We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, fantastic service”
Review of Hayden's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hayden's
Ranked #3 of 40 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, fantastic service”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here back in November and I've been meaning to write a review for the past couple of months; I didn't want to forget to write one because Hayden's really was that exceptional and it deserves all the praise that it has received from the other reviewers.

We found the service and accommodation to be excellent. We stayed in the Silver room which was gorgeous. Our room was actually in the building next door to the coffee shop and was also one of the rooms at the back of the building so it was very quiet. Complimentary breakfast was excellent. Staff were fantastic.

Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferJane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
241
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hants
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We wanted to get away over New Year and (through the wonders of the internet ) liked the (Old England ) look of Rye .We had never been there before, but we like well... guess you could call it exploring ! Sounds easy enough, but the most popular places were fully booked at the start of November, except one .... Haydens, they had one room left and all the (trip advisor) reviews were fine, so we went for it ! We had the (very large by b and b standards ) Mulberry room which overlooked the (very quiet ) High street, nice kingsize comfy bed and a neat bathroom .In the morning you reap the benefits of it being a coffee shop/bistro cafe by having probably one of the finest breakfast menus of any of the places that we have stayed in !.Parking is a bit of a pain but remember this is an old town built many years before motor vehicles All in all a very well organised establishment and all the staff (and owners) deserve a big pat on the back !

Room Tip: Mulberry room is on the top floor, so no noise from above, always a bonus as long as you dont mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samtheman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is our second stay at Haydens and we would highly recommend it. The room is spacious, clean, comfortable and with a lovely view over the marshes. The breakfasts are delicious with plenty of choice. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The complimentary tea and cake is very welcome.

Room Tip: Sandpiper room amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Have just visited historic Rye for wk end break. Booked in to Hayden's after looking at reviews on TA. Hayden's offers excellent 5 star accommodation from the minute you step in tea rooms below. Stayed in chocolate room with windows facing high street, room is large and wonderful with large bathroom to match. Pure luxury as when you travel comfort is upmost important. Breakfast was included in our stay.and was worth every penny in this charming tea room below room. Yummy food,Alex who seems to be in control and was great and very welcoming during our stay. Hayden's at Rye. Is great place to stay. Thank you. !

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GaryRW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Spent a night in Haydens recently. We have stayed many times and everything is to our liking. Great accommodation - lovely rooms, good breakfasts and very friendly staff. We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hayden`s is a lovely place to stay in Rye and i would have no hesitation booking it up for a return visit. We received a very warm welcome on our arrival and the complementary tea and cake offered was a very nice touch. We stayed two nights in the Kingfisher room which is slightly cheaper than others as it only has a shower and no bath. The room was spacious enough for our needs and the bed was extremely comfortable. In addition, as others have mentioned, there were plenty of nicities such as the quality toiletries and the tea and coffee making facilities.
The Full English breakfast was as good as i`ve had anywhere and there was plenty of other options if you wanted something a little lighter.

Room Tip: We parked in the train station car park which is only 5 minutes walk from Hayden`s. This costs £2.50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a lovely, lovely place this is. Really nicely decorated, lovely setting, just a place I wanted to stay in for much more than the one night we were going to spend there. We were attending a wedding in Rye and the brilliant hosts let us into our room early, so we could get ready in time for the 2pm Wedding we were in Rye for.

We stayed in the Silver Room and it was just heaven. Towels were huge and soft and lovely, toilettries were fab, the shower was to die for. Bed was so big I nearly lost my husband. There were fresh coffee to make up cafetiere coffee, fresh milk and mineral water in the fridge. Chocolate and lovely bikkies. I need to find another word than lovely, but that is just the best word for this place. Luxurious and lovely. If we ever go back to Rye we are staying here again. Sadly we did not have time to sample the free tea and cake, but I am sure it would have been just great.

Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked to order, no coffee that had been brewing for 3 hours, like you so often get in larger Hotels. Really interesting selection of fresh fruit juice, exciting fresh fruit salad and nice selection of breakfasts.

I can only really recommend this. Brilliant wonderful place.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back of the building and we had a lovely view of the Marshes around Rye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HantsGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.2 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
River Haven Hotel
0.3 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 40 in Rye
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayden's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayden's

Property: Hayden's
Address: 108 High Street, Rye TN31 7JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hayden's 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hayden’s B&B is a small, family-run, environmentally friendly bed and breakfast in the heart of the ancient market town of Rye, an area gilded in literary and artistic history. Our popular restaurant serves local and organic produce in a traditional English style with an eye for the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hayden's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing