with a view over the rooftops t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZippyandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We went to The George for a night away after having our first baby 6 months ago. This was our first time leaving him and the treat we hoped it would be. Before arriving we had good communication from them and a warm welcome. Wonderful decor and ambience including our room (6) with it's special wall paper! The food was delicious (scallops are a must) along with the service from all the staff. In particular the reception staff who resolved a query for us quickly and graciously.

Rye is a bit flat but if you just want to escape and not wander too far from the hotel then this is ideal.

Overall a brilliant hotel! Thank you!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Almond301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeinRye, Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Fellow Trip advisor,
Many thanks for taking a moment to review your stay with us and I am delighted that you and your guests thoroughly enjoyed your visit, and it was most gratifying to learn that our staff behaved in their customary manner, displaying both friendliness and courteousness. It has given me great pleasure to pass on your comments to all those concerned. If you have not already done so, please send us your contact details and we will keep you up to date on some special last minute discounted rates that may be available and as a Dragon member you can enjoy a discount of 10% in The George Grill or George Tap Bar and you receive your very own Dragon member card!
Kind Regards, James Blom – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,439 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George in Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: $151 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing