We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cakes after walking”
Review of Avocet Tea Room

Avocet Tea Room
Ranked #4 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are an art gallery and tea room specialising in local artists and local food. We are on the edge of the Rye Harbour nature reserve, which is a fantastic spot for walking and birding, with a long shingle beach and masses of pools and hides.We have an excellent range of original prints, photographs, textiles,ceramics and 3D pieces often on wildlife/landscape themes, along with a great range of local foods.We make all our own cakes and scones and are proud to serve award-winning Sussex cheeses, locally-sourced smoked mackerel and wonderful fruit juice from orchards nearby. In summer we also have fresh dressed crab and hand-raised pork pies, which we make ourselves on the premises, using pork from local farms.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cakes after walking”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A lovely tea room for your after walk in the Nature Reserve. Lovely art work to look at while you are there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank horizonwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    17
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hot choc!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my mum on a late Friday afternoon and had such a lovely time we wished we'd come for lunch. Will definitely be coming back!

Helpful?
Thank melf73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were visiting Rye during our stay in Biddenden, and after a bracing walk around the nature reserve, we came across the tea room. We enjoyed coffee and a scone each, this was quite delicious. Had a lovely chat with one of the owners, she explained about the Avocet bird which was quite interesting. Would loved to have purchased a piece of pottery or artwork to take back to Australia, but settled for some lovely greeting cards. Thank you for the informative visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful homemade cakes”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Visited this summer after recommendations on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. Cakes were freshly homemade and delicious. Staff friendly and reasonably priced. Cant wait to return next summer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelly2005x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“tea at the avocet”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was staying at the Park Holiday caravan park quite close to this gallery/tea room. I popped in every day for a pot of tea and the odd gluten free cake, an unusual bonus. The owners were very helpful and informative about the local area and the birdwatching , and the cards and paintings were beautiful. The highlight was watching the birds using the feeders in the small but well designed garden through the large windows.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mishkin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avocet Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Avocet Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing