We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rye Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$133
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Winchelsea(Winchelsea)(Great Value!)
$117
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$61
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claverton Country House Hotel(Battle)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveler rating
411
292
109
47
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
292
109
47
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barcar parkpool and saunaattic suitelovely hotelenjoyed our staycourtyard roomstandard roomchampagne roombottle of proseccobooked this hotelgroupon voucherspa facilitiesbreakfast in bedon arrivalpleasant staybreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
672 - 677 of 874 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Simply the finest hotel in Rye. Friendly staff, beautifully appointed rooms and a small indoor pool and sauna ....plus parking!

Rye is the perfect place for a relaxing break. So many interesting shops and galleries to browse in and even more restuarants and cafes to while away the hours and all of this right on the door step of Rye Lodge Hotel.

Room Tip: Their standard room is far more superior than standard - so any room is good!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BNL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were recommended to your hotel and it certainly lived up to expectations. However, just a couple of points we wanted to make you aware of:-
1. It said there would be many 'fragrancies' in the room but found there were no more than the average hotel.
2. The fans in the bathroom were very loud and we could here the next door room's fan every time they put it on.
3. Thought it a bit much to charge extra for breakfast. Whilst this was adequate and enjoyable, my wife was given a very small portion of scrambled eggs.
Otherwise, it was a lovely spacious, comfortable room and fabulous bath. All very clean as it should be.
Parking was good also and plenty of room.

Room Tip: would spend extra ang go for a front room next time (Champagne Room)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer190761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place seems ok from the pics they show, and it is quite pricey.

I phoned to see what was available and was told only the most expensive room was available, that wasn't true as I could see online they had two standard rooms free. We fancied going into the area of Rye as it looked nice so booked up.

Upon arrival we are given our key, directed to the car park and pretty much left alone. No problem there to be fair.

The room. Well to say it is old fashioned is a huge understatement. Proper old school. Big room, with table and chair to sit at. Clean enough. It was a VERY warm room, the windows were open but it made no difference, sweltering. We put on a fan all day and night to try and get some air movement, and that was ok. Comfy bed.

Bathroom. Not that great. A shower you needed to constantly fiddle with to get a constant temperature. Clean enough but when I pay that sort of cash I want it immaculate. A bit grubby and needs a refresh. Sealant around the bath needs redoing and so do some of the tiles. Window doesn't open.

Facilities. To be fair, we didn't order breakfast at £12.50 because I think that is just a ridiculous amount for breakfast. Can't comment on the bar as the only time we wanted it, 9.15 on the Thursday night, no one was about. The swiming pool, a big feature they advertise was not heated, it's indoors and not heated so unusable really.

Overall it's ok. Fairly clean, fairly tidy but expensive for what it is and really old fashioned. Would I go back, no, not really. I like fairly modern attire, and this really isn't.

Oh, and we were in room 6

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank HunterTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

First the good things.the hotel is well located for Rye high street and all the local attractions; it's a very short walk away (about 2 mins), there is also a good free car park at the back of the hotel so parking isn't a problem ( which is not true of the rest of Rye).

On the minus side this is more a large guest house then hotel. Rooms are antiquated and are very noisy; we didn't get a sleep in over the weekend due to the noise from the adjoining bedrooms. The pool is very small you can't really swim more than 2 or 3 strokes in it. There is a minbar but oddly didn't have any fruit juice in it for the mornings. Given we paid over £130 a night the standard needs to improve.

Would only recommend if you need to stay in Rye and say the Mermaid hotel is full ( where we last stayed on a previous visit)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went there twice last year. Very nice hotel - nice sauna, nice swimming pool, nice service, nice breakfast. Close to all restaurants and the village shops. Very convinient location for kitesurfers :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaLoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews