We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of attention”

Webbe's at the Fish Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Webbe's at the Fish Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 106 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: If arriving by train - we are a short walk from Rye train station. If arriving by Bus, the main stop is near the railway station also, again short walking distance from us.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lack of attention”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had asked for a window seat when booking by 'phone. Didn't get it and were squashed into a space which just felt uncomfortable.Waited ages to get a drink after we'd ordered it. Meal was mediocre at best and slightly overcooked (Dover sole).Wouldn't rush back for sure but will try Webbe's in Hastings to see how that matches up.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fion_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    255
    70
    31
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Dean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We couldnt fault the food - it was absolutely delicious, a BIG THANK YOU and all credit to the chefs. The only dampner were the two waitresses, they could do better by going to charm school, they seemed to be on auto pilot all the time, they would have been excused if we had arrived later on in the evening and they were tired, but no, we were some of the first arrivals and their attitude wasnt what we expected from such a restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chillie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good fish restaurant in Rye”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Really really friendly & welcoming staff. Fizzy wine by the glass & very tasty fish cakes made for a very nice meal for a reasonable price :) I shall eat here again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank yasminium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good fresh fish, good service”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Happy with this restaurant. Everything from service to value were good. Nothing was stand out but nothing was poor. The approach to where to put your mussels (side attachment to the table) was new to me and very convenient.

Helpful?
Thank MStow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very fresh fish, simply but well prepared”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Good food in a relaxed cafe atmosphere but nothing is skimped. Service was efficient and courteous. Tables are well spaced.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oaky_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Webbe's at the Fish Cafe also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to Webbe's at the Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing