We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beauty and joy”
Review of Glyndebourne

Glyndebourne
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Backstage tours are available from November to March. The summer Festival runs from May to August. The autumn Tour runs through October before taking the productions to venues across the UK.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beauty and joy”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just the best experience you can have, a truely wonderful place. Lovely to dress up and listen to the best music. And experience a picnic or snack on the lawn! Such a friendly and sociable occasion, you must go at least once.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank suzetwitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    27
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Something to remember”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

After hour and a half drive from London at misty and cold Monday afternoon I was surprised how busy the place was. Even in that weather I enjoyed gardens, sculptures, landscape and... everything. As a Glyndebourne first timer I was a bit disappointed with all the pine wood inside which reminded me of staying in the sauna but they told me later that current building was built in 1994. I have seen Rusalka and it was one of the best operas in my life. I just loved it. It looked like they wanted to show me that it does not mater where you are than who you are listening to. Bravo

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dexion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Glyndebourne visit”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We've been twice now to watch the touring co. This makes it affordable and we have enjoyed both operas -La Boheme last year and Marriage of Figaro this year. Nice atmosphere - expensive wine at £6.50 a glass of average Sauvignon!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“a night at the opera”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We saw the marraige of Figaro which was excellently presented in an imaginative format though some of the choreography we felt was a bit over the top, it was an opera after all not a ballet. That said what a great adventure. We took a picnic which we had in the gardens beforehand but being newbies didn't realise that we should have taken it to the house for the interval, which was well thought out dividing the one break between the four acts as most the audience had a fair way to travel, us included. The is probably the one drawback as with the opera starting at 6.30 with only one interval we didn't get home to near Woking till midnight, but still it is not something you would be doing weekly. The audience was eclectic so people watching added to the fun evening and the building is really impressive and the staff all very helpful. The organ room is well worth a visit as it too is a great sight. It isn't a cheap night but then opera isn't. And if you don't want to pack a picnic there is a nice friendly pub on the road in which offers a wide menu.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One Of The Greatest Opera Houses In The World”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It's customary to dress up in evening dress at Glyndebourne and so it's popularly seen as a bastion of the Upper Class. In fact it's nothing to do with class and all about opera. Despite it's rather forbidding appearance in the photos, Glyndebourne is one of the friendliest places I know. The production standards are stunningly high and plenty of examples can be seen on their website, Youtube or DVD.

There a 90 minute interval for people to consume their picnics in the beautiful grounds (covered areas provided in case of rain) or eat in the expensive but very high quality restaurants. This big break helps a lot in digesting a long opera. By the time the interval's over, one's ready for more.

Do go if you get a chance!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampstead_Heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glyndebourne also viewed

 

Been to Glyndebourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing