We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it”
Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kings Head
Ranked #8 of 40 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast is in a great location if you are in that part of the UK. Unfortunately that is where the quality stops. Sent email confirming booking a month prior and no email response. Had to call multiple times to get a person on the phone. The room is poorly cleaned. No towels were in the room and pulled out of a next door laundry room that is was in disrepair. The bathroom had no soaps of any sort. The check in and check out process was "okay" but felt as if one was lucky the reservation made it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sanguinerogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    50
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
63
182
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

As it says on the tin this is on the top of the hill just outside Rye and on f irst appearance the pub looked a bit dowdy and wasn't open when we arrived in the afternoon, but when we returned after a walk around the marshes was very welcoming and cosy. We were in the 'chalets' across the free car park from the pub and had all the appearance of an American motel. Clean, spacious with en suite and table and chairs outside to relax with a cup of tea in the morning. Very good value all round with a decent breakfast. The Dutch couple next to us had just spent the week in the Isle of WIght and declared that this was the best B&B they had stayed in their whole trip. It does need updating etc. but for the money a good deal. Rye is expensive so this is worth thinking about. Didn't eat supper.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Kent,
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed for one night, don't want to slag this off too much as the owners were very polite and you can actually see they are struggling to make a living, I felt a little sorry for them, but I know I have to think of future guests, so here goes!
Thread bare carpets and shabby bed linen, the bed was made to a fashion! The duvet cover was on but hanging out the bottom as it wasn't fastened. There was only one pillow, but my partner found the others wedged down the back of the bed!! The bed had definitely been slept in and it wasn't by goldilocks!
The room was very dated and dusty plastic flowers everywhere!! The place was warm though, and the bathroom towels were just sort of thrown on the bath and they were rock hard and small. The shower was held up with cable ties, and there was half used bubble bath bottle left on the sink.
The lampshades were for table lamps and fitted on the ceiling, one was fitted so close to the wardrobe that it swang when you opened the door, causing a load of dust to fall down.
I feel bad about saying all this, because they were nice people, the breakfast was a small run of the mill fry up, one piece of bacon, one sausage, an egg (no choice of how it was cooked) fried slice and a tomato. Mixed brown and white toast and all served on some very dated plates, but the pub was warm and really nice actually to see all this dated stuff scattered about, nostalgic!!
Plenty of private parking right outside your door, motel type buildings.
PS the bed was very uncomfortable and the springy!

Room Tip: Take your cleaning agents and your own bedding!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mtwapamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Very disappointing. The room was dirty and unkempt, bedding had cigarette burn, carpet filthy, towels - although plenty supplied - were threadbare. Not a place you would recommend to anyone. Only mitigating area was the food which was typical pub fare but plentiful and hot. Chalet reminded us of poor holiday camp accommodation from the 1970's - just not good enough. Badly needs up-dating and a thorough clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We came to Rye for a wedding and our stay at Top o' the Hill was very pleasant. The rooms are good value for money and the staff is friendly and flexible. On Sunday morning we were late for breakfast. However, this did not stop our hosts from serving us toast and excellent coffee within minutes. If you come to Rye, this cosy family-run business is the place to stay and only a ten minute walk from the town centre. We are looking forward to come back later on this year. Best, Michiel & Kayn, Watford

Room Tip: Room number 1 was decently sized, quiet and had free, private parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichielWillems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I read mixed reviews about this place so was a little apprehensive having booked it. I'm glad I did in the end. For the one night we stayed there it was adequate. The room was large, the bedding clean and beds comfortable. Plenty of parking and nice fresh breakfast (although I wasn't impressed with instant coffee). The buildings with the rooms is a little tired - cracks, really tall toilet (feet dangling down tall!), sagging ceiling, old cupboards. The place could use a little updating but the friendly staff and cleanliness more than made up for the downfalls.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curvature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandijk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Bathroom was dirty, room was ok, carpet old, entrance had better times. Plenty of parking. To expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlies99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
973 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The George in Rye
0.8 mi away
River Haven Hotel
0.8 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 40 in Rye
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Property: The Kings Head
Address: Rye Hill, Rye TN31 7NH, England (Formerly Top O' The Hill)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head Inn has undergone extensive refurbishment ready for re opening early 2014. We have 5 luxurious modern individually designed en suite cottages each with private entrance, tea & coffee making facilities, TV, and free Wifi, plus 5 beautiful en suite rooms with the same level of quality as the cottages but with the added bonus of staying in the 300 year old Coaching Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top o` The Hill Hotel Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing