We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simply Italian

Simply Italian
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The simply Italian family is set in a Lovely 17th century mill! We have 2 floors in the main restaurant and yes it looks Italian as well! We alo have a great garden if you enjoy alfresco eating! Serving pizza and pasta and lots of specials! Very children friendly we love families we do so ome and be part of our family too! Let Maurice and all the family take care of and feed you while enjoying our lovely town of rye! Ciaoooooooo see you soon
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our 3rd time here, and great as always. Staff very polite and know the menus well. Food delicious, and the atmosphere very boyant. We went to celebrate our anniversary with friends so we were in a group - I have to say I don't think Id go as a couple as there are a lot of groups as its a large restaurant, but we had a great time and will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lianneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simplymarc, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Wow thanks for your lovely review thanks so much it means the world to us and that you choose us for your celebration! Very proud! We do have quieter tables so just make sure you speak up if you do want a more relaxed dining experience! We do cater for everyone it's the Italian way afterall! Thanks again and take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    299
    68
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Yet again, a delicious meal chosen from a hugely varied menu. Attentive staff, pleasant surroundings, we could not ask for more...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simplymarc, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for your lovely 5 star review means the world to us! And we couldn't ask for nicer guests! We are so lucky to have so many regular guests! That is the reason we are here! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Warm, friendly greeting as we entered the restaurant. The décor is a little rough round the edges and it's not clear if that is all deliberate but the atmosphere is good and the restaurant was bustling. The food was excellent - breads with oil/balsamic and garlic bread were really good. Tasty home-cooked cannelloni was delicious and a wide range of classic dishes mean you could be spoilt for choice.
Really enjoyed the meal and the service was friendly but not overbearing. Really enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbtraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simplymarc, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Grazie tanto for your lovely review! Yes the decor is very deliberate and that's exactly what we hoped guest would feel! Takes a lot of effort to make it look old and each of the bricks are made by hand by Sergio our artist! So you not being sure means we got it right! Glad you enjoyed the food means som much to us when you enjoy your visit with us! That why we are there really! So you can have a good time! Ciao and take care and see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not a great choice for a romantic meal....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a friday evening in August. It was our very first visit to Rye so we had no idea where to eat....all we knew is that we fancied Italian food. The restaurant was buzzing and busy even at the early time we were there, which was approximately 6pm. We were taken to a table on the first floor, near to a scooter. We quickly realised that it was actually a bad spot because we had a constant stream of children bumping and banging into us as they charged towards the scooter. And the noise from them meant that conversation was difficult. We have adult children of our own, but these days we prefer not to share restaurant space with young children. Perhaps it's because we were eating at an early time that there were so many families in there; if you prefer a quieter, more romantic ambiance then I would definitely recommend eating later.

However the food was absolutely outstanding. My husband had a spicy pizza which he loved while I had a seafood risotto, which was amazing. The wine was delicious and we both enjoyed our desserts. The service was excellent....the staff were efficient, friendly and attentive.

This is a really nice restaurant and it is obviously very family-friendly; if you have young children, it's ideal. However as a couple wanting a quiet meal, it may not be the best choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fernygurny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simplymarc, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review! We are very family orientated and we do cater for families and with the children running around its the Italian way and its the type of place I grew upon in italy so we have tried to recreate that! We do have more intimate tables but unfortunately you where sat right by vito the Vespa very popular with our smaller guests! So glad you enjoyed the food though! August is when the kids are off and a Friday evening is peak family time! So sorry maybe next time I suggest asking to be moved for a bit of more romance! Take care and ciaoooo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Proper Italian!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We came here whilst staying in nearby Beckley. It was a Friday night, so we booked - the place is obviously popular with groups and with families and was very busy.

However the food and service were good and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It was proper Italian - a very pleasant change from the usual pizza and pasta chain restaurants without being overpriced. We would definitely come here again if we return to Rye.

Only downside is I wouldn't recommend it for a quiet romantic dinner, as it is just too lively! It's also a bit chilly if you sit near the door.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBlackWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simplymarc, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review means the world to us! Yes it can be busy and bustling! We do have a few quieter tables and please ask! Take care marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Italian also viewed

 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Simply Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing