We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice lunch

Never visited Bentley before and we had an enjoyable couple of hours there in the glorious sunshine... read more

Reviewed September 25, 2018
SalC123
,
Worthing, United Kingdom
via mobile
A day out with the children

Resonably priced attraction considering that it has something for all ages. It has the vintage car... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2018
X3400FLrobertg
,
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 335 reviews
  
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
146
107
44
23
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
107
44
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews miniature railway train ride vintage cars steam train bird seed woodland walk mobility scooter ducks and swans craft workshops small collection bird food family ticket on display tea room cake play area nature reserve
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful place this is to visit. So much open space. A wonderful small tea room that does wonderful home made food. It was the first visit for my granddaughters and how they loved it. The highlight was definately the wild fowl. We spent a good hour observing the wild fowl much to the absolute delight of the granddaughters. You can buy seed to feed them but there was none available on this day, for some reason. The car museum was done at a swift pace, obviously not of interest to the girls. There is a wonderful train that trundles around too.

We learnt on our departure that the Trustees along with the land agents, Strutt and Parker, that they are removing the wild fowl next year!!! Really, totally absurd, it is the only reason many people visit is because of the space and wild fowl. Not the cars. If this should Take place, I am sure it will have an adverse effect. The wild fowl have been in situ for 50 years.

My 8 year old granddaughter wrote a letter as soon she got home to the Trustees and my 5 year old wants to 'have words' about this decision.

2  Thank Maggs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Bentley with our grandsons and family on a lovely sunny day. We had never been before but will definitely come again. Yes, this is an independent venue without the large financial input of a huge theme park, but that is what makes it so special. The properly home cooked food in the restaurant is really good value and absolutely delicious, the car museum is packed with an interesting varied collection of vintage cars and the miniature railway, which was the main feature we had come for, lived up to expectations, providing an delightful ride round the estate, a perfect experience for a train obsessed 3 year old. But what really set this place apart for us were the staff - they were all absolutely wonderful and went out of their way to help us when my car keys fell out of my pocket while walking the dog and disappeared in the long grass. I can’t praise them enough for the way they helped us search, even getting out the big mower to try and unearth the keys. The restaurant staff were just brilliant, sorting a lift for me after the keys couldn’t be found and making sure I had a cup of tea to keep me going. Thank you all so much, you made such a difference.

1  Thank Lj1ndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival the greeting wasn't 'hello and welcome' it was 'hope you don't want a drink or something as the cafe is closed' Museum is looking tired and needs a 21st cent makeover,fantastic weather to view the wildfowl,however very few information points relating to what we were looking at,could be so much more with all the land available.

Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshippingforecast, Manager at Bentley Wildfowl & Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Peter,

We're sorry that on the day that you visited our Tearooms and staff had faced some bad news.

We're not in a position to make a 21st century makeover as the instructions are to close the Bird Reserve and make other drastic changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely place to visit and had a great day. Nice Staff, nice food and a warm welcome.

Make sure yo buy some Bird food in the shop before going on the Wildfoul as the little buggers follow you asking for it. Great place for Children and Adults and will be going again.

I went with 6 older people and they had a great time and want to go again. you can get free hire for mobility scooters or wheelchairs. Thanks For a great day. x x

1  Thank joeswl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

Never visited Bentley before and we had an enjoyable couple of hours there in the glorious sunshine (added bonus) staff very friendly, food in cafe very good. All the cars were in good condition and well exhibited. I found walking around the wildfowl area very relaxing and enjoyed all the different variety of birds. The water looked a bit stagnant in places but I don’t know enough to know if this was ok or not? I was disappointed with the gardens around the house as felt like it had been left and needed to be worked on and brought back to life. However we still enjoyed our trip to Bentley.

Thank SalC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

… and this would be a good AM/PM half day out!

Pleasent couple of hours in the sun walking around, bit tired in places but would re-visit with kids to run 'em ragged.

1  Thank Trevlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

This is a great place to visit, the motor museum has some very unusual and amazing cars and motor bikes, together with a vast array of wildfowl and a restaurant with great food.

Thank andrewboulden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

We visited this weekend while camping at the Embers campsite next door. We had a lovely time and the staff were so friendly. The cars on display were stunning and though my kids were less interested in the cars, they were certainly interested in the trampolines and miniature railway. They also loved feeding the ducks, geese and other wildfowl. They have a tea shop on site too which was excellent, the best lamb pie I’ve had. A really worthwhile day out with the family and the fact we could walk from our campsite was an added bonus.

Thank Dougair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Motor museum is very good, not massive, about 40 cars, but worth a look. Nice little train and the wild fowl enclosure is beautiful. Jolly good breakfast too!

Thank christinevickers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Resonably priced attraction considering that it has something for all ages. It has the vintage car exibit for the older family members, the train ride, obstacle course and trampolines for the younger children, and the house and bird sanctuary for all ages. It had a restaurant which is resonably priced with something on the menu for all. Its a good walk with birds to look at and feed all the way round. It was a great day out for all and at a resonable price. Favorite for the more senior family members was the chance to reminising over the vintage cars and the favorite for the younger family members was the obstacle course.

Thank X3400FLrobertg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews