We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Pelham House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelham House
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Hastings UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel in an excellent location”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Like other people on TA we also visited this hotel on a Living Social promo. We stayed in room 6, a dual aspect, twin room overlooking the garden. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting Lewes, in a quiet side road off the High Street. It is in easy (uphill!) walking distance of the station which has regular and frequent trains to London and the South Coast. Our room was tastefully decorated - the hotel has oak floors throughout - and had a large cupboard suitable for hanging items; there was no drawer space. There was an iron & board and hairdryer provided, along with a kettle, cups and a selection of teas, coffees, hot chocolate, bottled water and biscuits. On our first night we were also given a mini box of truffles which was a nice touch and were offered a turn-down service. The beds were comfortable and the room was a good temperaure (it was a very cold weekend) but the windows were openable which meant that we were able to ensure a perfect temperature throughout our stay. The bathroom was small and had no window but was perfectly adequate, containing a bath, shower, sink and loo and toiletries. There was only just enough space for our own toiletries but this was a very minor niggle. Check-in was courteous, efficient and friendly. The car park is very small and we had to park in the station car park on our first night; we were also charged £6 to use the hotel car park for 24 hours. Breakfast was excellent, with lovely artisan bread, pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghourts and kippers and full English as choices, as well as perfectly cooked eggs, any way you can imagine. We also had dinner in the restaurant which was good quality and a fair price.
My only negative point is the housekeeping: the grouting in the bathroom was mouldy and there was body-fat trace on the tiles - this only comes from a build up and demonstrates a lack of proper cleaning - a steam clean would remove that in seconds. The same applies to the loo - under the rim was very dirty and had clearly not been tackled at all. The floor under the radiator in the bedroom was not easily accessible and therefore had also not been dusted/mopped. Our towels were left where we had left them and the room still hadn't been cleaned at 3pm. At a normal price of£180 - £240 a night (hotels in Lewes and Rye charge exorbitant prices because of where they are) I do expect perfect housekeeping and this wasn't it. However, the hotel is lovely and I would recommend you try it....

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden have no traffic noise at all and have a lovely view of the South Downs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
I am very happy that you have taken the time to write this review of Pelham House and would like to thank you for your comments.
I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasurable stay and were able to enjoy all that Pelham House has to offer.
It saddens me however to hear of the housekeeping issues that have been raised. At Pelham House we aim to provide outstanding service and part of this, of course, is to ensure that the bedrooms are clean, fresh and well preserved to offer our guest as comfortable a stay as possible. I therefore, regret to hear you found that particular areas of the room were not kept to our usual standards. I will personally look into this issues raised and ensure that the lovely housekeeping team carry out a deep clean of this room.
I apologise again for this and I hope it did not inflict too much on the enjoyment of your visit.
We would be honoured to welcome you back to Pelham House again in the future and I hope you will choose to visit us again.
Kind Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    223
    164
    93
    49
See reviews for
114
398
31
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely hotel in a good location. My room was excellent just across the courtyard from the reception area. Fantastic shower and very comfortable bed with very nice bed linen.

The only down side was a burger I had in the bar area which whilst nicely presented, the meat was tough and the bun tasted like it had been frozen then microwaved.

Breakfast was lovely with good coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.
I am very happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay and found your bedroom to be comfortable.
I am very sorry however, that you were disappointed with your burger. We are very passionate about food at Pelham House and I apologise that on this occasion the food did not meet our usual standards. I will be certain to ensure that the kitchen and restaurant team are made aware of this.
I hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel with a Living Social voucher and we thought it was excellent value for money. We stayed in room 4 both times which has a 4 poster bed with quality furnishings, chocolates on the pillow and a selection of tea, coffees, hot chocolate and biscuits. The bathroom is accessed through a short passageway with a free standing bath in the middle of the room and double width shower cubicle. The bar is low key with a relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast was served in the restaurant with a good selection of fruits and cereals, followed by a coked breakfast includingfull English, smoked salmon or eggs benedict. Although we visited in February, the grounds still looked lovely and I am sure they are beautiful in the summer. Well worth a visit and Lewes has a lot to offer too.

Room Tip: I would ask for one of their executive rooms such as room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorayne_hagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed both of your stays at Pelham House and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for this lovely review.
I must agree that the living social offer is great value and we have been overwhelmed by the brilliant feedback we have received!
Room 4 is a beautiful room and I am very happy that you had the opportunity for enjoy its stunning views and gorgeous bathroom on both occasions as it is the perfect boudoir for a romantic getaway!
We run numerous offers throughout the year, both direct with the hotel and on various sites such as living social, so please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at any time if you wish to stay again as they will be happy to inform you of any current or upcoming offers.
We hope to welcome you back for a third stay very soon!
Many Thanks again
Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Check in was courteous and welcoming. Take a moment to explore its numerous public rooms if you have to wait. From the garden, you’ll get a whole new aspect on the sheer size of Pelham House which isn’t immediately apparent from the reception entrance. You’d do well to pre-book the car parking on site here too, as spaces are quite limited.

Although our room was meant to be a superior room, the bathrooms were unnecessarily compact. This seems a bit odd as the rooms are vast and could easily accommodate a bathroom twice the size. They are well appointed though, with a large shower but again, the restricted layout meant that every counter and shelf was occupied with complementary products so there was nowhere to put your own toiletries but on the floor.

On a similar note, with such cavernous rooms, there was but one drawer between us and that was at the bottom of the armoire. These are lovely items of furniture, but not suitable for hanging long clothing in. They are not kind to the back or knees either – it’s no fun struggling to bend down to pull out a full width drawer at floor level. On top to that, the base was filled with all the kind of clutter hotels would normally put in drawers – if they had any – hairdryer, iron, table fan, etc...

Would have given 5 stars if it weren't for these small niggles, as their excellence far outweighs any little irritations.

Our room offered outstanding views from the bay windows across the garden and beyond where we spent time watching the sunset and enjoying the amenities the room had to offer, including tea, coffee and biscuits. Against the chill outside, this made for a relaxing respite from our stroll in the bitter weather earlier in the day.

Refreshed and prepared for dinner, we were thoroughly impressed with what was on offer. The quality, presentation and service are to be highly commended and it was excellent value for a 3 course meal.

The bar offers a good selection of wines too and is very comfortable to retire to for pre-dinner drinks or a nightcap before heading back up to our room - not so easy to negotiate after a few drinks with long sweeping staircase and sprung doors every few feet along the lengthy corridor! (Take note if you've more than just a holdall with you as luggage.)

Breakfast was a genteel experience with service to your table and a choice of freshly cooked options. Unfortunately, it wasn’t quite clear to us as to what the ‘routine’ for ordering was and we were a little confused about the self service items, but next time, I’m opting for the Eggs Benedict ...
.. and oh yes ... there will definitely be a ‘next time’ here.

Room Tip: Beds are broad and comfortable with soft pillows and sheets, but our double was 2 singles pushed tog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank viviko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your comments.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you definitely plan on a return visit. We will certainly be very happy to welcome you back to Pelham House.
Although you have kindly noted that the positives far outweigh any negative aspects of your stay I am disappointed to hear of the shortcomings that you experienced as it is, of course, always our aim to provide 100% customer satisfaction!
As a listed building, we are slightly restricted with any major developments on the bedrooms and en-suites. However, you have raised some very just and important points on the practicalities of the room, particularly in regards to shelving and storage space, which I have taken on board entirely and will be sure to look into. I thank you for making these points known as it is primarily through customer feedback that such issues come to light allowing us to then take steps to improve our service!
I look forward to your next stay with us.
Best Wishes
Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night as I had business in Brighton the next day. Good value and generally a nice hotel. I had room 24 across the courtyard, the room itself was OK but the shower room was a bit small. Breakfast excellent. As noted elsewehere there is limited parking at the hotel, but ample parking on the streets nearby which is free from 6.00pm to 8.00am. To avoid having to go and feed the meter before 8.00am you can buy the parking ticket the night before for an hour or two to give you a chance to enjoy your breakfast. I will stay again when heading to the area, perhaps hope for a larger room / bathroom next time in the main building.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian-SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are keen to hear feedback from all our guests whether they stay with us on pleasure or business and so your comments are very much appreciated.
I am very happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay and I hope that despite the short comings of the room that you mentioned, you found it to be comfortable and that you were well rested and fed for your busy day ahead.
We do have a variety of room types across both the mews building and main house so please feel free to contact our reservations department directly next time business calls you to the area and we will endeavour to allocate you a more ideal room (reservations@pelhamhouse.com)
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Exactly as I pictured, infact exceeded our expectations. We chose this as we had a gift voucher to use which included a 3 course dinner and also breakfast. Food was excellent and as it was included, we treated ourselfs to a bottle of locally produced sparkling wine from Bolney. The hotel also has some lovely grounds, which would be lovely on a warmer. Will definitely consider a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience at Pelham House.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stayed and had a lovely meal (it really is a lovely gift, I am sure you would agree!)
Our restaurant manager strives to provide an exciting and varied wine list which includes wines from across the world and local producers. Supporting local businesses is very important to us so I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your bottle of sparkling Breaky Bottom.
Thank you again for your lovely review.
I hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringmer, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here twice in last 6x months - both times, delicious food, breakfast delicious, staff perfect - and rooms also great, love staying over - even though we only live a few miles away!....Be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelhamHouseLewes, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review!
Lewes is indeed the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next getaway.
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Best Wishes
Paul Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
6.3 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham House

Property: Pelham House
Address: St. Andrews Lane | East Sussex, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelham house offers 36 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pelham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes
Pelham Hotel Lewes
Pelham House Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing