We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful throughout”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
derby uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful throughout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days back inAugust. All I can say is that it was delightful. Staff went the extra mile to accoodate our every whim, well above a 3*. I should add I've managed 5* and the attitude of the staff here excells. We took this 5 day break simply to just de-stress... and de-stress we did. Being right in the centre of things it was perfect, very near some extreamly superb restaurants. If you're looking for the best in the area, you've arrived.. enough said !!!!!!! Book now...............

Room Tip: Top floor at the front .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erlikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    243
    91
    35
    10
See reviews for
72
538
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Rye Lodge for two nights to give us a base from which to explore Rye (and "Tilling"). We booked a "Superior" double room, which was clean, spacious, very well equipped , and extremely comfortable. The staff were very friendly and competent, and eager to make sure that we were enjoying ourselves. Free parking was a big plus, although sometimes spaces were difficult to come by. We would want to stay in the Rye Lodge the next time we visit Rye..

Room Tip: The hotel offers three grades of room. The Superior double was very spacious and had all the facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Rye lodge for three nights arriving Monday and Leaving Thursday. We had a standard room that was a little small but was impressed with the flowers, complementary fruit and throughout our stay the room was kept immaculately clean. The staff were very friendly and had a good knowledge of the surrounding area and places to visit. We had a great time and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillyB1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Rye Lodge for a night on a weekend trip to Rye. Hotel is very much what you would expect from a 3 star... certainly not luxurious or trendy, however, the room was quite big and the parking was free.

Completely acceptable for a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We've just come back from a one night stay at Rye Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel has a car park andwe're more than happy to let us leave our car there after we had checked out so we could spend more time in Rye. They also let us check in early!
Whilst the pool is small it was very pleasant as was the sauna and jacuzzi.

Breakfast was lovely as was our room and it's facilities.

We'd love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmaz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowmarket
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here at the end of June.
We stayed in the champagne room which was well furnished and spotless.
The staff were all excellent, nothing too much trouble.
The breakfasts were hot, well cooked and plentiful.
We parked the car and enjoyed looking round the sites in the town.
We picked the dining option and enjoyed a lovely meal at the Mermaid Inn one night and Webb's on another.
We would highly recommend both these.
We also had dinner at the George which was rather disappointing.
Can't wait to stay at Rye Lodge again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcolmstowmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a delightful small hotel, the personal touches made us feel we were genuinely welcome guests. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We had unexpectedly booked for the time when the Olympic torch was passing the hotel and we thought the restrictions on traffic might make life difficult but in fact we had an excellent late breakfast finishing just in time to watch the torch pass and all the children from local villages pass the front door in a very jolly parade, It made our day.

Our double room at the back was a standard room "Meursault", very clean and comfortably furnished, nice touches were the fruit, flowers and both still and sparkling water. The bed was comfortable. The view from the back was of an old monastary chapel which fascinated me I discovered it was built in 1379 originally, there was also a view across the countryside if you looked sideways. There was only one little drawback which, some people might find difficult, was the very tiny shower room with a very small washbasin and a toilet but on the good side the toiletries were generous and it was adequate for a short stay of the two nights we were there.

When we originally booked we asked for Bed, Breakfast & Evening meal. The Restaurant in the hotel is quite small so they have an arrangement with three local restaurants for guests to take their meal and it is charged to their room. We chose The George on the first night and Webbes Fish Restaurant on the second night. I chose lamb at The George which was served almost completely raw. I like it a little pink but I did not enjoy it uncooked so I think it would be better if they asked their clients first how they like it served. I enjoyed Webbes as it was much more to my taste. The Black Bass was delicious served with mediteranean vegetables and I liked the atmosphere too.

All in all my partner and I felt that it was a thoroughly enjoyable two days and we will certainly go back. The little shops are a joy to browse. You do need to be aware there are steep streets and some are cobbled (so not good for high heels). The buildings make you feel you have stepped back in time. It is a good place for people who enjoy history.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bebe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Lodge Hotel

Property: Rye Lodge Hotel
Address: Hilders Cliff, Rye TN31 7LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rye Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rye Lodge Hotel is an award winning 20 bedroom hotel situated within the heart of the ancient town of Rye. Rye Lodge is the only hotel in Rye with Spa facilities and free off street parking for all its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rye Hotel Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing