We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Rye!”
Review of Hoof

Hoof
Ranked #15 of 114 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a burger restaurant in Rye serving beef and potatoes from our own farm, just four miles away. We also serve awesome Aussie import the FreakShake. These babies have to be seen (and sampled) to be believed! No bookings.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a burger restaurant in Rye serving beef and potatoes from our own farm, just four miles away. We also serve awesome Aussie import the FreakShake. These babies have to be seen (and sampled) to be believed! No bookings.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

Great food and atmosphere. Service is really good, can be hard to find a server when you want to ask for the bill. Definately recommend the banana split!

Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOOF R, Manager at Hoof, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Many thanks for your feedback. Do come back and see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 359 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2017

We just happened to walk by Hoof on a day trip to Rye on Saturday 5hth August. What a find! Everyone in the restaurant looked happy so we ventured in. The manager, Marta, provided us with some of the best service we have ever had. She made us all feel like valued customers and was especially accommodating to our youngest child, a 12 year old boy, who was wasn't sure what he wanted. Marta talked through the menu with him and adapted the food and drinks to his exact requirements!!! The food was lovely and all the servers were helpful. It's not an expensive restaurant but it feels like it as you are treated like VIPs. We would definitely return again and recommend this restaurant to singles, couples and families - everyone seemed very pleased.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank astute2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOOF R, Manager at Hoof, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Many thanks for your feedback. Do come back and see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

We ordered two standard burgers - one came with sweet potato fries and the other with standard fries.

We were both disappointed with the burger, it was overcooked and lacked any real flavour. I have tasted better burgers elsewhere that are cheaper than what the Hoof charge. The sweet potato fries were tasty and the staff were really friendly. Service overall was good but I'm afraid the burgers just weren't that great.

If I'm in Rye again, I won't be revisiting :(

Thank 4Eva2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

... and good and very friendly service, truly enjoyed our dinner. Burgers were good, so was the desert. Thank you!

Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOOF R, Manager at Hoof, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Many thanks for your feedback. Do come back and see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

Love this place! So cosy and the atmosphere is tops. I had the lamb burger and it was delicious. The freakshakes were also great. The children's menu is fantastic and the staff so friendly and helpful. Highly recommend

Thank nadean r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOOF R, Manager at Hoof, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Many thanks for your feedback. Do come back and see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoof also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to Hoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing