We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Rye”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aviemore Guest House
Ranked #6 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Rye”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here with our 8 month son and it was brilliant. Delicious breakfast, super comfortable bed and Chris and Angela couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. They recommended great pubs and events. Rye is a beautiful village and we would definitely recommend visiting and staying in this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    28
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
114
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Braintree
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last Saturday and Sunday nights for a bank holiday trip to Rye. This guest house is perfect for visiting Rye. Chris is a lovely man who made our stay very comfortable. The room was spotless, with a small but adequate en-suite. Breakfast was beautifully cooked with local produce. My husband was provided with lashings of hot milk for his 4 weetabix breakfast, which has never been available anywhere else. Chris is friendly, knowledgable and interested in his guests. We would have no hesitation in recommending this guest house.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the last bank holiday weekend. It is a small old fashioned guest house. We had good breakfast and Chris the owner was the nicest person you could meet and would cater for all your needs. Very enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had room facing lovely fields opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our fifth anniversary - It was brilliant, a real home from home!

Chris was friendly and knowledgable, recommending places to eat and drink. He even gave us a complimentary drink from the bar.

The B+B was extremely clean, the breakfast room was arranged with four tables so you were asked what time you liked breakfast to avoid double-booking any table.

Our room over-looked the garden and when we return in the summer we'll definitely be sitting out there enjoying a drink. The room was neat and tidy but ever-so-slightly over-crowded but there's nothing that could be removed. The room has been adapted to include the bathroom and shower-cubicle. there was tea & coffee and a large bottle of water which we felt added a sophisticated touch. The B+B isn't trying to be flash, just trying to include some of the things a higher rated hotel would. I agree with one of the other reviews, independent B+B's are generally a more pleasurable experience and Chris is certainly a wonderful host.

The following points are not a criticism but to inform:
We found the pressure of the shower to be very low and it took a long time to wash my hair (which is waist-length) so allow plenty of time to perform your ablutions.
The shelf above the toilet isn't the best place to put glasses which you would use to drink out of or use to brush your teeth. There was lovely, fluffy towels and the bed was one of the best I've ever slept on.
Chris even went to the trouble of asking if we were okay with feather pillows and then happily changed them when I said I have asthma and feathers aggravate it.

All in all this was a brilliant stay in a lovely B+B with a man who is genuinely happy in his job and it shows, nothing was too much.

The breakfast is all local, my husband informs me that the bacon from Lydd butchers is divine so we stopped off at the village shop to stock up and bought some chicken too.
The vegetarian breakfast is cooked entirely separate from the meat and is wonderfully hearty. I thoroughly enjoyed the Romney Marsh mushrooms.
We'll definitely be back to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalieBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I booked out 7 of the 8 rooms at Aviemore for one night whilst my brand was having a photo shoot in Camber.
Chris, the man who owns and runs the Guest House was so helpful and over accommodating bearing in mind how many of us there were. It was a very busy 24 hours for us and we were all very pleased with our stay. Our breakfast was delicious - fresh produce from the local market all cooked to perfection. Chris also gave us great tips on where to go out and eat/drink around the local area.

The rooms were clean and cosy - everyone had a great night's sleep.
The Guest House itself was very homely - we were given our own keys into the Guest House so we could come and go as we please.
What made the stay overall was the hospitality - excellent.

I would recommend Aviemore to anyone heading down to Rye.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saphs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a clean, cosy guest house, owner was friendly upon arrival. The rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and tv. The en-suite bathroom is compact. Please note this character property is on a fairly busy road with not much of a pavement, so take care. However, the location is nice & central. The cooked breakfast was good plus cereal if you wanted it, tea and coffee. Extra tea, coffee or toast was offered. Yes, we would stay again!

Room Tip: Request the rear twin room overlooking the garden to avoid sound of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearlyspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed at the Aviemore for one night with a friend following and impromptu road trip through 1066 county. The proprietor Chris was very friendly and knowledgable or the local area. The hotel was clean, the breakfast was delicious, ample and of a very high quality. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend. I have formed the view recently that in the UK, and when they are done well - a local B&B is by far the better option than a sterile hotel - usually overpriced as you are only in the room to sleep! Rye itself was a great weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte_UK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.2 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 39 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hayden's
Hayden's
#5 of 39 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviemore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviemore Guest House

Property: Aviemore Guest House
Address: 28-30 Fishmarket Road, Rye TN31 7LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian Guest House, one of the longest running Bed & Breakfasts in Rye. Only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Comfortable, individually styled en-suites. Locally sourced breakfast produce with tasty home baked bread. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing