We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue: very average service and food”

Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 108 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $48
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good venue: very average service and food”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Dissappointing service and unremarkable food. Rushed service from grumpy waiter! The food made up in quantity with what should have been better quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TONY176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    125
    63
    39
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wandered round Rye and glad we kept looking 'til we found this lunch spot which had been recommended. Friendly staff, cosy ancient setting and tasty veggie foor I am still longing for. Will have to go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madelinecranfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive yet average”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The two senior staff were unsmiling, brusque and aloof. The food, from the rather limited menu, was well presented but fairly average on the palate. The wine list was longer but grossly overpriced for the quality of wines on offer. Finally I suggest you check the bill very carefully. when we pointed out the mistake of an additional bottle of wine on our bill, we were told it would be removed (it was) but there wasn't even a hint of an apology for their mistake. The choice is yours but I will not return and would suggest there are far better restaurants in close proximity.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We'd heard good things about the food here but although the service was good the food was only average at best. The scallops to start were lovely but the mains disappointing, smoked trout and three meats. The dessert too was not great. We understand the chef changed recently and maybe he needs more time to find his feet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hisotherhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very poor food and service”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were very disappointed by our visit to the Mermaid Inn. On arrival the waiter panicked as there was someone sitting at the table allocated to us. This was sorted OK and we ordered pre- dinner drinks. These never arrived and we had to remind the staff. Eventually the drinks arrived with the starter.
We both had the duck starter and this was not very good.
We had also ordered a bottle of wine - again this did not arrive and we had to remind the staff.
For the main course I had the trout. The potatoes that came with it were hard and not cooked. We complained and were eventually told that the dish could be returned for cooking, however this was too late.
We were finishing off the wine and were constantly asked by the waitress "is everything OK?"
We had been really looking forward to the meal at the Mermaid and it is a beautiful place.
Unfortunately, the food just was not good enough (or edible) for the price and the service not of an acceptable standard.
We were offered the wine deducted from the bill but still had to pay for the two meals and by that time just wanted to leave.
Very poor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant at The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing