We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have had better rooms for less money.”
Review of Rye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We have had better rooms for less money.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a lovely room here. Unfortunately the fridge was broken and I had to keep my insulin at reception. They tried to be helpful but couldn't fix or replace the fridge. The room was good and the pool was fun but I felt it was overpriced. Breakfast was lovely but the one waitress on duty had trouble keeping up with everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    249
    92
    35
    10
See reviews for
72
546
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having booked this hotel through a Buy a Gift voucher we received from our daughter for Christmas we were looking forward to a night away to get away from it all. As other reviewers have said The Rye Lodge Hotel is spotlessly clean and although not to everyones taste we loved the elegance of the Superior Room and found the 1970s electric fire in the room a perfect touch. Actually, I'm not kidding - it was very sweet. Staff are warm and friendly. My only warning would be that if you want to eat in Rye at a reasonable time in the evening DO NOT leave it till the day to book. We couldn't get into any of the places we wanted to or were recommended although did manage to get a table at The George but it was 6.30pm which is too early for us to eat. We didn't use the pool although did check it out. The steam pod wasn't working and the sauna was cold but that could probably have a switch somewhere we didn't find. Parking behind the hotel was a big plus.

Room Tip: The more you pay, the better the room. Walls are thin and we heard every movement of the person in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassySez063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Although our room was small, it was perfectly adequate and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were only there for one night but will definitely stay longer next time. We can't speak highly enough of the staff, all so friendly. We certainly won't leave it too long until we go back (car parking available too which was a bonus).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for one night last weekend ( Sat.9th Feb ) what a delightful hotel. The room we stayed in was the least expensive Supreme Deluxe.Sauternes.The room is classically decorated and this matched perfectly the paintings on the wall. These were pics by an artist called C.Keiffer who is well known for her depictions of the 'belle epoch' era in Paris. There were small signs that the room has been decorated like this for a while but it would be a shame to change it. Perhaps a bit of a touch up would'nt come amiss. To say the hotel is stuck in the 70's means that someone doesn't 'get' this hotel. A huge comfortable bed,and the en suite was fantastic! There was also a large TV in the room,probably the largest one I have ever had in a hotel room.
The staff were very ,very helpful and pleasant at all times. Nothing seamt to much trouble for them.Room service was fairly quick and any small problems we had were swiftly dealt with.
We made use of the indoor pool and sauna which was lovely.The Jaccuzzi pool was not very warm but it still shook your jiblets about.
The hotel was pristinely clean and tidy throughout.The breakfast was excellent too.
What more could you ask for. We had a lovely stay here. we would definitely book again.great value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a supreme deluxe if you want a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

To tell you the truth I think we were the wrong age group that the hotel caters for, the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you, but it does seem like it is stuck in the 1970s. The room was very dated, it was clean and comfortable, very warm, but just needed to be refreshed. The walls were paperthin, so be prepared to hear your neighbours! We didn't get the slippers but the robes were very cosy. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were very cold, but the sauna was fine.

We had the champagne afternoon tea which was very generous, but chose eat outside of the hotel for breakfast (at Edith's cafe which was fabulous) - surprised for that price that breakast wasn't included. I think it was very overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feijoa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We popped in for a cream tea today as I treated my Mother to it. It was very special and the receptionist (Danielle) was very welcoming on arrival, and showed us to our very traditional English ready laid out table. The room was quaintly furnished and had a cottage regal feel to it, over looking the fields and river on a beautiful sunny February afternoon.

The cream tea was delicious consisting of warm homemade scones, clotted cream and choices of jams, also homemade scrumptious fruitcake, some biscuits and accompanied by either a pot of tea or coffee. All served by a friendly gentleman called Tony, who made us feel relaxed and was very attentive. It was a lovely experience and one we shall treasure.

There is a car park to the rear of the Lodge which was also useful for our visit. And we had a short walk round Rye to make the most of the local scenery.

So although we didn't stay/or see the accommodation, we would certainly recommend it for a cream tea visit :) Thanks Danielle and Tony

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely weekend with friends, really comfortable rooms, great breakfast, already booked for our anniversary in June, staff very friendly and helpful, can't wait for our next stay. Our room was very spacious plenty of windows to make it nice and airy, nice size TV instead if the little 16" ones, complete with DVD, nice size bathroom with bath and shower, plenty of complimentary toiletries, in case u forget anything, nice soft towels, also white fluffy robes an slippers, we did a half board basis, had nice choice of restaurants to go to. PERFECT

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Lodge Hotel

Property: Rye Lodge Hotel
Address: Hilders Cliff, Rye TN31 7LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rye Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rye Lodge Hotel is an award winning 20 bedroom hotel situated within the heart of the ancient town of Rye. Rye Lodge is the only hotel in Rye with Spa facilities and free off street parking for all its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rye Hotel Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing