We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Rye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely weekend with friends, really comfortable rooms, great breakfast, already booked for our anniversary in June, staff very friendly and helpful, can't wait for our next stay. Our room was very spacious plenty of windows to make it nice and airy, nice size TV instead if the little 16" ones, complete with DVD, nice size bathroom with bath and shower, plenty of complimentary toiletries, in case u forget anything, nice soft towels, also white fluffy robes an slippers, we did a half board basis, had nice choice of restaurants to go to. PERFECT

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 841 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel although dated is a classic English hotel, the staff are friendly and knowledgeable and happy to chat to you in the bar after a night out.

The full English breakfast was cooked to perfection, can also be served in your room if you so desire.

If you fancy a week-end in Rye, then you can't go far wrong here, they even have a swimming pool and if you pick the right room, lovely views across the countryside.

Room Tip: Ask when you book if you want a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidSewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I are home after spending our Christmas here in Rye at this charming, hotel. This place was just as we would expect a small hotel in a small English town to be. Tea each afternoon, the sound of seagulls through the french doors in the morning and a staff that will tell you about the many ghosts which inhabit the hotels in the town. Everyone who works here was friendly, helpful, took good care of us and fun. A perfect place with a fine hotel. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUNTIEMAUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here at the end of December and it was an experience I would not care to repeat. The hotel appears to be stuck in a time warp and probably has not changed since the 80s or earlier, whilst the rest of the hotel industry in the UK seems to have moved on and actually provides what the customer wants (rather than a version of what the management seem to think their customers want).

The room we were given was very cramped ( not a top of the range room, but one that we paid extra for to have a larger bathroom and a bath as well as a shower). The reason it was so cramped was without doubt as a result of the amount of furniture in it and its poor layout. One wall was entirely covered with a mirror which could, if you wished, be shrouded by a curtain, and a mirror appeared again as part of a window, again covered by a curtain. Odd, to say the least. The wardrobe was a narrow closet, with little space to hang clothes, and the bed was uncomfortably soft and saggy and curtains again appeared on the wall behind the bed, though why you would want to draw curtains over the wall behind the bed remained a mystery. The bed had no duvet, just a single cellular blanket and a rather threadbare bedspread. There was a small cabinet on the wall, in which we found a toaster ( why??); there was an iron in the wardrobe, but we couldn't find an ironing board anywhere.

There was a dressing table, of sorts, with (another) mirror and a small pink stool, which had extremely wobbly legs and so it was impossible to sit on this for any period of time. Two chairs were placed at the end of this vanity unit, set hard up against the wall. A small TV had been set high up on the wall, and was perched wonkily at a strange angle.

The room and bathroom were festooned with notices for the guest : some advising about how to use the slip mat in the shower, what to throw or not to throw down the toilet, how much water to use as "the South East is a Very Dry Part of the Country' (this, laughably, in the wettest year we have experienced in living memory!) and, perhaps the most redundant one; a notice above two umbrellas found in the wardrobe, which advised, just in case we didn't know, that they were provided 'in case of rain'.

We had to complain about the fact that the radiators in our room did not seem to be giving out any real heat and that there was no heat at all in the bathroom as a result of the heated towel rail not seeming to be switched on. A member of the hotel's staff came to investigate this on our request and assured us of two things - firstly that 'people are always messing with the settings on the radiators', and that 'she' (whoever 'she' was) had just turned up the heating and so the radiators should start working properly from this point. Neither of which seemed to be examples of good customer care, and neither of which proved to be borne out by any improvements in the heating over the next few hours. The cold state of the bathroom seemed not improved by the fact that the window was so poorly fitted that the wind was rattling through it and causing a great draft. The shower curtain rail was rusting and the shower curtain had seen better days and was one of those that seems to cling to you as soon as you start to shower. Bathrobes were provided; but no slippers.

There was a bar of sorts in the communal areas but we didn't use it so i can't comment in any detail. But it was very small and the room was poorly designed with a very bright central light and no really inviting atmosphere. It seemed a bit like someone's sitting room with a bar in it; very 70's in feel.

Breakfast was as chaotic an affair as others have posted here. I was offered the same (wrong) version of the cooked breakfast I had ordered three times, and refused it three times....

When we checked out, I was not asked if my stay had been an enjoyable one. And so in all, not a very good experience and one that I would not want to repeat. We paid £130 a night for this room and it was staggeringly poor value for money. My advice to anyone considering booking this hotel is 'don't do it'. In a town as tourist - focussed as Rye, there must be places that offer better value for money and a more up to date experience.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the car park at the back of the hotel are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gullgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed last minute at the Rye Lodge, what a wonderful place, it felt so lovely to escape the city and reside at something quite unique and different in this little town. Friendly warm staff, a warm ambiance, I felt at home, quite a regal feel to the place.....I felt far away from the smokey city of London to this friendly place.....we stayed in room 7 which had a large double room and even larger bathroom......wonderful escape....

Room Tip: Room 7 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa1979_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were a party of three couples just back from a relaxing break in Rye.

Two of our rooms were unheated on our arrival but soon warmed up when the radiators were switched on.The rooms we spotless apart from a few cobwebs in our room which we mentioned to
reception on our way out for our evening meal.The bed and bedding was comfortable and fresh looking.The bathrooms were small but clean and did the job although our towel rail did not heat up and leaked into the bath.There was obviously a problem with the plumbing as some of us had brown water coming out of the cold tap.

Having said all of that the staff were unfailingly polite and apologetic and it didn't spoil our weekend, the freshly cooked breakfast was ample and much enjoyed as a treat.


The rooms we had directly adjacent to the swimming pool were very convenient and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We are regular visitors to Rye but this is the first time we have stayed at Rye Lodge.We arrived at noon which was proberley not a good time to arrive as there were alot of people waiting to check out. The receptionist was a little abrupt but did apoligise after,our rooms were ready and we were taken to them straight away.It was a cold day when we got there and we were surprised the rooms were so cold the porter put the radiators on but it would have been nice to arrive to a warm room.Our room was large and clean,it was at the back of the hotel making it lovely and quiet and everything we needed was at hand,the beds are very comfortable and clean but there was a downside as the bathroom was unheated so no hanging around.The spa was small with the pool being quite cool and the jacuzzi quite cold the steam capsule wasn't working but the sauna was lovely.We didn`t eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food.If you`re looking to step back in time this is for you.

Room Tip: views at the front but so is main road,very quiet at the back even though it backs onto the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Lodge Hotel

Address: Hilders Cliff, Rye TN31 7LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: $114 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rye Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rye Lodge Hotel is an award winning 20 bedroom hotel situated within the heart of the ancient town of Rye. Rye Lodge is the only hotel in Rye with Spa facilities and free off street parking for all its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rye Hotel Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing